7: Résolution sur la Promotion et le Respect du Droit International Humanitaire et des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples

    La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, réunie en sa 14eme Session Ordinaire, à Addis Abéba, Ethiopie, du ler au 10 décembre 1993.

    Considérant que les droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et le droit international humanitaire (DIH) ont toujours visé, même dans des situations différentes, la protection de la personne humaine et des droits fondamentaux ;

    Constatant la compétence du Comité International de la Croix Rouge (CICR) pour faire respecter le droit international humanitaire ;

    Rappelant la résolution CM/Res. 1059 (XLIV) adoptée lors de la 44ème Session Ordinaire du Conseil des Ministres de l’OUA par laquelle celle-ci affirme la volonté de l'OUA de soutenir le CICR dans ses activités et de lui accorder les facilités nécessaires à l'accomplissement de son mandat ;

    Rappelant aussi les conclusions du séminaire organisé suite à la 12ème session de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples qui s'est tenue à Banjul, Gambie, sur la mise en oeuvre de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples dans les systèmes juridiques internes qui soulignaient la nécessité de diffuser et d'appliquer les dispositions du droit international humanitaire en temps de conflit armé ;

    Considérant la résolution sur l'éducation des droits de l’Homme et des peuples adoptée lors de la 14ème session ;

    Reconnaissant l'utilité d'une coopération étroite dans la domaine de la diffusion du droit international humanitaire et des droits de l’Homme et des peuples :

    1. INVITE tous les Etats Africains parties à la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples à adopter les mesures appropriées au niveau national pour assurer la promotion des dispositions du droit international humanitaire et des droits de l’Homme et des peuples ;

    2. SOULIGNE le nécessité de mettre l'accent sur une instruction spécifique des militaires et la formation du personnel de police et de maintien de l'ordre au droit international humanitaire et aux droits de l’homme et des peuples respectivement ;

    3. SOULIGNE aussi l'importance d'un échange régulier d'information entre la Commission Africaine des Droits de L’Homme et des Peuples, le Comité International e la Croix Rouge et les ONG des droits de l’Homme sur les activités d'enseignement et de diffusion entreprises sur les principes des droits de l’Homme et des peuples et du droit international humanitaire dans les écoles, les universités ou tout autre cadre ;

    4. DECIDE de participer autant que possible aux séminaires, conférences, ou sessions techniques organisés par le CICR sur des questions d'intérêt mutuel et exhorte le CICR à faire de même pour les activités de la Commission.

    Résolutions liées

    Resolutions adoptés

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

7: Resolution on the Promotion and Respect of International Humanitarian Law and Human and Peoples’ Rights

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, meeting at its Fourteenth Ordinary Session in Addis Ababa, from 1 - 10 December, 1993:

    Considering that human rights and international humanitarian law (IHL) have always, even in different situations, aimed at protecting human beings and their fundamental rights,

    Noting the competence of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) to promote respect for international humanitarian law,

    Recalling the resolution CM/Res. 1059 (XLIV), adopted at the 44th Ordinary Session of the Council of Ministers of the OAU which reaffirmed the determination of the OAU to support the ICRC in its activities and to grant it the necessary facilities to carry out its mandate,

    Recalling also the conclusions of the seminar held in Banjul, October 1992, following the 12th Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the national implementation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, which underscored the need to disseminate and implement the provisions of international humanitarian law applicable in time of armed conflicts,

    Considering the Resolution on Human and Peoples’ Rights Education adopted by the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights at its 14th Session, December 1993,

    Recognising the need for a close co-operation in the field of dissemination of international humanitarian law and human and peoples’ rights:

    1. Invites all African States Parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights to adopt appropriate measures at the national level to ensure the promotion of the provisions of international humanitarian law and human and peoples’ rights;

    2. Stresses the need for specific instruction of military personnel and the training of the forces of law and order in international humanitarian law and human and peoples’ rights respectively;

    3. Stresses further the importance of regular exchange of information between the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the International Committee of Red Cross and human rights non-governmental organisations, on teaching and dissemination activities undertaken on the principles of human and peoples’ rights and international humanitarian law, in the schools, universities and all other institutions;

    4. Decides to participate, as much as possible, in the seminars, conferences or technical sessions organised by the ICRC on questions of mutual interest and urges the ICRC to reciprocate for the activities of the Commission.

    Related Resolutions

    Adopted Resolutions

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights