21ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

    Communiqué Final de la 21ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

    1. La 21ème session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples s’est tenue, à l’aimable invitation de la République Islamique de Mauritanie, à Nouakchott, Mauritanie, du 15 au 24 avril 1997, sous la présidence du professeur Isaac Nguema. Elle a été précédée de la deuxième réunion des Experts juristes gouvernementaux sur la création d’une Cour Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et de l’atelier des experts chargés de l’élaboration d’un Projet de Protocole sur les droits de la femme africaine, organisé conjointement par la Commission Internationale des Juristes et la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

    2. Ont pris part à la cérémonie d’ouverture, en présence des membres de la Commission , le Premier ministre de la République Islamique de Mauritanie, S.E.M. Cheikh EL Avia Ould Mohamed Khouna qu’accompagnaient des membres de son gouvernement, Son Excellence l’Ambassadeur Mamadou BAH, représentant le Secrétaire Général de l’OUA, le Secrétaire Général de la Commission Internationale des Juristes, M. Adama Dieng. On notait également la présence des membres du corps diplomatique, des représentants d’organisations gouvernementales et non gouvernementales, des représentants de la presse nationale et internationale ainsi que d’autres invités de marque.

    3. La cérémonie d’ouverture a été ponctuée par les allocutions du professeur Isaac Nguema, Président de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, du Secrétaire Général de la Commission Internationale des Juristes, du représentant du secrétaire général de l’OUA et du Premier ministre de la République Islamique de Mauritanie. Les différents intervenants ont souligné l’importance cruciale des droits de l’homme et des peuples et affirmé leur engagement à soutenir la Commission dans la poursuite de ses objectifs.

    4. Examinant son ordre du jour, la Commission a entendu les délégués des gouvernements soudanais, mauritaniens et gambiens qui ont délivré leurs messages en soulignant la volonté de leurs pays de se conformer aux dispositions de la Charte africaine et en réitérant leur engagement à coopérer avec la Commission.

    5. De même, les représentants des ONG africaines et internationales ont fait des déclarations. Il s’agit de : Commission Internationale des Juristes (CIJ), WILDAF, Organisation Nationale des Droits de l’Homme du Sénégal (ONDH), Rencontre Africaine pour la Défense des Droits de l’Homme (RADDHO), Anti-Slavery International, Human Rights Watch/ Africa, Association des Réfugiés Mauritaniens au Sénégal, Gerddes – Mauritanie, SOS Esclave, Association mauritanienne des Droits de l’Homme, International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development.

    6. Abordant le point sur les demandes de statut d’observateur, la Commission a accordé ledit statut à 8 organisations non gouvernementales dont la liste est disponible au Secrétariat.

    7. S’agissant du point sur l’examen des rapports périodiques des Etats parties, la Commission a entendu le rapport initial du Soudan, présenté par M. Sirajuddin H. Youssef, chef de la délégation. Un débat s’en est suivi, ce qui a donné l’occasion à la Commission d’examiner la situation des droits de l’homme dans ce pays et le respect de l’application de la Charte.
    Les 2 et 3èmes rapports périodiques du Zimbabwe ont été présenté par S.E.M. Chimbi E. C. Sanyangare, Ambassadeur du Zimbabwe à Dakar et Mme Antonia GUVAVA, de la division des affaires juridiques au Ministère de la Justice. Après un débat riche d’enseignements, la Commission a félicité le Zimbabwe pour la qualité de son rapport.

    8. Poursuivant son ordre du jour, la Commission a entendu le rapport présenté par les trois commissaires chargés de réfléchir sur la mise au point d’un mécanisme d’intervention rapide en cas de violation graves et massives des droits de l’homme. La discussion sur ce point se poursuivra à la prochaine session de la Commission.

    9. Les membres de la Commission ont présenté leurs rapports sur les activités de promotion accomplies pendant l’intersession.

    10. La Commission a examiné la suite du rapport du Commissaire Hatem Ben Salem, Rapporteur Spécial sur les Exécutions Extra-judiciaires, sommaires ou arbitraires. La Commission est d’avis avec le rapporteur que l’identification publique des coupables et leur poursuite en justice constitue une forme de réparation et contribue à lutter contre l’impunité. La Commission a donc encouragé le Rapporteur Spécial à poursuivre son travail d’investigation.

    11. Monsieur le vice-président Dankwa, nommé rapporteur spécial sur les conditions carcérales en Afrique a également présenté son premier rapport faisant état des visites qu’il a effectuées dans les prisons du Zimbabwe et les contacts qu’il a eus avec le rapporteur spécial des Nations Unies sur la Torture.

    12. Le projet du protocole sur la création de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples a fait l’objet d’un examen par la Commission qui a recueilli à cette occasion, une déclaration présentée par 25 ONG exprimant leurs préoccupations quant à certaines dispositions du document, ainsi qu’au sujet des divergences entre les versions anglaises et françaises. La Commission transmettra les observations des ONG au Secrétariat Général de l’OUA pour une suite appropriée.

    13. Le Projet de Protocole sur les Droits de la Femme Africaine, élaboré par un groupe d’experts à Nouakchott avant la session, sur la base d’un document préparé par le professeur E.V.O. Dankwa, l’un des trois commissaires chargés d’effectuer ce travail, a été présenté à la Commission qui, après examen, a demandé à chacun de ses membres de faire parvenir ses observations au Secrétariat qui se chargera de les envoyer aux commissaires responsables du projet, à savoir le Prof. E.V.O. Dankwa, Mme Vera Duarte et Me Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga.

    14. La Commission a examiné le point sur le renforcement des relations de coopération avec les Institutions nationales des Droits de l’Homme ; point proposé et présenté par le commissaire Rezzag-Bara. Elle a décidé qu’un examen approfondi de cette question sera entrepris ultérieurement, notamment sur l’octroi d’un statut spécial à ces institutions.

    15. Concernant la situation des droits de l’homme en Afrique, la Commission a entendu les différents participants qui ont relevé notamment les situations de violations des droits de l’homme au Zaïre et au Nigéria, ainsi que la situation qui prévaut en Mauritanie et au Cameroun.

    16. La Commission a exhorté les ONG à prendre activement part à l’organisation des séminaires et conférences donnés par les commissaires.

    17. La question des missions effectuées par la Commission a été développée par certaines ONG, notamment Interights, Civil Liberties Organisation et Raddho. Ces organisations ont souligné l’importance pour les délégations de la Commission d’avoir un mandat clair et précis et de préserver leur indépendance vis-à-vis des gouvernements des pays visités.

    18. S’agissant des activités de protection, la Commission a examiné 14 communications introduites contre les pays suivants : Cameroun, Tanzanie, Zaïre, Ouganda, Zambie, Rwanda, Gambie, Gabon, Djibouti, Guinée Equatoriale, Angola, Botswana, Egypte et Nigéria.

    19. La Commission a effectué des missions au Sénégal, en Mauritanie, au Nigéria et au Soudan. Les rapports de mission au Sénégal et en Mauritanie ont l’objet d’un examen au sein de la Commission. l’examen des rapports concernant le Nigéria et le Soudan a été reporté à la prochaine session.

    20. La Commission a adopté un communiqué de presse sur le Zaïre ainsi qu’une résolution sur la protection des nom, sigle, et emblème de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

    21. Le bureau de la Commission a été reçu par S.E.M. Maaouya Ould Sid Ahmed Taya, président de la République Islamique de Mauritanie.

    22. Les dates et lieu de la 22ème session ordinaire seront fixés ultérieurement.

    23. La cérémonie de clôture de la 21ème session ordinaire a eu lieu le 24 avril 1997, sous la présidence de S.E.M. Sidi Ould Khalifa, ministre des Affaires Etrangères et de la Coopération.

    24. Une conférence de presse a été donnée par le président de la Commission après la cérémonie de clôture.

    Fait à Nouakchott, Mauritanie, le 24 avril 1997.

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

21st Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 21st Ordinary Sessionof the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The 21st Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights was held in Nouakchott, Mauritania from 15th to 24th April 1997 at the kind invitation of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania and was chaired by Professor Isaac NGUEMA. It was preceded by the second Governmental Legal Experts meeting on the establishment of an African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights and the Experts meeting on the preparation of a Draft Additional Protocol on the Rights of Women to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights Workshop jointly organized by the International Commission of Jurists and the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights.

2. The opening ceremony was attended by Members of the Commission, the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, Hon Cheik El Avia Ould Mohamed Khouna, officials of the government of Mauritania, H. E. Ambassador Mamadou Bah represented the Secretary General of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) and the Secretary General of the International Commission of Jurists, Mr Adama Dieng. Also present at the opening ceremony were members of the diplomatic corps, representatives of governmental and non governmental organisations, members of the local and international press, and other dignitaries.

3. At the opening ceremony, speeches were delivered by Professor Isaac Ngucma, the Chairman of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, the Secretary General of the International Commission of Jurists, the Representative of the Secretary General of the OAU and the Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania.

The various speakers emphasized the importance of human and peoples' rights and asserted their commitment to support the Commission in its work of attaining its desired goals and fulfilling its promotional and protective mandate,

4. The Commission heard delegates of the governments of Sudan, Nigeria, Mauritania and The Gambia who delivered messages emphasizing the commitment of their countries to comply with the provisions of the African Charter and reiterating their commitment to co?operate with the Commission.

5. Statements were made by representatives of various African and international non? governmental organisations namely; International Commission of Jurists (ICJ) WILDAF, Organisation Nationale des Droits de l'Homme du Senegal (ONDH), Rencontre Africaine Pour la Défense des Droits de I'Homme (RADDHO), Anti-Slavery International, Human Rights Watch/Africa, Association of Mauritanian Refugees in Senegal, Gerddes Mauritanie, SOS Esclaves, Association Mauritanienne des Droits de I'Homme and the International Centre for Human Rights and Democratic Development.

6. The Commission considered applications for observer status and granted it to eight NG0s. The list of those NG0s is available at the Secretariat.

7. Concerning the consideration of periodic reports of the States Parties, the Commission examined the initial report of Sudan presented by Mr Sirajuddin H. Yousif, the head of Sudan's delegation. The presentation was followed by a discussion of the report. This gave the Commission the opportunity to examine the human rights situation in that country and its compliance with the provisions of the Charter.

The second and third periodic reports of Zimbabwe were presented by H.E. Chimbi E.C. Sanyangare, Ambassador of Zimbabwe in Dakar and Mrs Antonia GUVAVA, from the Legal Affairs Division at the Ministry of Justice, After a fruitful debate, the Commission commanded Zimbabwe for the good quality of the report

8. The Commission heard a report presented by three members who were entrusted with the task of examining the establishment of a rapid response mechanism in the event of serious massive human rights violations. Discussions on the report will continue at the next session of the Commission.

9. The Commissioners presented their reports on their promotional activities during the intersession.

10. The Commission considered the report of Commissioner Ben Salem, the Special Rapporteur on extra-judicial, summary and, arbitrary executions, The Commission agreed with the rapporteur that publicly identifying those responsible for extra-judicial executions and their prosecution is a form of restitution and contributes to the fight against impunity Consequently, the Commission encouraged the Special Rapporteur to continue with his investigation work,

11. The Special Rapporteur on Prison Conditions in Africa, Commissioner Dankwa presented his first report on his visit to prisons in Zimbabwe and his contact with the UN Special Rapporteur on Torture.

12. The draft protocol on the African Court of Human, and Peoples' Rights was discussed by the Commission, 25 NG0s made statements expressing their concern with some provisions of the document as well as the discrepancy between the French and English versions. The Commission will submit comments made by NG0s to the OAU General Secretariat for appropriate action,

13. The Draft Protocol on the Rights of Women drafted by a group of experts in Nouakchott before the session on the basis of a document prepared by the Vice-Chairman Prof Dankwa who worked in collaboration with two other Commissioners was discussed. On examining the report, the Commission requested each of its members to send their remarks to the Secretariat who will in turn send them to the Commissioners assigned to deal with the issue namely, Dankwa, Duarte and Ondziel-Gnelenga.,

14. The Commission examined the subject of strengthening national human rights institutions which was proposed and presented by Commissioner Rezzag- Bara. The Commission decided to discuss this subject at length at a later date, especially the issue of granting special status to such institutions.

15. With regard to the human rights situation in Africa, the Commission heard reports from various participants who highlighted human rights violations in Zaire and Nigeria as well as the situation prevailing in Mauritania and Cameroon., The delegates of the governments of, Mauritania and Cameroon expressed their views on statements concerning their countries.,

16, The Commission urged NG0s to take part actively in the preparation of seminars and conferences organized by Commissioners,

17. The issue of missions undertaken by the Commission was raised by INTERIGHTS, Civil iberties Organization and RADDHO~ These organizations emphasized the importance for the Commission's delegations to have a clear and specific mandate and to preserve their independence from governments of the states visited.

18 Concerning protective activities, the Commission examined fourteen
communications brought against Cameroon, Tanzania, Zaire, Uganda, Zambia, Rwanda, The Gambia, Gabon, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Angola, Botswana, Egypt and Nigeria,

19. The Commission undertook missions to Senegal, Nigeria, Mauritania and Sudan. The mission's reports on Senegal and Mauritania were examined by the Commission, The examination of the reports on Nigeria and Sudan was deferred to the next session.,

20. The Commission adopted a press release on ZaIre and a resolution on the protection of the name, acronym and logo of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights,

21. The Commission's Bureau was received by H. E. Maaouya Ould Sidi Ahmed Taya, President of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania,

22. The dates and venue of the 22nd Ordinary Session will be determined at a later date.

23. The closing ceremony of the 21st Ordinary Session took place on 24th April 1997. It was officiated by H.E Sidi Ould Khalifa, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation.

24. The Chairman of the Commission held a press conference after the closing ceremony.

Nouakchott, Mauritania 24th April, 1997

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights