Salamata Sawadogo: rapport de la Présidente

21. Pendant la période de l’intersession, la Présidente a mené les activités suivantes :

22. Elle a pris part à la 10ème Session du Conseil Exécutif et à la 8ème Session ordinaire de la Conférence des Chefs d’Etat de l’Union Africaine à l’occasion de laquelle elle a présenté le 21ème Rapport d’activités.

23. Du 1er au 4 février, elle a pris part au 3ème Congrès mondial sur la peine de mort à Paris et a assisté à certains des ateliers ainsi qu’à une table ronde organisée pendant le Congrès. Au cours du Congrès, elle a donné une conférence sur la situation de la peine de mort en Afrique, avec un panel d’avocats et d’experts en droits de l’homme de la Commission Interaméricaine, de la Commission Européenne et de la Commission Internationale des Juristes.

24. Les 22 et 23 février 2007 à Berlin, en Allemagne, suite à l’invitation du Gouvernement allemand, elle a pris part à une réunion de haut niveau sur le thème « Responsabilisation économique des femmes pour des économies Intelligentes ». Cette Conférence a été organisée par le Ministère fédéral de la Coopération économique et du développement (BMZ), en collaboration avec la Banque Mondiale, le Département Britannique pour le Développement International et le Forum pour le Développement des Politiques.

25. Sa présentation a amené Mme Heidemarie Wieczroek-Zeul, Ministre Fédéral de la Coopération économique et du Développement (Allemagne) à l’inviter à donner de plus amples informations sur la CADHP et son travail. La ministre a dit être impressionnée par le volume de travail de la Commission et s’est engagée à maintenir les contacts avec la Commission en vue d’organiser une importante réunion en novembre 2007 sur le renforcement des capacités des femmes, en collaboration avec la Commission et d’autres partenaires.

26. La Présidente a également pris part à d’autres activités telles que conférence publique organisée le 25 avril 2007 à l’IDEP (l’Institut Africain pour le développement économique et la planification) sur le système des droits de l’homme en Afrique. Dans le cadre de la réalisation d’un documentaire sur la CADHP, elle a accordé une interview à la Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, le 28 avril 2007.

27. Du 3 au 5 mai, avec trois de ses collègues (Madame Angela Melo, M. Bahame Tom Nyanduga et M. Ngary Mussa Bitaye), elle a participé à une réunion de réflexion sur la CADHP, organisée par le Département des Affaires Politiques de la Commission de l’Union Africaine, à Maseru, Lesotho.

28. Avant la quarante-et-unième session ordinaire, la Président a participé dans une série des activités organisées par la société civile et du Département des Affaires Politiques de la Commission de l'Union Africaine à Accra, Ghana du 13 au 15 mai 2007.

29. Pendant la période considérée, elle a lancé des appels urgents sur la situation des droits de l’homme dans deux pays africains : la Guinée et le Zimbabwe. A l’occasion de l’appel lance dans la situation en Guinée, elle a interpellé le Président en exercice de l’UA, le président en exercice de la CEDEAO et le Président de la Commission de l’Union Africaine.

Commissaire

Salamata Sawadogo

Visit Commissioner's page to get the full activity log & appointments, the states responsible for.

Activité du Commissaire

Comme il est décrit dans les rapports annuels de la Commission. Consulter les rapports d'activité inter-session pour une description approfondie des activités.

    '
  • Rapport d'activités 22 Novembre 2006 - Mai 2007

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Salamata Sawadogo: Chairperson report

21. During the reporting period the Chairperson undertook the following activities:

22. She took part in the 10th Ordinary Session of the Executive Council and the 8th Ordinary Session of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union where she presented the 21st Activity Report of the Commission.

23. From 1 - 4 February 2007, she took part in the 3rd World Congress on the Death Penalty in Paris, France and attended some of the workshops and a round-table organized during the Congress. During this Congress, she gave an address on the status of the death penalty in Africa with a panel composed of lawyers and human rights experts from the Inter-American Commission, the European Commission and the International Commission of Jurists.

24. In Berlin, Germany from 22 - 23 February 2007, at the invitation of the German Government, she took part in a high-level meeting on the theme « Economic empowerment of women for intelligent economies ». This Conference was organized by the Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) in collaboration with World Bank, the Department for International Development of the United Kingdom and the Forum for Policy Development.

25. Consequently, Madam Heidemarie Wieczroek-Zeul, Federal Minister in charge of Economic Cooperation and Development (Germany) to invite her to provide details about the ACHPR and its work. The Minister was impressed by the enormous work done by the Commission and pledged to maintain contacts with the Commission in order to organize a major meeting in November 2007 in collaboration with the Commission and other partners on capacity building for women.

26. The Chairperson also took part in other activities such as the public meeting held on 25 April 2007, at the African Institute for Planning and Economic Development (IDEP) on the human rights systems in Africa. Contributing to the production of a documentary on the ACHPR, she granted an interview to the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation on the 28 April 2007.

27. From 3 - 5 May, 2007 together with 3 of her colleagues (Madam Angéla Melo, Mr. Bahame Tom Nyanduga and Mr. Ngary Mussa Bitaye), she attended a brainstorming session on the ACHPR organized by the Department of Political Affairs of the Commission of African Union, in Maseru, Lesotho.

28. Prior to the 41st ordinary session, the Chairperson took part in a series of activities organised by civil society organisations and the Department of Political Affairs of the Commission of the African Union in Accra, Ghana from 13 – 15 May 2007.

29. During the period under consideration, she sent urgent appeals addressing human rights situations in two African countries: Guinea and Zimbabwe. Regarding the appeal on the situation in Guinea, she drew the attention of the current AU Chairperson, the current Chairperson of ECOWAS and the Chairperson of the African Union Commission.

Commissioner

Salamata Sawadogo

Visit Commissioner's page to get the full activity log & appointments, the states responsible for.

Commissioner's Activity

As described in Commission Annual Reports. Consult the Intersession Activity Reports for an indepth description of activities.

    '
  • 22th Activity Report November 2006 - May 2007

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights