24ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

    Communiqué Final de la 24ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

    1. La 24ème session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples s’est tenu du 22 au 31 octobre 1998 à l’hôtel Kairaba à Banjul, Gambie.

    2. La cérémonie d’ouverture a eu lieu le 22 octobre 1998 à 10H 30, sous la présidence de M. Youssoupha Ndiaye, président de la Commission Africaine.

    3. La session a été ouverte par l’honorable Juge F.M. Chomba, Président de la Cour d’Appel de Gambie.

    4. Des allocutions ont été prononcées par M. Harry Octavianus Olympio, Ministre de la Promotion de la Démocratie et de l’Etat de Droit de la République du Togo ; en sa qualité de représentant des Etats Parties de la Charte Africaine et par Mme Sy Aïssatou Satigui de l’Association Mauritanienne des Droits de l’Homme, au nom des ONG ayant statut d’observateur auprès de la Commission.

    5. le président a informé les délégués et les participants à la session du décès tragique et prématuré du commissaire Alioune Blondin Bèye, dans un accident d’avion près d’Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, le 26 juin 198. Une minute de silence a été observée en souvenir du commissaire disparu. A sa mémoire, la 24ème session de la Commission a été baptisée «Session Alioune Blondin Bèye », et au cours de la 4ème séance de la session, ses collègues lui ont rendu hommage. Les membres de la Commission ont rappelé son dévouement au service de la Commission Africaine ainsi que sa détermination dans la promotion e la protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique. La Commission a décidé d’instituer en son honneur, un prix des droits de l’homme appelé «Prix Alioune Blondin Bèye ».

    6. La Commission a entendu les déclarations des représentants de l’Angola, de l’Ethiopie, de la Zambie, du Bénin, de la Mauritanie, du Burkina Faso, du Nigéria, du Rwanda, du Cameroun et du Soudan.

    7. Concernant la situation des droits de l’homme en Afrique, diverses ONG ont exprimé leur inquiétude quant à la détérioration de la situation des droits de l’homme dans la région des Grands Lacs (Burundi, Rwanda et République Démocratique du Congo) et dans d’autres parties du Continent.

    Les représentants des gouvernements de Mauritanie, du Burkina Faso, de la Zambie et du Nigéria ont répondu aux déclarations des ONG concernant la situation des droits de l’homme dans leurs pays respectifs.

    8. La Commission a été informée de la situation humanitaire préoccupante au Burundi en raison de l’embargo imposé à ce pays par les Etats de la Sous-région. Elle a, par conséquent, décider de saisir le Président en exercice de l’OUA pour lui demander d’intervenir auprès de ses pairs qui ont décrété des sanctions contre le Burundi afin d’envisager la levée desdites sanctions, conformément à l’esprit des décisions du Conseil des Ministres et du Sommet des Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’OUA tenu à Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, en Juin 1998.

    9. La question des relations entre la Commission et les ONG a fait l’objet d’un débat ; des délégués des Etats et des ONG y ont apporté leurs contributions.

    10. La Commission a décidé d’appliquer les directives révisées et simplifiées existantes pour la préparation des rapports périodiques des Etats. Elle a également décidé d’organiser un Séminaire des Ambassadeurs africains accrédités à Addis-Abeba, sur la question de la présentation des rapports périodiques des Etats à la Commission Africaine. Il a été demandé au Secrétaire d’écrire aux Etats Parties pour leur communiquer ces directives révisées, accompagnées d’une note explicative sur les procédures et le calendrier de présentation des rapports des Etats en attente.

    11. L’Angola a présenté son rapport initial conformément à l’article 62 de la Charte. L’examen des rapports initiaux de la République Sud Africaine, des Seychelles et du Tchad a été reporté à la 25ème session ordinaire. La Commission a exprimé sa déception du fait que ces Etats n’aient pas envoyé de délégués pour présenter leurs rapports.

    12. La Commission a pris note du bombardement de l’usine pharmaceutique à Khartoum et a déploré les conséquences néfastes sur les droits de l’homme.

    13. La Commission a décidé d’envoyer le Commissaire Ben Salem en Sierra Leone pour rencontrer le Président Ahmed Tejan Kabbah afin de lui demander de ne pas poursuivre les exécutions des personnes condamnées.

    14. Les représentants des gouvernements du Sénégal et de la Mauritanie se sont exprimés sur des questions relatives aux missions effectuées par la Commission dans leurs pays, respectivement du 1er au 7 et du 19 au 27 juin 1996.

    15. La Commission a s’est félicitée de la poursuite des pourparlers entre les parties au conflit Bissau-Guinéen, elle a exprimé son soutien au processus de paix en cours et a particulièrement rendu hommage à son excellence le Colonel (Rtd) Yahya J.J. Jammeh, Président de la République de Gambie, pour sa médiation. La Commission a adopté une résolution dans ce sens.

    16. En commémoration du 50ème Anniversaire de la Déclaration Universelle des Droits de l’Homme, la Commission a décidé de diffuser une déclaration au sein des Etats Parties à la Charte.

    17. Au cours des séances à huis clos, la Commission a examiné 66 communications au total et a formulé les Recommandations nécessaires.

    18. La Commission a adopté 6 résolutions.

    19. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples exprime sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement de la République de Gambie pour les efforts déployés en vue d’assurer la réussite de la session.

    20. La session a été clôturée le 31 octobre 1998 par l’Honorable Juge G. Gelaga-King, de la Cour d’Appel de Gambie.

    21. Le Président de la Commission a tenu une conférence de presse après la cérémonie de clôture.

    Fait à Banjul, Gambie, le 31 octobre 1998.

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

24th Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 24th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The 24th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights was held from 22nd to 31st of October 1998 in Banjul, The Gambia.

2. The opening ceremony took place on 22nd October, 1998 under the Chairmanship of Mr. Youssoupha Ndiaye, Chairman of the Commission.

3. The Session was declared opened by the Honourable Justice F. M. Chomba, the President of the Court of Appeal of the Gambia.

4. Speeches were also delivered by Mr. Harry Octavianus Olympio, Minister for the Promotion of Democracy and the Rule of Law, of the Republic of Togo on behalf of State Parties to the Charter and Ms. Sy Aissata Satigui of the Mauritania Association for Human Rights as a representative of the NGOs with observer status with the Commission.

5. The Chairman of the Commission informed delegates and participants at the Session of the tragic and untimely death of Commissioner Alioune Blondin Beye, who died in a plane crash near Abidjan, Cote d` Ivoire on 26th June, 1998. A minute’s silence was observed in honour of the departed Commissioner. The 24th Ordinary Session of the Commission was appropriately termed “Alioune Blondin Beye Session”

In his memory, the 24th Ordinary Session of the Commission was termed “Alioune Blondin Beye Session”, and at the fourth sitting of the Session his surviving colleagues paid tribute to him. Commissioners recalled his dedicated service to the African Commission as well as his zeal in the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa. The Commission decided to institute a human rights award named “the Alioune Blondin Beye Award” in his honour.

6. State delegates from Angola, Ethiopia, Zambia, Benin, Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Nigeria, Rwanda, Cameroon and Sudan addressed the Commission.

7. With respect to the human rights situation in Africa, various NGOs representatives expressed their concerns about the deteriorating human rights situation in the Great Lakes Region- (Burundi, Rwanda and the Democratic Republic of Congo), and in other parts of Africa.

The representatives of the Governments of Mauritania, Burkina Faso, Zambia and Nigeria also responded to the statements of the NGOs concerning the human rights situation in their respective countries.

8. The Commission was briefed on the disturbing humanitarian situation in Burundi due to the embargo imposed on this country by States of this region. It therefore decided to take up the matter with the current Chairman of the OAU with a view to asking him to intercede with his colleagues who imposed the said sanctions against Burundi for them to consider the possibility of lifting them, in accordance with the spirit of the decisions of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the OAU held in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, in June 1998.

9. The relationship between the Commission and NGOs was discussed with contributions from States delegates and NGOs observers.

10. The Commission has decided to use the existing revised and simplified guidelines for the preparation of State Report. The Commission resolved to organise a seminar for African Ambassadors in Addis Ababa on the issue of submission of States Reports to the Commission. The Secretary was directed to write to States Parties attaching the said revised guidelines together with an explanatory note on procedures and time-table for the consideration of outstanding States reports.

11. Angola presented its initial State report in accordance with Article 62 of the Charter. Consideration of the initial reports of South Africa, Seychelles and Chad was postponed to the 25th Ordinary Session. The Commission expressed strong displeasure at the absence of these states to present their reports to the Commission.

12. The Commission took note of the bombing of a pharmaceutical plant in Khartoum and deplored the harmful consequences on human rights.

13. The Commission decided to send Commissioner Ben Salem to Sierra Leone to meet President Ahmed Tejan Kabbah so as to ask him not to proceed with further execution of those sentenced to death.

14. The representatives of the Governments of Senegal and Mauritania addressed the Commission on issues arising from the missions undertaken to their countries on 1st – 7th and 19th – 27th June, 1996 respectively.

15. The Commission welcomed the holding of talks between the parties to the Guinea-Bissau conflict and expressed its support for the ongoing peace process, paying particular tribute to the Head of State of The Gambia Col (Rtd) Yahja J. J. Jammeh. A resolution to this effect was adopted by the Commission.

16. In commemoration of the 50th Anniversary of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, the Commission decided to issue a statement, which would be circulated to all States parties to the Charter.

17. During the private sessions, the Commission considered a total number of 66 communications and made the necessary recommendations

18. The Commission adopted six resolutions.

19. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights expresses its profound gratitude to the Government of the Republic of the Gambia for its efforts in making the session a success.

20. The session was declared closed on 31st October, 1998 by Hon. Justice G. Gelaga-King of the Gambia Court of Appeal.

21. The Chairman of the Commission will hold a press conference after the closing ceremony.

Done in Banjul on 31st October, 1998

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights