التاريخ

       

    التاريخ

    يتم نشر ورقة  المعلومات  هذه  من قبل الأمانة العامة للجنة حقوق الإنسان والشعوب . والغرض منها هو إبلاغ الشعب الأفريقي و جمهور حقوق الإنسان  المتزايد عن وجود اللجنة وأهميتها بالنسبة اليهم، ولنشر المعلومات المهمة حول أنشطة اللجنة. يتم توزيع هذه الوثيقة مجانا، وتمت كتابتها في لغة واضحة وبسيطة لفهمها بشكل سلس. تعطي نبذه تاريخية عن إنشاء اللجنة والولاية الممنوحة لها بحسب الميثاق. كما أنها متاحة  باللغة الفرنسية 

    يٌشجع انتاجها في لغات أخرى غير اللغة الأصلية ما دام لا يتم إجراء أية تغييرات على محتواها وبشرط ذكر اللجنة الأفريقية كمصدر

       اصبح انتاج وتوزيع هذه الوثيقة ممكناً من خلال تمويل من منظمة الجماعة الأوروبية

    المقدمة

    لما يقرب من عقدين من الزمن بعد قيام منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية فى مايو 1963، بقي تركيز  المنظمة بشكل كامل تقريبا على إنهاء الاستعمار في القارة والقضاء على الفصل العنصري.  وعلى الرغم من موافقة منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية  على مبادئ الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان لعام 1948 في ديباجة ميثاق المنظمة، لم يعتبر تعزيز\ترويج وحماية حقوق الإنسان داخل دول الأعضاء المنظمة  ذات أولوية كبرى. وعلى هذا النحو، تركز ت جهودها على الاستقلال السياسي والاقتصادي، وعدم التمييز، وتحربر  افريقيا  واستئصال الاستعمار من القارة والفصل العنصري في جنوب أفريقيا، على حساب الحرية الفردية

    صعدت جماعات مختلفة من ضمنها  وسائل الإعلام  و الكنيسة،  ومنظمات غير حكومية  ومنظمات حكومية من ضغطها على منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية  في الأيام الأولى  من إنشائها  من خلال كشف بعض انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان  الاكثر ترويعاً في القارة

    وقد اتهموا المنظمة بالتخلي عن هدفها الأساسي في استعادة الكرامة للشعوب الأفريقية المهانة. واتهمتها بازدواجية المعايير بسبب ادانتها للفصل العنصري في جنوب أفريقيا، بينما فشلت في إدانة انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان الجسيمة التي ارتكبها بعض من أعضائها

    في الوقت نفسه، كانت مجموعات الضغط تعمل على تشجيع إنشاء آلية لحماية حقوق الإنسان في القارة.  فابتداء من مؤتمر لاجوس في عام 1961 الذي نظمته اللجنة الدولية للحقوقيين إلى الحلقة الدراسية برعاية الأمم المتحدة لعام  1979 في مونروفيا بشأن إنشاء لجان إقليمية لحقوق الإنسان مع إشارة خاصة إلى أفريقيا، كان الضغط والمساندة يتمان  في وقت واحد لضمان تمسك منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية وقادتها  بالروح الذي كان الدافع وراء النضال من أجل الاستقلال السياسي لاستعادة كرامة الشعوب الأفريقية التي فقدت خلال فترات تجارة الرقيق والاستعمار - القضية التي فازوا بها بتعاطف ودعم دوليين

     اجتمع مؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية في تموز 1979  في مونروفيا، ليبيريا، وقرر وضع أعضائها في إطار الالتزامات الدولية من خلال النظرة الوضعية

    وفقا لذلك  وفي هذه القمة، اعٌتمد قرارا يدعو الأمين العام لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية  لتشكيل لجنة من الخبراء التي من شأنها ان توضع مشروع\مسودة لميثاق أفريقي لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب، وتقديم من بين أمور أخرى،  آليات لتعزيز\ترويج وحماية الحقوق المنصوص عليها في الميثاق

    بدأ فريق خبراء العمل بوضع مشروع\مسودة الميثاق في عام 1979 و تم أصدار المشروع\المسودة الذي اعتمد بالاجماع في اجتماع رؤساء الدول والحكومات لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية  في  نيروبي، كينيا  عام 1981. وينص الميثاق على ايجاد لجنة لحقوق الإنسان لضمان تنفيذ الحقوق المنصوص عليها فيه 

    اعتبر قبول وجود قيود على سيادة السلطة الوطنية (على الأقل في المسائل المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان)، وإن كان على نحو الحد الأدنى، خطوة هامة من جانب الدول الافريقية. كان ينظر عموما الى التحرك كتدشين لحقبة جديدة من الاعتراف بحقوق الأفراد المجسدة في الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان

    دخل الميثاق حيز النفاذ في 21 تشرين الأول من  1986 ، وتم اعلان هذا التاريخ و الاحتفال به بوصفه يوم حقوق الإنسان الأفريقي 

    إنشاء وتكوين ووظائف اللجنة

    بموجب المادة 30 من الميثاق الأفريقي "تنشأ في إطار منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية لجنة أفريقية لحقوق الإنسان والشعوب ... من أجل النهوض بحقوق الإنسان والشعوب في أفريقيا وحمايتها ". تتألف اللجنة من أحد عشر عضوا يعملون بصفتهم الشخصية والمستقلة وليس كممثلين لبلدانهم. وتنص المادة 31 (1) من الميثاق على انه  يتم اختيار المفوضيين "من بين الشخصيات الإفريقية التي تتحلى بأعلى قدر من الاحترام ومشهود لها بسمو الأخلاق والنزاهة والحيدة وتتمتع بالكفأة في مجال حقوق الإنسان والشعوب... "  ويتم ترشيحهم من قبل الدولة الطرف والتي يمكن ان ترشح شخصين على حد اقصى ويعمل المفوضين لفترة ست سنوات وهم مؤهلين لاعادة الانتخاب لأجل غير مسمى . يعلن أعضاء اللجنة  رسميا  في بداية ولاياتهم  عن أداء واجباتهم بنزاهة وإخلاص

    ولكن  تعمل  اللجنة  لفترة ست سنوات وتكون مؤهلة لاعادة الانتخاب لأجل غير مسمى . يعلن أعضاء اللجنة  رسميا  في بداية ولاياتهم  عن أداء واجباتهم بنزاهة وإخلاص

    تم تدشين  اللجنة  رسميا  في الثاني من  نوفمبر لعام 1987 في أديس أبابا، أثيوبيا، بعد أن تم انتخاب أعضائها في يوليو من نفس العام من قبل المؤتمر الثالث لرؤساء الدول والحكومات لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية 

    بعد تدشين  اللجنة ، لم يكن لديها  أمانة  عامة دائمة  وبالتالي، كانت تٌنسق نشاطاتها في دوراتها الخمس الأولى،  من  قبل الأمانة العامة لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية  في أديس أبابا 

    وتقع الأمانة العامة التي هي أيضا مقر اللجنة، في بانجول، غامبيا ، وافتتحت رسميا من قبل سعادة السيدDawda Kairaba Jawara ، رئيس الدولة السابق لغامبيا، في  يوم الاثنين 12 يونيو 1989  

    تنتخب اللجنة رئيسها ونائب الرئيس. وتجتمع مرتين في السنة - عادة فى مارس/ آذار او ابريل/ نيسان واكتوبر/ تشرين الاول او نوفمبر/ تشرين الثاني. و عادة ما تدوم الدورات لمدة عشرة أيام. ولكن من المحتمل أن تزيد مدة الايام مع  ازدياد عبء العمل في اللجنة

    اختصاصات اللجنة 

    تنص المادة 30 من الميثاق الافريقي على وظيفتين رئيسيتين  للجنة والتي انشئت من اجل القيام بهم 

     تعدد المادة 45 من الميثاق الافريقي مهام اللجنة ب 

    ترويج / تعزيز حقوق الإنسان والشعوب

    حماية حقوق الإنسان والشعوب

    تفسير أحكام الميثاق 

    و أي مهمة أخرى تكلف بها من قبل مؤتمر منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية

    أ) ترويج / تعزيز حقوق الإنسان والشعوب 

    تفسر المادة 45 (1) من الميثاق  وظيفة التعزيز/الترويج للجنة . الجوهر الرئيسي لهذه الوظيفة  يتمثل في توعية السكان ونشر المعلومات المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان والشعوب في أفريقيا

    ولتحقيق ذلك، تم تكليف اللجنة بموجب المادة 45 ب " تجميع الوثائق وإجراء الدراسات والبحوث حول المشاكل الإفريقية في مجال حقوق الإنسان والشعوب وتنظيم الندوات والحلقات الدراسية    والمؤتمرات ونشر المعلومات وتشجيع المؤسسات الوطنية والشعوب وتقديم المشورة ورفع التوصيات إلي الحكومات

    تمكنت اللجنة وبالتعاون مع المنظمات غير الحكومية والمنظمات الحكومية  من إنشاء مركز توثيق يستخدم لدراسات حقوق الإنسان، والبحوث، ونظمت أيضا عدة حلقات دراسية وندوات ومؤتمرات التي تهدف إلى تعزيز/ترويج حقوق الإنسان والشعوب داخل القارة 

    وتتعاون  اللجنة مع مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الاخرى، (حكومية أو غير حكومية) في العديد من المجالات المتعلقة بتعزيز / ترويج وحماية حقوق الإنسان 

     منذ عام 1988،  وفي محاولة لتعزيز التعاون، قامت اللجنة بمنح صفة المراقب للمنظمات غير الحكومية. و حتى دورتها الثانية والعشرين العادية (الذكرى السنوية العاشرة)، حصلت اكثر من 200 منظمة غير حكومية على هذه الصفة. كما أنها تنظر في منح وضعا خاصا للمؤسسات الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان حيث تعتبرهم اللجنة شركاء لا يقدرون بثمن في مجال تعزيز/ ترويج حقوق الإنسان والشعوب في القارة

    وقامت اللجنة  باصدار وتعميم  عدة وثائق  حول حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك مراجعة للجنة الأفريقية، و تقارير نشاطها السنوي، والميثاق الأفريقي و القواعد الإجرائية للجنة. وقطعت هذه الوثائق شوطا طويلا  في نشر معلومات حيوية حول اللجنة. يمكن الحصول عليهم مجانا في الأمانة العامة للجنة 

    كما تم التخصيص  لأعضاء اللجنة  دول معينة في القارة للأنشطة الترويجية. ويتوقع من  الأعضاء زيارة هذه الدول وتنظيم المحاضرات مع المؤسسات المختلفة لمناقشة الميثاق الأفريقي واللجنة ويقومون بتقديم تقريرا عن أنشطة ما بين الدورتين الخاصة بهم في كل دورة من دورات اللجنة

    وعينت اللجنة أيضا مقررين خاصين حول السجون وغيرها من أماكن الاحتجاز في أفريقيا، و الاعدام خارج نطاق القضاء أو بإجراءات موجزة أو بشكل تعسفي، و حقوق الإنسان المتعلقة بالمرأة في أفريقيا. يلعب هؤلاء المقررين  دورا هاما جدا من خلال البحث، وجمع وتوثيق المعلومات حول هذه المجالات المتعلقة بحقوق الإنسان. ويمكن استخدام هذه المعلومات من قبل اللجنة لصياغة المشورة للدول الأفريقية

    تتطلب المادة 45 (1)  (ب) من الميثاق بقيام اللجنة ب  "صياغة ووضع المبادئ والقواعد التي تهدف إلى حل المشاكل القانونية المتعلقة بالتمتع بحقوق الإنسان والشعوب والحريات الأساسية لكي تكون أساسا لسن النصوص التشريعية من قبل الحكومات الأفريقية." وكلفت أيضا بموجب المادة 45 (1) (ج) بالتعاون  مع سائر المؤسسات الأفريقية والدولية المعنية  بترويج/بالنهوض بحقوق الإنسان والشعوب 

    كما تم السعي للتعاون مع غيرها من المؤسسات الإقليمية والدولية، مثل المفوضية الأوروبية والمحكمة الأوروبية  لحقوق الانسان ، ولجنة ومحكمة البلدان الأمريكية فيما يتعلق  بهيئات حقوق الإنسان

     ب) حماية حقوق الإنسان و الشعوب

    تتجسد وظائف اللجنة الموكلة اليها بحسب المادة 45 (2) من الميثاق  ب  " ضمان حماية حقوق الإنسان والشعوب طبقا للشروط "الواردة في هذا الميثاق

      تتطلب  ولاية الحماية من اللجنة بأن تتخد التدابير لضمان تمتع المواطنين بالحقوق الواردة في الميثاق . و ينطوي هذا على التأكد من أن الدول لا تنتهك هذه الحقوق، وإذا فعلوا ذلك، أن يتم إعادة الحقوق الى  الضحايا

     ولتحقيق ذلك، ينص الميثاق على "إجراء المراسلات". يعتبر هذا الإجراء بمثابة  نظام شكاوي بحيث يمكن للافراد و المنظمات غير الحكومية  أو مجموعة من الأفراد الذين يشعرون بانتهاك حقوقهم أو حقوق الاخرين  تقديم التماس (شكوى) إلى اللجنة حول هذه الانتهاكات

    ويمكن أيضا أن يتم ارسال مراسلة من قبل دولة طرف في الميثاق اذا اعتقدت بشكل معقول بأن دولة طرف أخرى قد انتهكت أي من الأحكام الواردة في الميثاق. وستتم دراسة المراسلات من جانب اللجنة وسيتم قبولها رسميا للنظر فيها إذا كانت تفي بالمعايير المنصوص عليها في المادة 56 من الميثاق.  وسيتم ابلاغ الدولة المعنية بالادعاءات و دعوتها إلى تقديم تعليقاتها بالتساوي. واذا تتطلب المزيد من المعلومات من مقدم الشكوى، فسوف يتم إبلاغ هذا الأخير بذلك.

    ستقرر  اللجنة  ما إذا كان هناك انتهاك بعد دراسة متأنية للحجج التي قدمها كلا الطرفين، وسوف يتم تقديم توصيات إلى  الدولة وإلى مؤتمر منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية حول ما ينبغي على الدولة أن تفعله بما في ذلك طرق جبر الضرر للضحية 

    ويمكن للجنة  ان تقوم بتسوية ودية بحيث تدخل الدولة المشتكية و المتهمة في مفاوضات لتسوية النزاع وديا، وقد فعلت اللجنة هذا الاجراء في عدة مناسبات  

     كما أوفدت عدة  بعثات إلى الدول الأطراف  للتحقيق في مزاعم حول  انتهاكات واسعة النطاق وخطيرة لحقوق الإنسان.  و تقدم اللجنة توصيات إلى الدول المعنية بشأن كيفية تحسين حالة حقوق الإنسان في نهاية تلك البعثة

    وفي حالات الطوارئ  المتمثلة في تعرض حياة الضحية الى  خطر وشيك،  يمكن للجنة استدعاء التدابير المؤقتة بموجب المادة 111 من القواعد الاجرائية لكي تطلب من الدولة تأجيل اتخاذ أي إجراء في انتظار قرارها النهائي بشأن هذه المسألة

    كجزء من ولاية الحماية  المكلفة بها، تتلقى اللجنة  وتنظر في التقارير الدورية التي تقدمها الدول الأطراف وفقا للمادة 62 من الميثاق. تلتزم الدول الأطراف بتقديم تقارير إلى اللجنة بعد كل سنتين، عن التدابير التشريعية أو غيرها التي اتخذتها لإنفاذ الحقوق والحريات المعترف بها في الميثاق.

    تدرس اللجنة  هذه التقارير،  وتنخرط في حوار مع ممثلين عن الدول  خلال الدورة وتقوم بعمل التوصيات  إذا لزم الأمر 

    ويٌسمح أيضا للمنظمات غير الحكومية والمواطنين العاديين بطلب نسخ من هذه التقارير من الأمانة العامة للجنة، ودراستها. ويمكن  ان يعدوا  تقارير مضادة  أو القيام بتوصية اللجنة ببعض الاسئلة التي يمكن ان تسأل لممثلي الدولة

     ج) التفسير

    تخول المادة 45 (3) من الميثاق اللجنة بتفسير الميثاق بناء على طلب دولة طرف أو إحدى مؤسسات منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية أو منظمة تعترف بها منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية .  الا انه لم تقوم أي  دولة طرف أو منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية بطلب من اللجنة تفسير اي مادة من مواد الميثاق الى حد  الآن ومع ذلك، فقد سعت بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية وحصلت  من خلال مشاريع القرارات، على  تفسير بعض احكام الميثاق

    ومع ذلك، فقد سعت بعض المنظمات غير الحكومية وحصلت  من خلال مشاريع القرارات، على  تفسير بعض الأحكام الواردة في الميثاق. فعن طريق هذا الأسلوب، اعتمدت اللجنة العديد من القرارات التي تعطي وضوحا و تفسير أوسع  لبعض الأحكام الغامضة في الميثاق 

     د) مهام أخرى

    بموجب المادة 45 (4)، يمكن للجنة القيام بأي مهمة أخرى قد توكل إليها من قبل مؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات. ولكن لم يٌكلف مؤتمر منظمة الوحدة الأفريقية اللجنة باي مهمة اخرى غير تلك التي مٌنحت خصيصا لها بحسب الميثاق

    الخاتمة 

    في كل عام،  يزيد عبء العمل في اللجنة  بشكل تدريجي . على الرغم من القيود المالية وغيرها التي تواجهها ، فهي مؤسسة قادرة على الاستجابة لتحديات الحاضر في أفريقيا. و للقيام بذلك ، يجب على الناس الاستفادة من اعمال  اللجنة  . كلما استعملت كآلية إقليمية،  كلما اصبحت اكثر قوة و فائدة  في حماية حقوق الإنسان في القارة. وينبغي على المنظمات غير الحكومية والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان والمحامين الاستفادة من اللجنة ومساعدة الشعب على القيام بالدعاوي  امام اللجنة

     

    Links


    ترجمة الصفحة

    اتصل بنا

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

History

    This Information Sheet is published by the Secretariat of the Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights. Its purpose is to inform The African people and the ever-growing human rights audience about the existence of the Commission and its relevance to them, and to disseminate vital information on the activities of the Commission. This document is distributed free of charge and has been written in clear and simple language for easy comprehension. It deals with a brief history of the establishment of the Commission and the mandate conferred on the Commission in the Charter. It is also available in French.

    Its production in languages other than the original language is encouraged so long as no changes are made to its content and provided that the African Commission is mentioned as the source.

    The production and distribution of this document has been made possible through funding from the European Community.

    Introduction

    For almost two decades after the creation of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) in May 1963, the focus of the Organisation remained almost entirely on the decolonisation of the continent and the eradication of apartheid. In spite of the Organisation’s endorsement of the principles of the Universal Declaration on Human Rights of 1948 in the preamble of the OAU Charter, the promotion and protection of human rights within OAU members states was not a major priority. As such, it concentrated its efforts on political and economic independence, non-discrimination and the liberation of Africa, the eradication of colonialism on the continent and apartheid in Southern Africa, at the expense of individual liberty.

    In the early days of its existence, different groups which included the Media, the Church, inter-governmental and non-government organisations (NGOs) mounted pressure on the OAU by exposing some of the most gruesome human rights abuses on the continent.

    They accused the Organisation of abandoning its primary goal of restoring dignity to the humiliated African peoples. It was accused of double standards for condemning apartheid in South Africa while failing to condemn the massive human rights violations committed by some of its own members.

    At the same time, the said pressure groups were encouraging the establishment of a human rights protection mechanism on the continent. Thus, starting from the 1961 Lagos conference organised by the International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) to the 1979 UN sponsored Monrovia Seminar on the Establishment of Regional Commissions on Human Rights with Special Reference to Africa, pressure and assistance were simultaneous to ensure that OAU and its leaders uphold the spirit that motivated the struggle for political independence to restore to the African peoples their dignity lost during slave trade and colonial eras- a cause for which they won international sympathy and support.

    In July 1979, the OAU Assembly of Heads of State and Government met in Monrovia, Liberia and decided to place its members under international obligations through a positivist approach.

    Accordingly at this summit, a resolution was adopted calling on the OAU Secretary General to form a committee of experts which would draft an African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, providing among other things, for mechanisms to promote and protect the rights embodied in the Charter.

    The group of experts began work on a draft Charter in 1979 and produced a draft which was unanimously adopted at a 1981 meeting of the OAU Heads of States and Government in Nairobi Kenya. The Charter provides for a Human Rights Commission to ensure implementation of the rights enshrined therein.

    This acceptance of a limitation on sovereign national authority (at least on human rights related matters), albeit minimal, was hailed as a significant step by African States. The move was generally viewed as ushering in a new era of recognition of individuals rights as enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

    On 21 October 1986, the Charter came into force. This date has been declared, and is being celebrated as an African Human Rights Day.

    Establishment, Composition and Functioning of the Commission

    By virtue of article 30 of the African Charter “an African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights …..shall be established within the Organisation of African Unity to promote human and peoples’ rights and ensure their protection in Africa”. The Commission is composed of eleven members serving in their personal and independent capacity and not as representatives of their countries. Article 31 (1) of Charter provides that the commissioners shall be “chosen from amongst African personalities of the highest reputation, known for their high morality, integrity impartiality and competence in matters of human and peoples’ rights....' They are nominated by State parties to the Charter, which may nominate up to two candidates for election. The members of the Commission serve a six year term and are eligible for re-election indefinitely. At the beginning of their mandates, they solemnly declare to discharge their duties impartially and faithfully.

    The Commission was officially inaugurated on 2 nd November 1987 in Addis Ababa, Ethopia, after its members had been elected in July of the same year by the OAU 23 rd Assembly of Heads of State and Government.

    The Commission did not have a permanent Secretariat after its inauguration and thus, for its first five sessions, its activities were co-ordinated from the OAU General Secretariat in Addis Ababa. The Secretariat which is also the Headquarters of the Commission, is located in Banjul, The Gambia, and was officially inaugurated by His Excellency, Sir Dawda Kairaba Jawara, former Head of State of the Gambia, on Monday 12 June 1989.

    The Commission elects its Chairman and Vice-Chairman. It meets twice a year – usually in March or April and in October or November. The sessions usually last for ten days, but are likely to increase as the workload of the Commission increases.

    Mandate of the Commission

    Article 30 of the African Charter, proscribes two principal functions for which the Commission was established : Promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights in Africa.

    Article 45 of the Charter enumerates the functions of the Commission to be :

    • the promotion of human and peoples’ rights;
    • the protection of human and peoples’ rights;
    • interpretation of the provisions of the Charter; and
    • any other task assigned to it by the OAU Assembly.

    (a) Promotion of Human and Peoples’ Rights

    The promotional function of the Commission is explained in article 45 (1) of the Charter. The main essence of this function is to sensitise the population and disseminate information on human and peoples’ rights in Africa

    To achieve this, the Commission is mandated under article 45 (1) to ‘collect document, undertake studies and researches on African problems in the field of human and peoples’ rights, organise seminars, symposia and conferences, disseminate information, encourage national and local institutions concerned with human and peoples’ rights and, should the case arise, give its views or make recommendations to governments’.

    The Commission , in collaboration with NGOs and inter-governmental organisations has been able to establish a documentation centre used for human rights studies and research, and has also organised several seminars, symposia and conferences aimed at promoting human and peoples’ rights within the continent.

    The Commission has also been co-operating with other human rights institutions (inter-governmental or non-governmental) in many areas relating to the promotion and protection of human rights.

    Since 1988, in a bid to strengthen co-operation, the Commission has been granting observer status to NGOs. As at its 22 nd ordinary session (Tenth Anniversary), over 200 NGOs had received such status. It is also considering granting a special status to National Human Rights Institutions which the Commission sees as invaluable partners in the promotion of human and peoples’ rights on the continent.

    The Commission has also produced and circulated several human rights documents, including the Review of the African Commission, its Annual Activity Reports, the African Charter and the Commission’s Rules of Procedure. These documents have gone a long way to disseminate vital information about the Commission. They can be obtained free of charge at the Secretariat of the Commission.

    Members of the Commission have also been allocated states on the continent for promotional activities. The members are expected to visit these states and organise lectures with various institutions to discuss the African Charter and the Commission. At each session of the Commission, they report on their intersession activities.

    The Commission has also appointed Special Rapporteurs on Prisons and other places of Detention in Africa, on Arbitrary, Summary and Extra-judicial Executions, and on the Human Rights of Women in Africa. These rapporteurs play a very significant role by researching, gathering and documenting information on these areas of human rights. This information could be used by the Commission to formulate advice to African States.

    Article 45 (1) (b) of the Charter also requires the Commission to “formulate and lay down principles and rules aimed at solving legal problems relating to human and peoples’ rights and fundamental freedoms upon which African governments may base their legislation. It is also mandated under article 45 (1) (c) to co-operate with other African and international institutions concerned with the promotion and protection of human and peoples rights.

    Co-operation has also been sought with other regional and international institutions, such as the European Court on Human Right, the Inter-American Commission and Court on Human Rights bodies.

    (b) Protection of Human and People’s Rights

    The second principal functions assigned to the Commission by the African Charter is stipulated in article 45 (2) as: ‘to ensure the protection of human and peoples’ rights under conditions laid down in the present Charter’.

    The protective mandate, requires the Commission to take measure to ensure that the citizens enjoy the rights contained in the Charter. This entails ensuring that the States do not violate these rights and if they do, that the victims are reinstated in their rights.

    To achieve this, the Charter provides for the ‘communication procedure’. This procedure is a complaint system through which an individual, NGO or group of individuals who feel that their right or those of others have been or are being violated, can petition (complain) to the Commission about these violations.

    A communication can also be made by a State party to the Charter which reasonably believes that another State party has violated any of the provisions in the Charter. The Communication will be studied by the Commission and if it meets the criteria set out in article 56 of the Charter, it will be formally accepted for consideration. The state concerned will then be informed of the allegations and invited to submit its comments on the same. Where more information is required from the complainant, the latter will be informed.

    After carefully studying the arguments advanced by both parties, the Commission will decide whether there has been violation, it will make recommendations to the State and to the OAU Assembly on what the State should do including how to remedy the victim.

    The Commission can also, and has on various occasions, initiated friendly settlements, where the complainant and the accused state enter into negotiations to settle the dispute amicably.

    It has also sent missions to several State parties to investigate allegations of massive and serious human rights violations. At the end of such a mission, the Commission makes recommendations to the States concerned on how to improve the human rights situation.

    In emergency situations – that is, where the life of the victim is in imminent danger – the Commission might invoke provisional measures under Rule 111 of its Rules of Procedure requesting the state to delay any action pending its final decision on the matter.

    As part of its protective mandate, the Commission also receives and considers periodic reports submitted by State parties in conformity with article 62 of the Charter. State parties are required to submit reports to the Commission after every two years, on the legislative or other measures they have taken to give effect to the rights and freedoms recognised in the Charter.

    The Commission studies these reports and at the session engages in dialogue with representatives from the States, and make recommendation; if necessary.

    NGOs and ordinary citizens are also permitted to request copies of these reports from the Secretariat of the Commission and study them. They can prepare counter-reports or recommend to the Commission questions that could be asked to the State representatives.

    (c) Interpretation

    Article 45 (3) of the Charter also mandates the Commission to interpret the provisions of the Charter at the request of a state party, an institution of the OAU or an African Organisation recognised by the OAU. To date, neither the OAU nor a state party to the Charter has approached the Commission for an interpretation of any of the provisions of the Charter.

    However, some NGOs have sought and obtained through draft resolutions, the interpretation of some of the provisions in the Charter. Through this method, the Commission has adopted many resolutions which give clarity and a broader interpretation to some of the ambiguous provisions in the Charter.

    (d) Other tasks

    Under article 45 (4), the Commission can perform any other task which may be entrusted to it by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government. The OAU Assembly has also not entrusted the Commission with any other task apart from those specifically conferred to it in the Charter.

    Conclusion

    The workload of the Commission increases gradually every year. In spite of the financial and other constraints facing the Commission, it is an institution capable of responding to the present day challenges in Africa. For it to do this however, people should make use of it.

    The more it is used as a regional mechanism, the stronger and more useful it becomes in safeguarding human rights on the continent. NGOs, human rights advocates and lawyers should make use of the Commission and assist people to submit cases to the latter.

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights