75: Résolution sur la Situation des Droits de l'Homme au Togo

    La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples, réunie en sa 37ème Session ordinaire tenue du 27 avril au 11 mai 2005 à Banjul, Gambie ;

    Rappelant que, suite au décès de feu Gnassingbe Eyadema, ancien Président de la République du Togo, le pays a été plongé dans une crise constitutionnelle ;

    Conscient du fait que, suite aux efforts concertés de l’Union Africaine, de la CEDEAO et de la communauté internationale, les autorités de la République du Togo ont rétabli l’ordre constitutionnel et accepté d’organiser des élections présidentielles libres et démocratiques ;

    Préoccupée par les évènements intervenus au Togo avant, pendant et après les élections présidentielles et caractérisés par la violence qui a résulté en un flux de personnes déplacées et de réfugiés dans les pays voisins, à l’instabilité au Togo et à la violation des droits fondamentaux des individus et des citoyens au Togo ;

    Préoccupée par le fait que les élections présidentielles ont été caractérisées par des irrégularités, d’où le doute sur l’impartialité du processus électoral et ses résultats, ce qui a conduit à la violence et à la répression par les forces de sécurité gouvernementales ;

    Rappelant que le Président de l’Union Africaine a entrepris des consultations avec certains leaders politiques en vue de promouvoir le respect des résultats des élections et la nécessité de mettre en place un Gouvernement d’Union nationale ;

    EXHORTE le Président nouvellement élu, Faure Gnassingbe, de former un Gouvernement d’Union Nationale, tel que convenu à Abuja, le 25 avril 2005 ;

    EXHORTE le Gouvernement à prendre des mesures en vue de créer des conditions favorables au retour volontaire des personnes déplacées et de plus de 15 000 réfugiés qui ont fui dans les pays voisins, suite aux élections présidentielles.

    DECIDE d’envoyer une mission d’établissement des faits au Togo pour enquêter sur les violations des droits de l’homme qui ont été commises avant, pendant et après les élections présidentielles.

    Adopté à Banjul, Gambie, le 11 mai 2005

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

75: Resolution on the Human Rights Situation in Togo

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights meeting at its 37th Ordinary Session held from the 27th of April to the 11th of May 2005 in Banjul, The Gambia:

    Recalling that following the death of the late Gnassingbe Eyadema, former President of the Republic of Togo, the country was plunged into a constitutional crisis;

    Aware that following concerted efforts of the African Union, the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) and the international community, the authorities in the Republic of Togo accepted to conduct free and fair presidential elections;

    Concerned that events in Togo prior, during and after the presidential election were characterized by violence which resulted in the outflow Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and of refugees into neighbouring countries, instability and violation of fundamental and basic rights of individuals and citizens in Togo;

    Concerned that the presidential election was characterized by irregularities which call to question the integrity of the electoral process and its results, both of which have created conditions for violation of human rights in the wake of the violence and its suppression by government security forces;

    Recalling that the current Chairperson of the African Union undertook consultations with some of the Togolese political leaders with a view to promoting respect for the outcome of the elections and the need to establish a government of national unity;

    Calls on the newly elected President, Faure Gnassingbe, to form a government of national unity as agreed in Abuja on the 25 April 2005;

    Calls on the Government of Togo to create conducive conditions for the voluntary return of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) and the more than 15,000 refugees who have fled to the neighbouring countries in the aftermath of the presidential elections;

    Decides to send a fact-finding mission to Togo to investigate the violations of human rights which occurred prior, during and after the presidential elections.


    Adopted in Banjul, the Gambia on 11 May 2005.

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights