27ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

Communiqué Final de la 27ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

1. A l’invitation de son Excellence Monsieur Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, Président de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, Président en exercice de l’Organisation de l’Unité Africaine, la 27ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples s’est tenue du 27 avril au 11 mai 2000 à Alger, Algérie, sous la Présidence du Professeur Emmanuel Victor Oware Dankwa, Président de la Commission.

2. Ont pris part à cette Session les membres suivants:

3. La Session a été ouverte par son Excellence Monsieur Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA. Dans son discours, le Président BOUTEFLIKA s’est félicité des progrès réalisés par les Etats africains, la Commission Africaine et par la communauté des ONG dans le domaine de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme sur le continent.

Il a également souligné l’existence de nombreux conflits sur le continent et leur impact négatif sur la protection des droits de l’homme. L’ordre économique mondial a-t-il ajouté, a largement contribué à marginaliser les pays Africains. Il a exhorté les Etats parties, la Commission Africaine et les ONG à déployer des efforts concertés en vue de l’instauration d’une démocratie basée sur la primauté du droit, la justice et l’égalité.

L’Algérie, a-t-il rappelé, qui émerge d’une période douloureuse de son histoire, s’est engagée à bâtir un ordre démocratique authentique, basé sur la primauté du droit, sur le respect de son identité profonde et du génie propre de son peuple…
Il a conclu en réitérant à la Commission, des souhaits de bienvenue en Algérie et en assurant de la coopération entière de l’Algérie.

4. Des discours ont également été prononcés par les orateurs suivants:

5. La Commission a écouté les déclarations des Délégués des Etats, des représentants des Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme et des ONG.

6. Les ONG participant à la 27ème Session de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples ont exprimé leur inquiétude quant à la situation des droits de l’homme dans certains pays africains.

Parmi les violations relevées, les ONG ont notamment fait état de la récurrence des conflits armés avec leurs conséquences désastreuses sur les populations civiles, les changements inconstitutionnels de gouvernement, l’utilisation d’armes à feu contre des manifestants pacifiques, la pratique de la torture, des exécutions extrajudiciaires, sommaires ou arbitraires, des conditions inhumaines d’emprisonnement, des entraves à la liberté d’expression, de circulation et d’association, des disparitions forcées, ainsi d’autres formes de violations dont sont le plus souvent victimes les couches les plus vulnérables de la société: les femmes, les enfants, les personnes handicapées et les personnes âgées.

7. Les violations dont sont victimes les défenseurs des droits de l’homme et l’impunité dont jouissent les auteurs de ces violations ont également retenu l’attention de la Commission.

8. La Commission a débattu de sa participation à la Conférence Mondiale contre le Racisme, la Discrimination Raciale, la Xénophobie et autres formes d’intolérances qui y sont liées, qui se tiendra en août 2001, en Afrique du Sud. Elle a décidé de s’engager activement dans la préparation de cette Conférence, notamment lors de la Conférence préparatoire africaine qui doit se tenir à Dakar, Sénégal.

9. Les Institutions Nationales ci-après ont obtenu le statut de membre affilié auprès de la Commission:

10. La Commission Africaine a octroyé le statut d’observateur aux ONG suivantes :

11. Conformément à l’article 62 de la Charte, l’Ouganda, le Burundi et le Swaziland ont présenté leur rapport initial, tandis que le Rwanda et la Libye ont présenté leur rapport périodique. L’examen du rapport périodique du Ghana a été reporté à la 28ème session ordinaire. L’Egypte, le Bénin et la Namibie ont déposé leurs rapports. La Commission les examinera à sa prochaine Session Ordinaire.

12. Tous les membres de la Commission ont présenté leurs rapports d’activités pour l’intersession écoulée. La Rapporteur Spéciale sur les Droits de la Femme en Afrique, le Rapporteur Spécial sur les Exécutions Extrajudiciaires, Sommaires ou Arbitraires et le Rapporteur Spécial sur les Prisons et les Conditions de Détention en Afrique ont également présenté leurs rapports.

13. La Commission a exprimé son appréciation au sujet de la ratification par le Sénégal, le Burkina Faso et la Gambie du Protocole à la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples portant Création de la Cour Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et a exhorté les Etats Parties à procéder, dans les meilleurs délais, à la ratification de cet important instrument juridique, de même qu’elle s’est engagée à poursuivre sa campagne de sensibilisation en vue d’accélérer la ratification dudit Protocole.

14. Dans le cadre de ses activités de promotion, la Commission a décidé d’organiser les séminaires suivants :

15. Au cours de ses séances à huis clos, la Commission a été saisie de 69 Communications dont 53 ont été examinées.

16. La Commission a adopté les résolutions relatives :


17. La Commission Africaine se félicite de l’importante participation à sa 27ème session par 26 Etats Parties, 7 Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme et une soixantaine d’ONG Africaines et internationales; ce qui témoigne de l’intérêt grandissant de ses partenaires dans son travail de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique.

18. La Commission Africaine se réjouit de la tenue à Alger, le 30 Avril 2000, sous les auspices de son Excellence Monsieur Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, Président de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, Président en exercice de l’Organisation de l’Unité Africaine, du Sommet sur la situation en République Démocratique du Congo.

La Commission exprime sa haute appréciation au sujet des efforts louables et inlassables déployés par le Président en exercice de l’OUA, S. E. M. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, en vue du rétablissement de la paix, de l’Etat de droit et des principes démocratiques dans la région des Grands Lacs en particulier et sur le continent Africain en général.

19. En marge de ses travaux, la Commission Africaine a été reçue en audience par S. E. M. le Chef du Gouvernement de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire.

20. La Commission Africaine exprime ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude à Son Excellence Monsieur Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, Président de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire, Président en exercice de l’OUA ainsi qu’au Gouvernement et au Peuple Algériens pour l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité authentiquement africaine dont elle a été l’objet et qui ont contribué au bon déroulement et au succès de ses travaux.

21. Le Gouvernement du Bénin a confirmé son invitation à la Commission Africaine pour tenir sa 28ème Session Ordinaire à Cotonou. La Commission a exprimé ses remerciements au Gouvernement du Bénin et a accepté cette invitation en décidant de tenir ladite session du 23 octobre au 6 novembre 2000 dans ce pays.

22. La Session a été clôturée le 11 Mai 2000 par S. E. M. le Ministre de la Solidarité Nationale représentant S.E.M. le Chef du Gouvernement de la République Algérienne Démocratique et Populaire.

23. Le Président de la Commission a tenu une Conférence de Presse après la cérémonie de clôture.

Fait à Alger le 11 mai 2000

27th Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 2nd Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. At the invitation of His Excellency Mr. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, President of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria, Current Chairman of the Organisation of African Unity, the 27th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights was held, from 27 April – 11 May 2000, in Algiers, Algeria, under the Chairmanship of Professor Emmanuel Victor Oware Dankwa, Chairman of the Commission.

2. The following members were in attendance at the Session:

3. The Session was declared open by His Excellency Mr. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA. In his speech, President BOUTEFLIKA welcomed the progress recorded by African States, by the African Commission and by the NGO community in the field of the promotion and protection of human rights on the continent.

The Current Chairman of the OAU also highlighted the existence of many conflicts on the continent and their negative impact on the protection of human rights. According to him, the world economic order has largely contributed to the marginalisation of African countries. He urged States Parties, NGOs and the African Commission to engage in concerted efforts aimed at the establishment of a democracy founded on the rule of law, justice and equality.

Algeria which, as he recalled, is emerging from a painful period in its history, has committed itself to build an authentic democratic order, founded on the rule of law, on respect for its profound identity, and on the characteristic wisdom of its people. He concluded by reiterating to the Commission his warm welcome to Algeria and assuring it of Algeria’s full cooperation.

4. Speeches were also delivered by the following speakers:

5. The Commission heard statements made by States Delegates, representatives of National Human Rights Institutions and NGOs.

6. The NGOs participating at the 27th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights expressed their concern regarding the human rights situation in certain African countries.

Featuring prominently among the violations mentioned by the NGOs are the recurrence of armed conflicts, with their disastrous consequences for civilian populations, unconstitutional changes of government, the use of fire arms against pacific demonstrators, the practice of torture, extra-judicial, summary and arbitrary executions, inhuman conditions of imprisonment, restrictions on the freedoms of expression, movement and association, forced disappearances and other forms of violations whose victims are most often the most vulnerable strata in society: women, children, the persons with disability and the elderly.

7. Violations committed against human rights defenders, and the impunity enjoyed by the perpetrators of these violations were also considered by the Commission.

8. The Commission discussed its participation at the World Conference against Racism, Racial Discrimination, Xenophobia and other Related Forms of Intolerance, which is to be held in August 2001, in South Africa. It decided to get actively involved in preparations for the conference, in particular through the African Preparatory Conference, to be held in Dakar, Senegal.

9. The following National Institutions were granted affiliate status with the Commission:

10. The African Commission granted observer status to the following NGOs:

11. In accordance with article 62 of the Charter, Uganda, Burundi and Swaziland presented their initial reports, while Rwanda and Libya presented their periodic reports. Consideration of Ghana’s periodic report was deferred to the 28th Ordinary Session. Egypt, Benin and Namibia submitted their reports. The Commission will consider them at its next Ordinary Session.

12. All members of the Commission presented their activity reports for the last inter-session period. The Special Rapporteur on Women’s Rights in Africa, the Special Rapporteur on Extra-judicial, Summary and Arbitrary Executions, and the Special Rapporteur on Prisons and Conditions of Detention in Africa also presented their reports.

13. The Commission expressed its satisfaction at the ratification by Senegal, Burkina Faso and The Gambia of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Creation of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights, and urged other States Parties to ratify this important legal instrument as soon as possible, while also committing itself to persist in its sensitisation campaign aimed at speeding up the ratification of the said Protocol.

14. As part of its promotion activities, the Commission decided to organise seminars on the following topics:

15. During its closed sessions, the Commission was seized of 69 communications out of which 53 were considered.

16. The Commission adopted resolutions on:

17. The African Commission welcomes the massive participation at its 27th Session, by 26 States Parties, 7 National Human Rights Institutions and nearly 60 African and international human rights NGOs, which is a testimony to the growing interest of its partners in the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa.

18. The African Commission welcomes the holding in Algiers, under the auspices of His Excellency Mr. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, President of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria, Current Chairman of the Organisation of African Unity, of the Summit on the situation in the Democratic Republic of Congo on 30 April 2000.

The Commission expresses its deepest appreciation for the laudable and untiring efforts of the Current Chairman of the OAU, H.E. Mr. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA for the restoration of peace, the rule of law and democratic principles in the Great Lakes region in particular and on the African continent in general.

19. During the course of the session, the Commission was granted audience by His Excellency the Head of the Government of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria.

20. The African Commission expresses its sincere gratitude to His Excellency Mr. Abdelaziz BOUTEFLIKA, President of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria, Current Chairman of the OAU. This gratitude is also extended to the Government and People of Algeria for their warm welcome and the authentically African hospitality, which contributed to the smooth conduct and success of its deliberations.

21. The Government of Benin confirmed its invitation to the African Commission to hold its 28th Ordinary Session in Cotonou. The Commission expressed its gratitude to the Government of Benin, accepted the invitation, and decided to hold the said Session from 23 October to 6 November 2000 in that country.

22. The Session was declared closed on 11 May 2000 by H. E. the Honourable Minister of National Solidarity, representing H. E. the Head of Government of the Democratic and Popular Republic of Algeria.

23. The Chairman of the Commission gave a Press Conference following the closing ceremony.

Done at Algiers, 11 May 2000