Allocution de l’Honorable Commissaire Sylvie Kayitesi Zainabo, Présidente de la Commission africaine, lors de la cérémonie d’ouverture de la 3ème réunion annuelle conjointe de la Commission africaine et de la Cour africaine

    Honorable Busingye Johnston, Ministre de la Justice, Mandataire Général de l’Etat;

    Honorable Juge Sophia  Akuffo, Vice-présidente de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples ;

    Honorable Mohamed Bechir Khalfallah, Vice-président a.i. de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples ; 

    Honorable Juge Gérard Niyungeko, Vice président de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples ;

    Honorable Juges de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

    Honorables Commissaires de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples ;

    Mesdames et Messieurs les membres du personnel de la Commission et du Greffe de la Cour

     

    J’ai l’honneur et le plaisir de faire cette allocution à l’occasion de la Troisième Réunion annuelle conjointe de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (la Commission) et de la Cour africaine des droits et de l’homme et des peuples (la Cour) et de souhaiter la bienvenue aux Honorables Juges et Commissaires ainsi qu’au personnel du Secrétariat de la Commission et du Greffe de la Cour, à Kigali, notre belle ville.

    Permettez-moi également, au nom des deux institutions ici présentes, de remercier le Gouvernement de la République du Rwanda, à travers l’Honorable Busingye Johnston, Ministre de la Justice et mandataire général de l’Etat, pour avoir bien voulu accueillir cette réunion et la Session extraordinaire de la Commission et pour l’hospitalité accordée aux Honorables Juges et Commissaires et aux membres du personnel des deux institutions.

    Excellence Monsieur le Ministre,

    La Commission est une institution créée en vertu de l’Article 45 de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples en vue de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme et des peuples sur le continent.  Dans le cadre de l’exécution de son mandat de promotion, la Commission entreprend des missions dans les Etats membres de l’Union africaine en vue de promouvoir les droits de l’homme, mène des activités à travers ses mécanismes spéciaux pour aborder diverses préoccupations et questions thématiques relatives aux droits de l’homme sur le continent. La Commission reçoit et examine des plaintes concernant des allégations de violations des droits de l’homme introduites par des Etats membres et leurs citoyens, dans le cadre de son mandat de protection. En tant qu’un organe de l’Union Africaine, elle exécute son mandat grâce à la collaboration et au soutien des Etats membres de l’Union africaine dont fait partie la République du Rwanda. La promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme est la responsabilité collective de tous et les Etats membres sont nos principaux partenaires.

    La mise en place et l’opérationnalisation de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples a également apporté un élan supplémentaire à la mission de protection de la Commission grâce à notre relation de complémentarité qui est bien définie dans le Règlement intérieur de la Commission comme dans le Règlement intérieur de la Cour. Cette réunion annuelle conjointe est donc le résultat de cette collaboration qui existe entre les deux institutions dont le mandat est de promouvoir et de protéger l’Agenda des droits de l’homme de l’Union africaine au profit des citoyens et des peuples africains.

     

    Excellence Monsieur le Ministre,

     

    C’est dans ce contexte que, lors de nos réunions passées, nous avons eu des forums hautement interactifs de discussion et d’échange d’enseignement, de meilleures pratiques dans les domaines de la technique, de l’organisation et de la jurisprudence. Nous avons également pu discuter des défis rencontrés dans la mise en œuvre des mandats des deux institutions/organes, dans le cadre de la relation de complémentarité.

    Cette troisième réunion annuelle conjointe est une autre occasion d’échanger des idées, de réfléchir ensemble des approches et stratégies communes, et de déterminer les questions relatives à nos mandats et aux droits de l’homme, en vue d’une meilleure exécution de nos mandats respectifs. Notre dialogue est juste une expression concrète du principe qui sous-tend notre rôle dans le système africain des droits de l’homme, le principe de la complémentarité, à travers lequel nous apportons nos avantages et synergies comparatifs respectifs pour relever les défis des droits de l’homme qui interpellent l’Afrique aujourd'hui.

    La présente réunion a été précédée par la réunion du Bureau de la Cour et du Bureau de la Commission, qui était une étape préparatoire importante pour cette réunion conjointe des deux institutions au terme de laquelle la Commission africaine va continuer avec sa session extraordinaire.

     

    Excellence Monsieur le Ministre,

    Compte tenu du rôle important joué par nos deux institutions dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme sur le continent, je voudrais exprimer officiellement que l’Afrique a besoin de nous, et l’Afrique nous appelle en tant qu’organe collectif pour œuvrer en faveur de l’instauration d’une Afrique où les droits sont protégés, respectés, réalisés et appréciés par tous. Nous avons entamé ce voyage, forts de ces efforts de collaboration soutenus et j’ai l’intime conviction que nous pouvons et devons œuvrer jusqu’à la fin, malgré les difficultés que entravent notre parcours.

    J’ai donc bon espoir que la réunion de tous les Honorables Juges et Commissaires nous permettra, une fois de plus, de discuter de manière plus approfondie des questions et les points de l’ordre du jour que nous avons identifiés et adoptés pour la discussion, en vue de trouver des solutions et de tracer la voie à suivre pour les deux institutions.

    Avant de terminer mon propos, je voudrais exprimer ma gratitude à la GIZ, notre partenaire clé, pour l’appui technique et financier mis à la disposition de la Commission pour le succès de ces réunions.

    Enfin, j’espère que vous allez tous prendre un peu de temps de votre calendrier chargé pour découvrir Kigali et profiter de notre hospitalité.

     

    Je vous remercie de votre attention.

     

    Allocutions de la session


    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2018 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Remarks by the Chairperson of the African Commission Honourable Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie delivered at the Opening Ceremony of the 3rd Joint Annual Meeting of the African Commission and the African Court

    Honourable Busingye Johnston, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Republic of Rwanda;

    Honourable Justice Sophia Akuffo, President of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights;

    Honourable Mohamed BechirKhalfallah, Vice- Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights; 

    Honourable Justice Gerard Niyungeko, Acting Vice-President of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights;

    Honourable Judges of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights;

    Honourable Commissioners of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights;

    Staff of the Secretariat of the Commission and Registry of the Court;

    All other protocols duly observed.

    I am honoured and very delighted to make these remarks on the occasion of the third annual joint meeting of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission) and the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Court) and to welcome Honourable Judges and Commissioners as well as staff of the Secretariat of the Commission and Registry of the Court to Kigali, our beautiful city.

    Let me also on behalf of the two institutions here present thank the Government of the Republic of Rwanda, through the Minister of Justice and Attorney General, Honourable Busingye Johnston for hosting this meeting and the Extra Ordinary Session of the Commission,as well as for the hospitality accorded to Honourable Judges, Honourable Commissioners and staff of the two institutions.

     

    Honourable Minister,

    The Commission is an institution established under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights to promote human and peoples’ rights on the continent. In executing its promotion mandate, the Commission undertakes missions to Member States of the African Union to promote human rights, undertakes activities through its special mechanisms to address various thematic human rights issues and concerns on the continent. As part of its protection mandate, the Commission receives and considers complaints of allegations of human rights violations submitted to it by Member States and their citizens. As an organ of the African Union, the Commission executes its Mandate through the collaboration and support of Member States of the African Union which include the Republic of Rwanda. Human Rights promotion and protection is the collective responsibility of all and key and the Member Statesare our key stakeholders.

    The establishment and operationalisation of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights also added more impetus to the protection mandate of the Commission in terms of our complementarity relationship which is well defined in the Commission’s Rules of Procedure as well as the Rules of the Court. This Joint Annual Meeting is therefore the result of this collaborative partnership that exists between the two institutions whose mandate is to promote and protect the Human Rights Agenda of the African Union for the benefit of the citizens and peoples of Africa.

     

    Honourable Minister,

    It is in this context that during our past Meetings, we have had highly interactive fora for discussion and exchange of lessons learned, best practices on technical, organizational andjurisprudential matters. We have also been able to discuss challenges in the implementation of the mandates of the two institutions/organs, within the context of our complementary relationship.

    This third joint Annual Meetingis another opportunity to rub minds together, share ideas together and dilate on common strategies, approach and the determination of matters relating to our mandates and human rights with a view to better execute our respective mandate. Our dialogue is just one practical expression of the principle that underpins our role in the African Human Rights System, the principle of complementarity, through which we bring our respective comparative advantages and synergies to bear on the human rights challenges that confront Africa today.

    This meeting was preceded by the Meeting of the Bureau of the Court and the Bureau of the Commissionwhich was apreparatory step for this joint meeting of the two institutions; at the end of which the African Commission will continue with its Extraordinary Session.

     

    Honourable Minister,

    In view of the important role that our two institutions play in promoting and protecting human rights on the Continent, I would like to place on record that Africa needs us, Africa wants us and Africa is calling on us as a collective body to work towards creating an Africa, where rights are protected, respected, realized and enjoyed by all. We have started that journey through these sustained collaborative efforts and it is my strong believe that we can and we should work it through to the end despite the challenges that we have.

    It is therefore my fervent hope that the meeting of all Honourable Judges and Commissioners will allow us once again to discuss further and more in-depth the issues and items,that we have identified and adopted for discussion on the agenda with a view to find solutions and chart the way forward for the two institutions.

    I would like to express our gratitude to GIZ, our key partner, for the technical and financial support provided to the Commission in order to ensure the success of these meetings.

    Finally, I hope that you will all take time out of your busy schedule to discover Kigali and enjoy our hospitality.

     

    Thank you for your kind listening.

     

    Session Speeches


    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights