31ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

Communiqué Final de la 31ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

1. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples a tenu sa 31ème Session Ordinaire du 2 au 16 mai 2002, à Pretoria, Afrique du Sud, sous la présidence de M. Kamel Rezag Bara.

2. Ont participé à cette Session les Membres suivants:

3. Avant le début de la cérémonie d’ouverture de la 31ème Session Ordinaire, le Président de la Commission Africaine Commissaire Kamel Rezag Bara, a fait observer une minute de silence en mémoire de Son Excellence M. Ide Oumarou, ex-Secrétaire Général de l’Organisation de l’Unité Africaine (OUA), récemment décédé, qui avait convoqué la toute première session d’installation de la Commission Africaine le 2 novembre 1987 et qui avait procédé à l’inauguration du Siège de la Commission Africaine en juin 1989 à Banjul, Gambie.

4. La session a été officiellement ouverte par Son Excellence Monsieur Jacob ZUMA, Vice-Président de la République d’Afrique du Sud.

S.E.M. Jacob Zuma, a exprimé la joie et la fierté de son pays d’abriter cette 31ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine. Il a indiqué que l’Afrique du Sud a connu une histoire douloureuse qui a énormément contribué à la reconnaissance de la valeur des droits de l’homme.

Depuis près d’une décennie, la démocratie est désormais en marche en Afrique. Il a rappelé que Le NEPAD et l’Union Africaine qui sera bientôt mise en place représentent des approches crédibles pour sortir l’Afrique de sa situation actuelle. Monsieur Jacob ZUMA a invité les Etats qui ne l’ont pas encore fait de ratifier le Protocole portant création d’une Cour Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples.

Enfin, le Vice-Président Zuma a réitéré son soutien aux activités de la Commission Africaine et a invité toutes les organisations de la société civile à renforcer leur collaboration avec la Commission dans ses missions de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique.

5. A la cérémonie d’ouverture, des allocutions ont été prononcées par S.E.M. Sgaïr Ould M’BARECK, Ministre de la Justice de la République Islamique de Mauritanie, en sa qualité de représentant des délégués des Etats Parties à la Charte Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples présents à la Session et par M. Mohamed Genedy, au nom des Organisations Non Gouvernementales jouissant du statut d’observateur auprès de la Commission.

6. La Commission a entendu les déclarations de plusieurs représentants des Etats Parties, d’Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme, d’Organisations Inter-Gouvernemental et Non-Gouvernementales ainsi que d’autres invités.

7. Les représentants des Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme et des Organisations Non-Gouvernementales ont exprimé leurs vives préoccupations quant à la situation des droits de l’homme et des peuples qui prévaut dans de nombreux Etats Africains malgré les efforts déployés par la Commission à travers ses missions de promotion et son travail de protection. Des Etats membres ont également exercé leur droit de réponse.

8. Les membres de la Commission ont présenté leurs rapports sur les activités menées en cour de l’intersession. La Rapporteure Spéciale sur les Prisons et les Conditions de Détention en Afrique, Dr Vera Mlangazuwa Chirwa a également présenté son rapport, de même que la Rapporteure Spéciale sur les Droits de la Femme en Afrique, Dr Angela Melo.

9. La Commission Africaine a accordé le statut d’affiliée aux Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme suivantes :

10. La Commission a également accordé le statut d’observateur aux Organisations Non-Gouvernementales ci-après :

11. Le Centre Africain pour la Démocratie et les Etudes des Droits de l’Homme, avec la collaboration de HURISA et la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, a tenu le Forum des ONG du 29 avril au 1er mai 2002 à Pretoria en Afrique du Sud. D’importantes contributions issues de ce Forum ont été apportées aux travaux de la 31ème Session.

12. Conformément à l’article 62 de la Charte Africaine, le Cameroun, le Lesotho et la Mauritanie ont présenté leur Rapport Initial tandis que le Togo a présenté son premier Rapport Périodique.

13. Dans le cadre de ses activités de promotion, la Commission a réitéré sa décision d’organiser des séminaires sur les thèmes suivants :

Le rapport sur l’Atelier sur la Prévention de la Torture et des Mauvais Traitements en Afrique ainsi que celui de la réunion du Groupe de Travail sur la Liberté d’expression ont été présentés au cours de cette Session.

14. La Commission Africaine a examiné vingt-quatre (24) communications. Elle a été saisie de huit (8) nouvelles communications, dont deux (2) ont été considérées irrecevables et une (1) communication a été retirée par le plaignant. L’examen des treize (13) autres communications a été renvoyé à la 32ème Session.

15. La Commission Africaine se félicite de l’importante participation à sa 31ème Session Ordinaire ; il y a avait trente-six (36) Etats Parties représentés par cent quarante-huit (148) participants, huit (8) Institutions Nationales de Protection et de Promotion des Droits de l’Homme comptant vingt-cinq (25) participants, cinquante et une (51) ONG africaines et internationales soit deux-cent huit (208) participants et quatre-vingt (80) autres invités. Ce qui fait un total de quatre cent soixante et un (461) participants.

16. La Commission a décidé de tenir la 32ème Session Ordinaire à Banjul du 17 au 31 octobre 2002. La 33ème Session Ordinaire se tiendra en Côte d’Ivoire, la 34ème en Gambie et la 35ème au Cameroun.

17. La Commission a adopté les résolutions suivantes :

18. La Commission a adopté le 15ème Rapport Annuel d’Activités.

19. La Commission Africaine exprime ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement d’Afrique du Sud, pour les facilités mises à sa disposition, l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité dont elle a été l’objet et qui ont contribué au bon déroulement et au succès des travaux de sa 31ème Session Ordinaire.

20. La 31ème Session Ordinaire a été clôturée le 16 mai 2002, par Son Excellence Monsieur Penuell Maduna, le Ministre de la Justice et du Développement Constitutionnel de la République d’Afrique du Sud.

21. Le Président de la Commission a tenu une Conférence de Presse après la cérémonie de clôture.

Fait à Pretoria, Afrique du Sud, le 16 mai 2002

31st Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 31st Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights held its 31st Ordinary Session in Pretoria, South Africa from May 2nd to 16th, under the chairmanship of Mr Kamel Rezag Bara.

2. The following members attended this Session:

3. Before the opening ceremony of the 31st Ordinary Session, the chairman of the African Commission, Mr Kamel Rezag Bara, called for a minute’s silence in memory of His Excellency Mr Ide Oumarou, ex-Secretary General of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), who had recently died. He recalled that the first very first session of the African Commission was convened by Mr Ide Oumarou on November 2nd 1987 and that he also inaugurated the African Commission’s headquarters in June 1989 in Banjul,The Gambia.

4. The session was officially opened by His Excellency Mr Jacob Zuma, Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa.

H.E. Jacob Zuma expressed the pleasure and pride of his country in hosting this 31st Ordinary Session of the African Commission. He recalled that South Africa had experienced a painful past and that this made human rights so much more precious.

For almost a decade, the principle of democracy has gained momentum in Africa. NEPAD and the African Union, which will shortly come into being, represent credible initiatives to bring Africa out of its present situation. Mr Jacob Zuma urged those States who had not yet done so, to ratify the Protocol creating an African Court of Human and Peoples Rights.

The Deputy President closed by pledging support for the activities of the African Commission and urged all civil society organizations to strengthen their relations with the Commission, and its missions to promote and protect human rights in Africa.

5. During the opening ceremony, addresses were given by H.E. Sga?r Ould M’BARECK, Minister of Justice of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania in his capacity as representative of delegates of States Parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights attending the Session, and by Mr Mohamed Genedy on behalf of the Non-governmental Organisations
that have observer status with the Commission.

6. The Commission heard statements from several representatives of States Parties, National Human Rights Institutions, Inter-governmental organizations, non-governmental organizations and other invited guests.

7. The representatives of the National Human Rights Institutions and the non-governmental organizations expressed their deep concern about the human rights situation prevailing in numerous African States despite the efforts made by the Commission through its protection and promotional mandates. The said member States exercised their right of reply.

8. The members of the Commission presented their inter-sessional activity reports. The Special Rapporteur on Prisons and Detention Conditions in Africa, Dr Vera Mlangazuwa Chirwa also presented her report, as did the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Women in Africa, Dr Angela Melo.

9. The African Commission granted affiliate status to the following National Human Rights Institutions:

10. The Commission also granted observer status to the following non-governmental organizations:

11. The African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies in collaboration with Human Rights Institute of South Africa (HURISA) and the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, held an NGO Forum from the 29th April to 1st May 2002 in Pretoria, South Africa. The valuable contributions which emanated from the Forum were included in the deliberations of the 31st Ordinary Session.

12. In accordance with Article 62 of the African Charter, Cameroon, Lesotho and Mauritania presented their Initial Reports, whilst Togo presented its first Periodic Report.

13. In the context of its promotional activities, the Commission confirmed its decision to organise seminars on the following topics:

Reports were presented on the Workshop on the Prevention of Torture and Ill-Treatment in Africa and the meeting of the Working Group on the Freedom of expression.

14. The African Commission considered altogether twenty-four (24) communications. Of those 24 Communications, the Commission was seized of eight (8) new Communications and delivered decisions on inadmissibility on two (2). One Communication was withdrawn by the Complainant. Thirteen (13) Communications were deliberated upon and deferred to the 32nd Ordinary Session for further consideration.

15. The African Commission expressed satisfaction with the number of participants who attended its 31st Ordinary Session; there were one hundred and forty-eight (148) delegates from thirty-six (36) States Parties; twenty-one (21) participants from eight (8) National Human Rights Institutions, two hundred and eight (208) participants from fifty-one (51) African and International Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) and eighty (80) other invitees. There were a total of four hundred and sixty-one (461)participants.

16. The Commission has decided to hold its 32nd Ordinary Session in Banjul The Gambia from 17th to 31st October 2002; its 33rd Ordinary Session in Côte d’Ivoire; its 34th Ordinary Session in Banjul, The Gambia and the 35th Ordinary Session in Cameroon.

17. The Commission adopted the following resolutions:

18. The Commission adopted its 15th Annual Activity Report.

19. The African Commission expressed its sincere thanks and deep appreciation to the government of South Africa for the facilities put at their disposal and for the generous welcome and hospitality they had received, which all contributed to the successful outcome of this 31st Ordinary Session.

20. The 31st Ordinary Session was closed on May 16th 2002 by Honourable Dr Penuell Maduna, Minister of Justice and Constitutional Development of the Republic of South Africa.

21. The Chairperson of the Commission held a press conference immediately after the closing ceremony.

Done in Pretoria, South Africa, May 16th 2002.