42: Résolution appelant les Etats à Envisager un Moratoire sur la Peine Capitale

    La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples réunie en sa 26ème Session Ordinaire tenue du 1er au 15 novembre 1999 à Kigali, Rwanda;

    Rappelant l’article 4 de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples qui garantit le droit de chacun à la vie et l’article V(3) de la Charte Africaine des Droits et du Bien-être de l’Enfant interdisant la peine de mort pour les crimes commis par des enfants;

    Rappelant les résolutions 1998/8 et 1999/61 de la Commission des Droits de l’Homme des Nations Unies qui font appel à tous les Etats qui maintiennent encore la peine capitale d’établir, entre autres, un moratoire sur les exécutions en vue d’abolir la peine capitale;

    Rappelant la résolution 1999/4 de la Sous-Commission des Nations Unies sur la Promotion et la Protection des Droits de l’Homme qui fait appel à tous les Etats qui maintiennent la peine capitale et qui n’appliquent pas le moratoire sur les exécutions, afin de marquer le millénaire, de commuer les peines de ceux qui sont condamnés à mort au 31 décembre 1999 au moins en peine d’emprisonnement à vie et de souscrire à un moratoire sur l’application de la peine capitale au cours de l’année 2000;

    Notant que trois Etats parties à la Charte Africaine ont ratifié le Deuxième Protocole Facultatif se rapportant au Pacte International relatif aux Droits Civils et Politiques, visant à abolir la peine de mort;

    Notant également qu’au moins 19 Etats parties ont de facto ou de jure aboli la peine capitale;

    Considérant l’exclusion de la peine capitale des peines que le Tribunal Pénal International pour l’ex-Yougoslavie et le Tribunal Pénal International pour le Rwanda sont autorisés à prononcer;

    Préoccupée par le fait que certains Etats imposent la peine capitale dans des conditions parfois non conformes aux normes du procès équitable garanties par la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples;

    1. DEMANDE à tous les Etats parties à la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples qui maintiennent la peine capitale de s’acquitter entièrement de leurs obligations conformément à cette Charte et de faire en sorte que les personnes accusées de crimes pour lesquels la peine capitale est prévue, bénéficient de toutes les garanties de la Charte Africaine.

    2. LANCE UN APPEL à tous les Etats parties qui maintiennent encore la peine capitale pour qu’ils:

    a) limitent l’application de la peine capitale aux crimes les plus graves;

    b) envisagent l’établissement d’un moratoire sur les exécutions capitales;

    c) réfléchissent à la possibilité d’abolir la peine capitale.

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

42: Resolution Urging States to Envisage a Moratorium on Death Penalty

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights meeting at its 26th Ordinary Session held from 1-15 November 1999 in Kigali, Rwanda:

    Recalling Article 4 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights which affirms the right of everyone to life and Article V(3) of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child providing that Death Sentence shall not be pronounced for crimes committed by children;

    Recalling UN Commission on Human Rights’ resolutions 1998/8 and 1999/61, which calls upon all states that still maintain the death penalty to, inter alia, establish a moratorium on executions, with a view to abolishing the death penalty;

    Recalling UN Sub-Commission on the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights’ resolution 1999/4 which calls upon all States that retain the death penalty and do not apply the moratorium on executions, in order to mark the millennium, to commute the sentences of those under sentence of death on 31 December 1999 at least to sentences of life imprisonment and to commit themselves to a moratorium on the imposition of the death penalty throughout the year 2000;

    Noting that three States parties to the African Charter have ratified the Second Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights aimed at abolition of the death penalty;

    Noting further that at least 19 States parties have de facto or de jure abolished the death penalty;

    Considering the exclusion of capital punishment from the penalties that the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda are authorised to impose;

    Concerned that some States parties impose the death penalty under conditions not in conformity with the rights pertaining to a fair trial guaranteed in the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights;

    1. Urges all States parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights that still maintain the death penalty to comply fully with their obligations under the treaty and to ensure that persons accused of crimes for which the death penalty is a competent sentence are afforded all the guarantees in the African Charter;

    2. Calls upon all States parties that still maintain the death penalty to:

    a) limit the imposition of the death penalty only to the most serious crimes ;
    b) consider establishing a moratorium on executions of death penalty;
    c) reflect on the possibility of abolishing death penalty.


    Done in Kigali, 15 November 1999.

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights