Politique des stages

    POLITIQUE DE STAGES DE LA COMMISSION AFRICAINE DES DROITS DE L'HOMME ET DES PEUPLES

    Introduction

    Le système africain des droits de l’homme introduit dans le discours international des droits de l’homme de nouveaux concepts et de nouveaux défis pour les étudiants, les universitaires, les militants des droits de l’homme et les juristes internationaux. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que plus de vingt-cinq ans après l’adoption de la Charte Africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (ci-après dénommée la « Charte Africaine »), vingt ans après l’entrée en vigueur de la Charte et deux décennies après l’établissement de la Commission Africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, il reste encore beaucoup à écrire sur le système africain des droits de l’homme. Il demeure l’un des plus globaux en termes de droits protégés mais pourtant l’un des plus faibles en termes de protection de ces droits.

    Au cours des dix dernières années, le système africain des droits de l’homme a suscité l’intérêt chez toutes catégories de personnes ayant un lien avec les droits de l’homme : étudiants, professeurs, militants, avocats, etc. Les représentants de la Commission Africaine et les intellectuels ont fait de nombreux exposés lors de forums internationaux et régionaux et ont distribué des documents pertinents sur les institutions d’apprentissage sur le régime africain des droits de l’homme. Cependant, l’intérêt pour la Commission s’en va agrandissant en même temps qu’elle continue de croître et que ses activités sont appréciées.

    Un nombre croissant de jeunes universitaires ont également exprimé leur intérêt à visiter le Secrétariat et à consacrer du temps à travailler avec lui pour mieux apprécier le système. Le nombre de demandes augmentant chaque année, le Secrétariat a considéré qu’il est important d’élaborer certaines lignes directrices qui orienteraient les relations entre ces visiteurs et la Commission. Bien que tous ceux qui visitent la Commission ne soient pas considérés comme des stagiaires, ce document est destiné à réglementer les relations entre la Commission et les personnes souhaitant y faire un stage.

    Déclaration de politique de stages

    Les stages sont des programmes éducatifs permettant aux stagiaires d’acquérir une expérience de travail pratique et de développer des compétences dans les domaines de leur orientation de carrière sous la direction d’experts ou de personnes travaillant dans le même domaine. Les stages sont pertinents pour les étudiants de 3ème cycle ou les personnes ayant une expérience préalable dans des domaines ayant directement trait à leur carrière ou aux intérêts de la Commission.

    Les stages doivent bénéficier au stagiaire et à la Commission. Le stagiaire bénéficie de l’opportunité d’apprendre sur le système, de conduire des recherches sous la direction d’un membre du personnel affecté par le Secrétariat tandis que la Commission bénéficie des résultats de la recherche de l’interne et de sa contribution aux autres activités.

    La Commission accueille des stagiaires du monde entier, en particulier au regard des diverses contributions à son travail, mais elle accorde la préférence aux stagiaires africains faisant des recherches ou travaillant sur les droits de l’homme en général et sur le système africain des droits de l’homme en particulier.

    Objectif

    L’objectif du programme de stages est de contribuer à la formation de jeunes travailleurs des droits de l’homme qui aideraient à promouvoir les droits de l’homme sur le continent.

    Qualification

    Les candidats doivent avoir un background éducatif et professionnel correspondent au travail de la Commission. Aucune étude ou diplôme particulier n’est requis mais les candidats doivent avoir au moins un premier diplôme d’une institution supérieure reconnue. La connaissance des droits de l’homme, la recherche académique et/ou l’expérience pratique des droits de l’homme ainsi qu’une expérience en planification et en gestion de projets, en technologie et en administration d’Internet constituent un avantage.

    Les stagiaires doivent maîtriser au moins une des langues de travail de l’Union Africaine.

    Procédure de demande et de recrutement

    Les stagiaires doivent adresser une demande au Secrétaire de la Commission en présentant les documents suivants :

    • une lettre de motivation énonçant le motif de la demande et indiquant le ou les domaines d’intérêt du candidat ;
    • un Curriculum Vitae ;
    • des copies des diplômes universitaires obtenus ;
    • le nom et les coordonnées détaillées de deux répondants ;
    • la preuve d’un soutien financier pour la durée du stage

    Toutes les questions sur les stages devront être adressées à :

    Secrétaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples
    48 Kairaba Avenue, 
    PO Box 673, Banjul, Gambie. 
    Tél. : 220 4392 962, 
    Fax : 220 4390 764, 
    Email l: achpr@achpr.org or bsec@achpr.org.

    Le Secrétaire, en consultation avec le Bureau de la Commission africaine, décidera de la demande, de la longueur du stage et des missions spécifiques. Les candidats seront informés de l’issue de leurs candidatures un mois après la réception de leurs dossiers.

    Les éléments suivants devraient également intervenir dans la sélection de stagiaires:

    • Priorité accordée aux candidats dont les qualifications (domaine d’intérêt) sont le plus utiles à la Commission au moment de la demande ;
    • Priorité accordée aux citoyens d’Etats membres de l’Union Africaine et des Etats parties à la Charte Africaine ;
    • Disponibilité de ressources à la Commission pour recevoir les stagiaires : ordinateurs, espace de bureau et personnel pour assurer la supervision ;
    • Besoin de l’interne au moment spécifique. Cela sera déterminé par la charge de travail de la Commission, les questions sur lesquelles le stagiaire propose de travailler et la priorité de la Commission à ce moment-là.

    Nature du travail

    Les stagiaires peuvent assister, selon leur background et leurs intérêts, à tous les aspects du travail de la Commission : ses projets de recherche et de formation, la documentation et la publication ainsi que les tâches techniques et administratives. Le contenu et/ou la nature du travail à faire durant le stage sera mutuellement convenu à l’avance.

    Financement

    Le stage à la Commission Africaine n’est pas rémunéré.

    Supervision

    Le superviseur sera l’un des responsables de la Commission travaillant dans le département dans lequel le stagiaire a été affecté selon la tâche qui lui a été assignée, ce dernier étant responsable à l’égard de son superviseur immédiat. Le stagiaire se verra également assigner des tâches par le Secrétaire.

    Devoirs de la Commission:

    • La Commission s’assurera que les stagiaires :
      soient orientés de manière appropriée sur le travail de la CADHP ;
    • soient placés dans des départements où leur travail sera supervisé par des professionnels dans leur domaine particulier de travail ;
    • reçoivent le matériel, les informations et les services nécessaires à l’exécution efficace de leur stage ;
    • soient régulièrement évalués et reçoivent des retours d’information afin d’améliorer leurs connaissances ; et
    • n’aient pas accès aux documents sensible et confidentiels.

    Devoirs des stagiaires 

    Les stagiaires ont le devoir de :

    • traiter le stage comme un exercice professionnel. Ils doivent observer les règles, les règlements, les instructions, les procédures et les directives de la Commission, éviter toute conduite qui aurait un effet négatif sur la Commission et de s’engager dans des activités incompatibles avec les objectifs et l’intérêt de la Commission ;
    • respecter l’accord de confidentialité signé avec la Commission et, à cet égard, ne divulguer à quiconque des informations de nature confidentielle dont ils pourraient avoir connaissance;
    • présenter le formulaire d’évaluation complété et un rapport final au superviseur à la fin du stage ; le rapport devra inclure notamment les difficultés rencontrées durant le stage et des propositions pour améliorer la situation ;
    • restituer au superviseur tous les documents de la Commission mis à disposition.

    Durée

    Les stagiaires devront rester au moins 6 mois et au maximum une année. Dans des cas exceptionnels, le Secrétaire peut décider de proposer des stages de moins de six mois ou d’étendre la période de stage.

    Heures de travail

    Les stagiaires doivent généralement travailler aux heures de bureau habituelles 8h30 – 17h30.

    Réunions

    Les stagiaires ne sont pas considérés comme des employés réguliers de la Commission Africaine. Le Secrétaire de la Commission devra déterminer le type de réunions auxquelles ils peuvent être invités, ainsi que les conditions dans lesquelles ils peuvent participer à ces réunions ou entreprendre certaines activités.

    Vacances et congés

    Les vacances officielles de la Commission Africaine s’appliquent aux stagiaires comme aux autres employés réguliers de la Commission.

    Les stagiaires sont autorisés à avoir deux jours de congé par mois qui doivent être pris avec la période de stage. Toutefois et sauf dans des cas exceptionnels, les stagiaires ne seront pas autorisés à prendre de congé le dernier mois de leur stage.

    Les stagiaires doivent informer leurs superviseurs si la maladie ou d’autres circonstances imprévues les empêchaient de rendre compte de leur travail ou d’achever leur stage.

    Statut

    Les stagiaires ne sont ni des représentants, ni des employés de la Commission Africaine et ne peuvent donc pas la représenter à titre officiel.

    Date limite de réception des candidatures

    Il n’y a pas de date limite de réception des candidatures mais la Commission Africaine encourage les futurs internes à adresser leur demande au moins trois mois avant la date qu’ils ont prévue pour commencer leur stage.

    Dispositions en matière de visa et de voyage

    La Commission Africaine conseille aux stagiaires de prendre toutes les dispositions nécessaires à partir de leur pays d’origine avant de se rendre en Gambie : dispositions en matière de visa et de voyage, d’assurance, d’hébergement, etc. Il est également judicieux pour les stagiaires d’apporter un ordinateur portable, si possible. La Commission Africaine fournira aux candidats retenus des informations pertinentes sur la vie en Gambie.

    Résiliation du stage

    L’une ou l’autre partie peut résilier le stage préalablement à son expiration en donnant un préavis écrit de sept (7) jours. La Commission se réserve néanmoins le droit de résilier le stage à tout moment s’il apparaît que le stagiaire a donné de fausses informations à la Commission Africaine ou si le stagiaire a discrédité la Commission Africaine ou a entrepris d’autres activités que la Commission juge incompatible avec son mandat.

    Attestation

    Lors de l’achèvement du stage avec succès, une attestation sera délivrée au stagiaire par le Secrétaire de la Commission.

     

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Internship Policy

    Internship Policy of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Introduction

    The African human rights system introduces to the international human rights discourse new concepts and challenges to students, academics, human rights activists and international lawyers. It is not surprising, therefore, that several decades after the adoption of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter) and its entry into force, in addition to the establishment of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission), there is still a lot more to be written about the African human rights system. It remains one of the most comprehensive in terms of the rights protected.

    For the past decade, the African human rights system has attracted interest from across all categories of persons intersected in human rights – students, professors, activists, advocates etc. Representatives from the Commission and scholars have made numerous presentations at international and regional forums and distributed relevant documents to institutions of learning on the African human rights regime. Yet, as the African Commission continues to grow and its activities are appreciated, so also does interest in the Commission increase.

    A growing number of young academics have also expressed interest to visit the Secretariat and spend some time to work at the Secretariat to better appreciate the system. With the number of applications growing every year, the Secretariat considered it important to develop certain guidelines that would guide relationships between such visitors and the Commission. Although not all those who visit the Commission are regarded as interns, this document is designed to regulate the relationship between the Commission and persons wishing to participate in the Commission’s internship program.

     Internship Policy Statement

    Internships are educational programs that allow interns to gain practical work experience and develop skills in the areas of their career interests under the guidance of experts or those working in the field. Internships are appropriate for graduate students or persons who have had prior experience working in fields that relate directly to the Commission’s interests.

    Internships must be of benefit to both the intern and the Commission. The intern benefits from the opportunity to learn about the system, conduct research through guidance from a staff member allocated by the Secretariat, while the Commission benefits from the outcome of the intern’s research and contribution to other activities.

    While the Commission welcomes interns from all over the world particularly with a view for diverse inputs in its work, preference is accorded to African interns who are researching or working on human rights in general and the African human rights system in particular.

     

    Aim

    The aim of the internship programme is to contribute to the training of human rights workers who would help promote human rights on the continent.

     Qualification

    Applicants must have an educational or professional background suitable to the work of the Commission. No particular study or degree is required, but applicants must have at least a first degree from a recognised higher institution. Knowledge of human rights, academic research and/or practical experience in human rights, as well as experience in project planning and management, Internet Technology and administration are an advantage.

    Interns must be fluent in at least one of the working languages of the African Union.

    Application and recruitment procedure

    Interns should apply to the Secretary of the Commission by submitting the following documents:

    • a motivation letter stating the grounds for the application, and indicating the field (s) of interest of the applicant;
    • a Curriculum Vitae;
    • copies of University Degree(s) or Diploma(s) obtained;
    • two recommendation letters; and
    • proof of financial support during the internship.

    Applications which do NOT contain all the requisite documents specified above will not be considered.

    All inquiries on internships should be addressed to:

     

    The Secretary of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights,

    31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District,

    Western Region,

    P.O. Box 673, Banjul,

    The Gambia

    Tel: 220 4410 505 – 6; Fax: 220 4410504

    Email: au-banjul@africa-union.org; africancommission@yahoo.com

    Web: www.achpr.org 

     

    Due to the large number of applicants, only selected candidates will be contacted.

     

    The following would also apply in the selection of interns:

    • Priority will be given to applicants whose qualifications (area of interest) will be most useful to the Commission at the time they apply;
    • Priority will be given to citizens of Member States of the African Union and State Parties to the African Charter;
    • The availability of resources at the Commission to accommodate the interns. This includes computers, office space and staff members to provide supervision;
    • The need for the intern at that material moment. This would be determined by the workload of the Commission, the issues the intern proposes to work on, and the priority of the Commission at the time.

     

    Nature of Work

    Interns may assist, according to their background and interests, in any aspect of the work of the Commission, i.e. in its research and training projects, documentation and publication as well as in technical and administrative tasks. The content and/or nature of the work to be done during the internship will be mutually agreed upon in advance.

     

    Funding

    The African Commission does not remunerate interns.

     

    Supervision

    The supervisor will be one of the officers of the Commission working in the department in which the intern has been assigned. In relation to the task assigned to the intern, the latter will be answerable to his/her immediate supervisor. The intern will also be assigned other duties by the Secretary.

     

    Duties of the Secretariat

    The Secretariat shall ensure that interns:

    • are provided with proper orientation on the work of the Commission;
    • are placed in departments where their work will be supervised by professionals in their particular area of work; 
    • are provided with the material, information and services necessary for the effective discharge of the internship; 
    • are regularly assessed and provided with feedback in order to improve their knowledge; and
    • Sign an oath undertaking to keep any sensitive and confidential information that comes to their attention by virtue of their duties.

     

    Duties of interns

    Interns have the duty to:

    • Treat the internship as a professional exercise. They shall observe all applicable rules, regulations, instructions, procedures and directives of the Commission, refrain from any conduct that would adversely reflect on the Commission and abstain from engaging in any activity incompatible with the aims, objectives and interest of the Commission;
    • Respect the confidentiality agreement signed with the Secretariat, and in this regard, shall not divulge to anyone any information of a confidential nature they might come across;
    • Submit the completed evaluation form and final report to the supervisor at the end of the internship; The report should include among other things, the difficulties encountered during the internship and proposals on how to improve the situation; and
    • Return to the supervisor, all the Commission’s documents at their disposal.

     

    Duration

    The Internship period should last for at least six (6) months, and a maximum of one year. In exceptional cases, the Secretary can decide to offer internships for less than six months or extend the period of an internship.

     

    Working hours

    Interns are expected to work regular office hours, being 8:30 am – 5:30 p.m.

     

    Meetings and other activities

    Interns are not considered as regular staff members of the African Commission. The Secretary of the African Commission shall determine the type of meetings and activities they may be invited to participate in, as well as the conditions under which they may attend such meetings or undertake any activity.

     

    Holidays and leave

    The official holidays of the Secretariat apply to interns as they do to regular staff members of the Secretariat.

     

    Interns are eligible to two days leave per month which must be taken with the period of the internship. However, interns, except in exceptional cases, shall not be allowed to take leave on the last month of their internship.

     

    Interns must inform their supervisors should illness or other unforeseen circumstances prevent them from reporting for work or completing their internship.

     

    Status

    Interns are not officials or staff members of the Secretariat and therefore cannot represent the Commission in any official capacity.

     

    Application deadline

    There is no deadline for applying, but the Secretariat encourages prospective interns to apply at least three months before their scheduled date to begin the internship.

     

    Visa and travel arrangements

    The Secretariat advises interns to make all necessary arrangements from their home countries before travelling to The Gambia. This includes visa and travel arrangements, insurance, accommodation, etc. It is also advisable that interns come with laptop computers, if possible.

     

    The Secretariat will also provide successful applicants with relevant information about living in The Gambia. The Secretariat is available to provide information and assistance in this regard, as required.

     

    Termination of internship

    Either party can terminate the internship prior to its expiry by giving seven (7) days written notice. This notwithstanding, the Secretariat reserves the right to terminate the internship at any time if it deems the intern provided false information to the Secretariat, or the intern has brought the Commission into disrepute or undertook any other activity that the Secretariat deems incompatible with the mandate of the Commission.

     

    Letter of Recommendation

    Upon the successful completion of the internship, a Letter of Recommendation will be issued to the intern by the Secretary of the Commission.

     

     

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2015 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights