Structure

    Composition

    La Commission est composée de 11 membres élus par l’Assemblée de l’UA choisis parmi des experts des États Parties à la Charte. L’Assemblée tient compte des critères de représentation géographique et de genre dans l’élection des membres de la Commission. Les membres de la Commission sont élus pour un mandat de six ans et sont rééligibles.

    Une fois élus, les Commissaires siègent à titre personnel et non comme représentants de leurs pays respectifs. Dans le passé, certains membres de la Commission étaient des personnalités politiques de haut rang dans leurs pays, ce qui compromettait l’indépendance de la Commission. En avril 2005, l’UA adressa une note verbale aux États membres leur donnant des directives pour la nomination des membres de la Commission, directives qui excluaient les fonctionnaires de haut rang et les diplomates.

    Bureau de la Commission

    La Commission élit son Président et son Vice-Président qui constituent le Bureau de la Commission. Ils sont élus pour un mandat de deux ans et sont rééligibles une fois. Le Bureau coordonne les activités de la Commission, supervise et évalue le travail du Secrétariat de la Commission. Le Bureau a également le pouvoir de prendre des décisions sur des affaires urgentes entre les sessions de la Commission. Il a alors l’obligation de présenter un rapport sur la situation aux membres à la prochaine session de la Commission.

    Secrétariat de la Commission

    Le Président de la Commission de l’UA nomme le Secrétaire de la Commission ainsi que certains membres du personnel nécessaires à l’accomplissement du mandat de la Commission. Le Secrétariat apporte un soutien administratif, technique et logistique à la Commission.

     

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Structure

    Composition

    The Commission consists of 11 members elected by the AU Assembly from experts nominated by the state parties to the Charter. The Assembly considers equitable geographical and gender representation in electing the members of the Commission. Members of the Commission are elected for a six-year term and are eligible for reelection.

    Once elected, the commissioners serve in their personal capacity and not as representatives of their respective countries. Previously, some members of the Commission held high political offices at the national level, which affects the Commission’s independence. The AU in April 2005 issued a note verbale to member states prescribing guidelines for nomination of members to the Commission which excluded senior civil servants and diplomatic representatives.

    Bureau of the Commission

    The Commission elects its Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson as the Bureau of the Commission. They are elected for a term of two years and are eligible for re-election once. The Bureau coordinates the activities of the Commission and supervises and assesses the work of the Commission’s Secretariat. The Bureau is also empowered to take decisions on matters of emergency between the sessions of the Commission. It is however obligated to present a report on the situation to members at the next session of the Commission.

    Secretariat of the Commission

    The Chairperson of the AU Commission appoints the Secretary of the African Commission including other support staff necessary for the effective discharge of the Commission’s mandate. The Secretariat provides administrative, technical and logistical support to the Commission.

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights