18ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

Communiqué Final de la 18ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

COMMUNIQUE FINAL DE LA 18ème SESSION ORDINAIRE DE LA COMMISSION AFRICAINE DES DROITS DE L’HOMME ET DES PEUPLES

PRAIA, CAP-VERT

02 – 11 octobre 1995

1. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a tenu, du 02 au 11 octobre 1995, sa 18ème session ordinaire à Praia – Cap-Vert, sur l’invitation du Gouvernement Capverdien et sous la présidence du Professeur Isaac Nguema.

2. La session a été précédée du 9ème atelier sur la Participation des ONG aux travaux de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples organisé par la Commission Internationale des Juristes (CIJ), en collaboration avec la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, du 29 septembre 1995.

3. Ont pris par à la session, les commissaires suivants :

4. M. Alioune Blondin Bèye s’est excusé.

5. La cérémonie d’ouverture a eu lieu le 02 octobre 1995 à 10 Heures au siège de l’Assemblée Nationale du Cap-Vert sous la présidence de S.E.M. Antonio Mascarenhas MONTEIRO, Président de la République du Cap-Vert. Cette cérémonie a été rehaussée par la présence de :

6. Etaient également présents :

7. La cérémonie d’ouverture a été ponctuée par les allocutions prononcées par les personnalités suivantes :

  1. S.E.M. Pedro Freire, ministre de la Justice du Cap-Vert a, dans son allocution, souhaité la bienvenue aux membres de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et aux ONG participant aux travaux de la Commission, il a réitéré l’engagement de son pays à préserver les valeurs de la démocratie, de l’Etat de droit et du respect des droits de l’homme.
  2. Mme Tokunbo Ige, conseiller juridique de la CIJ pour l’Afrique, représentant M. Adama Dieng, Secrétaire Général de la CIJ a, dans son allocution, souhaité plein succès aux travaux de la Commission et insisté sur la nécessité d’une bonne coopération entre la Commission et les ONG, en vue, notamment, de consolider l’indépendance du pouvoir judiciaire en Afrique et éviter l’impunité des auteurs de graves violations des droits de l’homme.
  3. Le Professeur Isaac Nguema, Président de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, a prononcé un discours dans lequel il a commencer par condamner le coup d’Etat survenu la veille aux Comores et a lancé un appel pressant à la France pour qu’elle mette hors d’état de nuire son ressortissant, en la personne de Bob Denard, qui est l’instigateur de ce coup de force. Il a également insisté sur la nécessité d’accorder une grande priorité aux questions liées au développement de l’Afrique. analysant les problèmes de l’évolution politique dans les pays africains, le Prof. Nguema a indiqué que l’Afrique a besoin d’un nouveau projet de société fondé sur l’Etat de Droit, les droits de l’homme, l’indépendance de la magistrature, les libertés d’opinion et d’expression, etc.
  4. S.E.M. Antonio Mascarenhas Monteiro, Président de la République du Cap-Vert, a délivré un message à l’assistance en rappelant que la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples constituait une avancée significative pour les peuples d’Afrique. il a ensuite déclaré que l’évolution actuelle en matière de démocratisation permet d’espérer la mise en place rapide d’une Cour Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples. Il a insisté sur le fait que la démocratie ne devrait pas se limiter à des mécanismes institutionnels mais devrait plutôt aboutir, à travers des conquêtes économiques et sociales, à une véritable culture des droits de l’homme. Pour terminer, S.E.M. le Président Monteiro a déclaré ouverts les travaux de la 18ème session ordinaire de la Commission et a souhaité plein succès à ces assises.

8. Après la cérémonie d’ouverture officielle, chacun des nouveaux membres de la Commission à savoir :

A prêté serment en ces termes :"Je jure de bien et fidèlement remplir mes fonctions en toute impartialité ".

9. Par la suite, la Commission a procédé à l’élection de son bureau. Les commissaires Isaac Nguema et Hatem Ben Salem et U.O. Umozurike s’étaient portés candidats à la présidence de la Commission.
Le prof. Isaac Nguema, président sortant, a été réélu.

10. S’agissant de la Vice-présidence, le prof. E.V.O. Dankwa qui était le seul candidat a été élu.

11. Au cours de ses travaux, la Commission s’est principalement penchée sur les points suivants :

12. Le statut d’observateur a été accordé à 13 nouvelles organisations non-gouvernementales. La liste de ces ONG est disponible au Secrétariat. De ce fait, le nombre d’ONG jouissant du statut d’observateur est passé de 154 à 167.

13. Les représentants des gouvernements d’Algérie, du Bénin, du Cameroun, du Nigeria, du Togo, du Swaziland, de la Tunisie et de la Zambie ont pris part à la session.

14. Le représentant du gouvernement algérien a notamment annoncé qu’il avait déposé au Secrétariat de la Commission le premier rapport de son pays, qui sera examiné à la 19ème session.

15. Les représentants du Bénin, du Cameroun, du Togo, et du Swaziland ont délivré des messages indiquant la disponibilité de leurs gouvernements à coopérer avec la Commission.

16. En outre, le délégué du Swaziland a indiqué que son pays avait déjà ratifié la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et que l’instrument de ratification avait été envoyé au Secrétariat Général de l’OUA.

17. Au cours de sa séance du 03/10/1995, la Commission a examiné le 1er rapport périodique de la Tunisie qui a fait l’objet d’une présentation par deux délégués du gouvernement tunisien, à savoir :

18. La Commission s’est félicitée de la qualité du rapport présenté par la Tunisie et a exprimé sa satisfaction au sujet de l’intérêt manifesté par les autorités tunisiennes au regard de leurs engagements découlant des dispositions de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

19. La Commission a noté avec regret que les rapports du Mozambique, de l’Ile Maurice et des Seychelles ne pouvaient pas être examinés comme prévu à l’ordre du jour du fait que les dits Etats n’avaient pas envoyé de délégués pour présenter leurs rapports à la Commission.

20. La Commission a entendu les allocutions des ONG africaines et internationales suivantes :

21. M. Ahmed Motala a présenté les conclusions et Recommandations eu 9ème atelier des ONG participant aux travaux de la Commission et a mis un accent particulier sur les questions suivantes :

  1. le rôle des ONG dans le renforcement de la Commission Africaine,
  2. la situation des droits de l’homme dans bon nombre de pays africains ;
  3. le rôle du rapporteur spécial sur les exécutions extra-judiciaires, sommaires ou arbitraires ;
  4. la surveillance du respect des droits économiques, sociaux et culturels en Afrique.

22. M. Ahmed Othmani, au nom de Penal Reform International, a présenté un projet de résolution bisant à désigner un rapporteur spécial à la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples sur les conditions carcérales en Afrique.

23. Mme Tokunbo Ige, conseiller juridique de CIJ , a présenté un projet de résolution visant à nommer un rapporteur spécial auprès de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples sur les droits de la femme en Afrique et a rappelé l’élaboration du projet de protocole additionnel à la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples sur cette question.

24. Des membres de la Commission ont présenté leurs rapports respectifs sur les activités de promotion accomplies durant l’intersession.

25. La Commission a examiné et adopté des amendements à son règlement intérieur.

26. Les membres de la Commission ont également échangé leurs points de vue sur l’interprétation de l’article 58 de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

27. Concernant les activités de protection, la Commission a examiné 41 communications.

28. La Commission a également entendu le rapport de son Secrétaire sur les activités accomplis pendant l’intersession et examiné notamment les questions relatives au financement, à l’organisation du Centre de Documentation ainsi qu’à la réalisation de la Revue.

29. La Commission a réitéré sa décision d’organiser des séminaires suivants :

30. La Commission a également procédé à la répartition des Etats parties entre ses membres pour les activités de promotion.

31. la Commission a examiné les résolutions thématiques et les résolutions par pays issues du 9ème atelier de la CIJ ayant précédé la 18ème session . Compte tenu de l’importance et de la pertinence de la plupart des points soulevés par ces résolutions, la Commission , prise de court par le temps, en a décidé le report à sa 19ème session afin d’y consacrer un examen approfondi.

32. En raison du programme très chargé, la Commission a décidé de différer à sa prochaine session l’examen des critères d’octroi du statut d’observateur aux ONG ainsi que des conditions de jouissance de ce statut.

33. Au cours de sa session, la Commission a été reçue le 06 octobre 1995 pour un déjeuner au palais présidentiel par le Président de la République du Cap-Vert, son Excellence Antonio Mascarenhas MONTEIRO.
La Commission a également été invité le 11 octobre 1995 à un dîner offert en son honneur par son Excellence M. Pedro Freire, ministre de la Justice.

34. La Commission prie l’Angola, le Botswana, le Burundi, le Burkina Faso, le Cameroun, la République Centrafricaine, les Comores, le Congo, la Côte d’Ivoire, le Djibouti, la Guinée Equatoriale, le Gabon, le Kenya, le Lesotho, le Liberia, le Madagascar, le Malawi, le Mali, la Mauritanie, la Namibie, le Niger, la République Arabe Sahraouie Démocratique, Sao Tomé et Principe, la Sierra Leone, la Somalie, le Zaïre et la Zambie de présenter leurs rapports initiaux le plus vite possible.

35. la Commission lance un appel pressant à l’Ethiopie, l’Erythrée et l’Afrique du Sud afin qu’ils ratifient la charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples dans les plus brefs délais.

36. La cérémonie de clôture de la 18ème Session a eu lieu le 11 octobre 1995 au siège de l’Assemblée Nationale du Cap-vert sous la présidence de S.E.M. Pedro Freire, ministre de la Justice.

37. Le Président de la Commission a donné une conférence de presse après la cérémonie de clôture.

38. La Commission a décidé de tenir sa 19ème session ordinaire à Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, au mois de mars 1996, sur invitation du gouvernement Burkinabé.


Fait à Praia, Cap-Vert, le 11 octobre 1995.

18th Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 18th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights held its 18th Ordinary Session in Praia, Cape Verde from 2nd to 11th October 1995 at the invitation of the Government of the Republic of Cape Verde. The Professor Isaac Nguema chaired the Session.

2. The Session was preceded by the 19Th ICJ workshop on the participation of NGOs in the meeting of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The workshop, which took place from 29Th September to 1st October 1995, had been organized by the International Commission of Jurist (ICJ) in collaboration with the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

3. The following commissioners attended the session:

4. Apologies ceremony were received from Alioune Blondin Beye

5. The opening ceremony was held on 2nd October 1995 at 10.00 am on the premises of the National Assembly of Cape Verde and was presided over His Excellency the President of the Republic of Cape Verde, Mr. Antonio Mascarenhas MONTEIRO. The ceremony was also graced with the presence of Mr. Amilcar Spencer Lopes, the Speaker of the National Assembly, Mr. Carlos Veiga, the Prime Minister, Mr. Pedro Freire, the Minister of Justice and other members of the Government of Cape Verde.

6. The opening ceremony of the 18Th Ordinary Session of the Commission was also attended by Ambassadors, Consuls and Heads of diplomatic Missions accredited to Cape Verde, delegates of OAU member States, representatives of inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations, members of the press and invited guests.

7. The following dignitaries spoke at the opening ceremony:

  1. In his speech, the Minister of Justice Mr. Pedro Freire extended a warm welcome to members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights and to members of the NGOs taking part in meetings of the Commission to Cape Verde. Mr. Freire reaffirmed Cape Verde’s commitment to preserving democratic values, the rule of law and the respect of human rights.
  2. Speaking on behalf of Mr. Adama Dieng, the ICJ Secretary-General, Mrs. Tokunbo Ige, the ICJ legal Officer for Africa, wished the Commission ’s meeting success and emphasized the need for cooperation between the Commission and NGOs in order to – in particular – consolidate the independence of the Judiciary in Africa and to eliminate impunity of perpetrators of serious violations of human rights.
  3. Professor Isaac Nguema, Chairman of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights condemned the coup d’Etat which had taken place previous day in the Comoro Islands and called upon France to subdue Bob Denard, a French National who mastermind the overthrow of the Government of Comoro. Prof. Nguema stressed the need to give greater priority to issues related to the development in Africa. Analyzing political development in Africa, Prof. Nguema argued that Africa needs a new approach to society – a project based on, among other things, the rule of law, human rights, the independence of the Judiciary and freedom of opinion and expression.
     In his address, his excellency the President of the Republic of Cape Verde, Mr. Antonio Mascarenhas Monteiro asserted that the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights was a significant step forward for the people of Africa. President Monteiro said that current development democratization gave rise to the hope of the establishment in the near future of an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The President emphasized the fact that democracy should not be limited to institutional mechanisms only, but should rather bring about – through economic and social progress – a genuine human rights culture. In conclusion, President Monteiro declared the 18Th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights open and wished it success.

8. After the official opening ceremony, two new members of the Commission, Mr. Kamel Rezag-Bara and Mrs. Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga took the oath of office. Each one of them swore as follows: “I swear to carry out my duties well and faithfully in all impartiality”.

9. The Commission then proceeded to elect its office bearers. There were three candidates – Commissioners Isaac Nguema, Hatem Ben Salem and U.O. Umozurike – for the post of Chairman, professor Isaac Nguema was re-elected.

10. Prof. E.V. O Dankwa, the sole candidate for the post, was elected vice chairman of the Commission.

11. During its deliberations, the Commission discussed mainly, the following items:

12. Observer status was granted to 13 new non-governmental organizations. The list of these NGOs is available at the Secretariat. The number of NGOs status has therefore increases from 154 to 167.

13. representatives of the Governments of Algeria, Benin, Cameroon, Nigeria, Togo, Swaziland, Tunisia and Zambia took part to the Session.

14. The representative of the Government of Algeria announced that, among other things, he had submitted to the Secretariat, the first report of his country which will be examined at the 19Th Ordinary Session of the Commission .

15. representatives of Benin, Cameroon, Togo and Swaziland asserted the willingness of their governments to cooperate with the Commission .

16. furthermore, Swaziland’s delegate announced that Swaziland had already ratified the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and that the instrument of ratification had been sent to the office of the Secretary General of OAU.

17. During its Session of 3rd October 1995, the Commission discussed Tunisia’s first periodic report which was presented by two delegates of the government of Tunisia, namely Mr. Ali Benmalek, charge de missions in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Mr. Habib Cherif, an Advisor in the Ministry of Justice

18. The Commission expressed satisfaction with the quality of the report presented by Tunisia and with the interest demonstrated by the Tunisian Government in keeping its commitment to the provisions spelt out in the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

19. The Commission noted with regret that it could not discuss the country report of Mozambique, Mauritius and Seychelles as indicated on the Agenda because these countries had not sent delegates to the Session to present their reports to the Commission .#

20. The Commission heard speeches delivered by representatives of the following African and International non-governmental organizations:

21. Mr. Ahmed Cassim Motala presented the resolutions and recommendations of the 9Th workshop of NGOs participating in the meeting of the African Commission . Mr. Motala highlighted the following issues :

  1. the role of NGOs in strengthening the African Commission ;
  2. the human rights situation in a good number of African countries ;
  3. the role of the Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial, summary and arbitrary executions.
  4. the monitoring of the respect of economic, social and cultural rights in Africa

22. On behalf of Penal Reform International, Mr. Ahmed Othmani presented a draft resolution on appointing a special rapporteur of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights who would look into prison conditions in Africa.

23. Mrs. Ige Tokunbo, the International Commission of Jurists’ (ICJ) Legal Officer for the Africa presented a draft resolution on appointing a special rapporteur to the African Commission who would deal with the right of women in Africa. Mrs. Tokunbo also mentioned the preparation of a draft additional protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the issue of the rights of women.

24. Members of the Commission presented their reports on promotional activities undertaken during the intersession.

25. The Commission discussed and adopted amendments to its Rules of Procedure.

26. Members of the Commission exchange their points of view on the interpretation of Article 58 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights

27. With regard to protection activities, the Commission reviewed 41 communications.

28. The Secretary to the Commission presented to the Commission the report of his activities during the intersession. The Commission considered, in particular, matters pertaining finance, the organization of the documentation Centre and the preparation and publication of the Commission ’s Review.

29. The Commission reiterated its decision to organize the following seminars :

30. The Commission distributed States parties among its members for promotional activities.


31. The Commission reviewed thematic resolutions as well as resolutions on countries made by the 9Th ICJ workshop which had been held just before the 18Th Ordinary Session of the Commission . In view of the importance of most of the points raised in those resolutions and in view of time constraint, the Commission decided to postpone the deliberations thereon to its 19th Ordinary Session. This will enable the Commission to discuss the resolutions in detail.

32. due to its heavy schedule, the Commission decided to postpone to its next session discussion on criteria for granting observer status to NGOs and conditions pertaining to the status.

33. on the 6Th October 1995, the commissioners were invited by His Excellency the President of Cape Verde, Mr. Antonio Mascarenhas Monteiro to lunch at the State House.
The commissioners were also invited to dinner by the Hon. Minister of Justice , Mr. Pedro Freire on the 11Th October 1995.

34. The Commission called upon Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Comoro Islands, Congo, Cote D’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Namibia, Niger, The Saharan Arab Democratic Republic, Sao Tome Ad Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Zaire And Zambia to present their initial reports as soon as possible.

35. The Commission called upon Ethiopia, Eritrea, and South Africa to ratify the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights as soon as possible.

36. The closing ceremony of the 18Th Ordinary Session was held on the 11Th October 1995 on the premises of the National Assembly of the Republic of Cape Verde . the Hon. Minister of Justice if Cape Verde, Mr. Pedro Freire, presided over the ceremony.

37. The chairman of the Commission held a press conference after the closing ceremony.

38. The Commission decided that its 19th Ordinary session will be held in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso in March 1996 at the invitation of the government of Burkina Faso.


Praia , Cape Verde, 11th October 1995