38ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

Communiqué Final de la 35ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

1.  La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (CADHP) a tenu sa 38ème Session Ordinaire à Banjul, République de Gambie, du 21 novembre au 5 décembre 2005 sous la présidence de la Commissaire Salamata Sawadogo.

2.  Ont participé à cette Session les Membres suivants :

3. Comme à l’accoutumée, la Communauté des Organisations Non Gouvernementales s’est réunie du 18 au 20 novembre, en prélude à la 38ème session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’homme et des Peuples, en vue d’apporter sa contribution aux travaux de ladite session.

4. Dans son allocution de bienvenue, la Présidente de la Commission Africaine, Mme Salamata Sawadogo, a exprimé, au nom des Membres de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et en son nom propre, sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement de la Gambie pour avoir bien voulu abriter la 38ème Session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine. Elle a souhaité la bienvenue aux quatre nouveaux commissaires ainsi qu’à tous les participants à la Session dont la présence témoigne, une fois de plus, de leur engagement à la cause des droits de l’homme en Afrique. Elle a également salué le travail entrepris par les Membres de la Commission Africaine dont le mandat a pris fin. Concernant la situation des droits de l’homme en Afrique, la Présidente s’est félicitée des évolutions positives constatées dans certains Etats Parties ; cependant elle a invité tous les acteurs à accroître leur vigilance car la situation demeure précaire dans d’autres Etats. La Présidente a également adressé, au nom de tous les Membres de la CADHP, leurs remerciements et félicitations à Monsieur Germain Baricako, qui, après 12 années au service du Secrétariat de la Commission Africaine, est appelé à d’autres fonctions. Enfin, à sa remplaçante, Madame Adwoa Coleman, la Présidente a formulé des vœux de réussite.

5. Son Excellence Madame Ngendahayo Françoise, Ministre des Droits de la Personne Humaine de la République du Burundi, a prononcé une allocution  au nom des Etat Parties présents à la 38ème session Ordinaire. Après avoir exprimé sa gratitude au peuple et au gouvernement de la GAMBIE, S. E. Madame la Ministre a salué les progrès réalisés par la Commission Africaine en dépit des nombreux obstacles auxquels elle a été confrontée. Elle a exhorté les Etats membres à ratifier les différents instruments juridiques en vue d’assurer la jouissance effective des droits humains sur le continent. Elle a indiqué que la situation des droits de l’homme dans la plupart des Etats membres demeure fragile. C’est pourquoi, a t-elle dit, la Commission Africaine et les acteurs de la société civile doivent poursuivre leur travail de promotion des droits de l’homme et   assister les Etats membres en vue d’y améliorer la situation des droits humains.

6.  Madame Hannah Forster, Directrice Exécutive du Centre pour la Démocratie et des Etudes sur les Droits de l’Homme, s’est adressée à l’auditoire en qualité de Représentante de la communauté des ONG présentes à la 38ème session ordinaire. Elle a évoqué la tenue du Forum des ONG en prélude aux assises de cette session dont les conclusions ont été soumises à la Commission Africaine. Par ailleurs, Mme Forster s’est félicitée de l’élection des nouveaux membres de la Commission Africaine et a salué les membres sortants pour leur contribution significative à la promotion et à la protection des droits de l’homme sur notre continent. Enfin, elle a encouragé les Etats membres à ratifier le Protocole portant création de la Cour Africaine ainsi que le Protocole relatif aux droits de la femme dont l’entrée vigueur est imminente. 

7.  La session a été officiellement ouverte par Son Excellence Monsieur Sheikh Tidian Hydara, Secrétaire d’Etat à la Justice et Garde des Sceaux de la République de Gambie. Après avoir souhaité la bienvenue à tous les participants à la 38ème Session ordinaire, l’Honorable Secrétaire d’Etat a exprimé sa gratitude à la Commission Africaine ainsi qu’à son Secrétariat pour le travail accompli dans le cadre de l’organisation de cette session et des missions qui lui sont assignées. Il a par ailleurs réitéré l’engagement de la Gambie à soutenir la Commission Africaine et a exhorté les Etats à ratifier les Protocoles relatifs à la Cour Africaine et aux droits de la Femme en Afrique. Aux différents partenaires de la CADHP, il a demandé de continuer à apporter leur contribution en vue de donner un plus grand impact au travail de promotion et de protection des droits humains sur le continent. Après avoir félicité les 4 Membres de la Commission Africaine nouvellement élus et formulé ses vœux de réussite aux assises, l’honorable Secrétaire d’Etat a déclaré ouverte la 38ème Session ordinaire.

 8. Conformément à l’article 39 de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et l’article 16 du Règlement Intérieur de la Commission Africaine, les Membres de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples nouvellement élus, par la Conférence des Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine, ont prêté serment au cours de la cérémonie d’ouverture. Il s’agit de :

9. Conformément aux dispositions de l’article 42 de la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et l’article 17 du Règlement Intérieur de Commission Africaine, les Commissaires ci-après ont été réélus au Bureau :

 10. Au cours de la Session, la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a entendu les déclarations relatives à la situation des droits de l’homme en Afrique de plusieurs Délégués des Etats Parties, de Représentants d’Organisations Intergouvernementales, d’Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme ainsi que des Organisations Non-Gouvernementales.

11. Ont participé à la session vingt deux (22) Etats Parties, neuf (9) Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme, six (6) Organisations Internationales, cent trente cinq (135) Organisations Non Gouvernementales Africaines et Internationales ainsi que d’autres invités, faisant un total de deux cent quatre vingt deux (282) participants.

 12. La République d’Afrique du Sud a présenté son premier Rapport Périodique conformément à l’article 62 de la Charte Africaine. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a examiné ledit rapport et adopté les Observations Conclusives y afférentes.

 13.   Les membres de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples ont présenté leurs rapports sur les activités menées au cours de l’intersession écoulée. Les Rapporteurs spéciaux ont également présenté leurs rapports.

 14.   La Commission Africaine a octroyé le statut d'observateur à douze (12) Organisations Non Gouvernementales ci-après:

 Ce qui porte à trois cent quarante deux (342) le nombre d’organisations non gouvernementales jouissant du statut d’observateur auprès de la Commission Africaine.

15.   Les Membres de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples ont adopté les rapports de mission de promotion en République Centrafricaine, en Mauritanie, à Sao Tomé et Principe, en Guinée Bissau, aux Seychelles et au Botswana, le Rapport de mission de la Rapporteure Spéciale sur les droits de la Femme à Djibouti et au Soudan, le rapport de mission du Rapporteur spécial sur les Réfugiés, Demandeurs d’asile et Personnes déplacées en Afrique au Sénégal ainsi que les rapports de mission du Groupe de travail sur les Populations/Communautés autochtones au Botswana et en Namibie.

16.   les Membres de la Commission Africaine ont également adopté les Rapports des 35ème, 36ème, 37ème et 38ème sessions ordinaires.

17.   La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a réitéré sa décision d’organiser en 2006 le séminaire sur le thème suivant :

18. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme à célébré, le 25 novembre 2005, l’entrée en vigueur du Protocole à la Charte Africaine relatif aux droits de la Femme en Afrique.

19. Les Membres de la Commission Africaine, les Délégués des Etats Parties, les Représentants des Organisations Internationales ainsi que les Organisations non Gouvernementales ont rendu un vibrant hommage, lors de la séance publique du 26 novembre 2005, à Germain BARICAKO, Secrétaire de la CADHP, qui est appelé à d’autres fonctions.

20. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a adopté dix sept (17) Résolutions relatives à:

21. La Commission Africaine a examiné cinquante quatre (54) communications. Elle a pris des décisions de saisine sur treize (13) communications. Elle a pris des décisions sur la recevabilité au sujet de quatre (4) communications. Elle a par ailleurs examiné et décidé de radier deux (2) communications de son rôle. Pour diverses raisons, les autres communications ont été renvoyées à la 39ème session ordinaire.

22. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples a examiné et pris note du Rapport du Secrétaire de la Commission Africaine relatif à la situation financière et administrative du Secrétariat ainsi qu’à la construction du siège.

23. La Commission Africaine a décidé de tenir sa 39ème session ordinaire du 9 au 23 mai 2006 à Banjul, Gambie.

24. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples exprime ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement gambien, pour les facilités mises à sa disposition, l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité dont les participants ont fait l’objet et qui ont contribué au bon déroulement et au succès des travaux de sa 38ème Session Ordinaire. 

25. La clôture de la 38ème Session Ordinaire a eu lieu ce 5 décembre 2005 à Banjul, République de la Gambie.

26. La Présidente de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples tiendra une Conférence de Presse après la cérémonie de clôture.

 Fait à Banjul, Gambie, le 5 décembre 2005

38th Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communiqué of the 38th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1.    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (ACHPR), held its 38th Ordinary Session in Banjul, Republic of The Gambia, from 21st November to 5th December 2005, chaired by Commissioner Salamata Sawadogo.

2.    The following Members participated at this Session:

3.    As is customary, the Non Governmental Organisations met prior to the 38th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights from the 18th to 20th November, in order to contribute to the deliberations of the said Session.

4.    In her welcoming statement, the Chairperson of the African Commission, Mrs. Salamata Sawadogo, expressed, on behalf of the Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and on her own behalf, her profound gratitude to the Government of The Gambia for kindly hosting the 38th Ordinary Session of the African Commission. She welcomed the four new Commissioners and all the participants to the Session whose presence was, once again, a testimony of their commitment to the cause of human rights in Africa. She also commended the work done by the Members of the African Commission whose mandate had ended. Concerning the human rights situation in Africa, the Chairperson applauded the positive developments observed in certain State Parties; however, she invited all actors to increase their vigilance as the situation remained precarious in other States. The Chairperson also extended, on behalf of all the Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, their appreciation and congratulations to Mr. Germain Baricako, who, after 12 years of service in the Secretariat of the African Commission, has been called to other duties. Finally, the Chairperson welcomed Ms. Adwoa Coleman, his replacement, and wished her success.

5.    The Minister of Human Rights of the Republic of Burundi, the Honourable Mrs. Françoise Ngendahayo, delivered a statement on behalf of the State Parties present at the 38th Ordinary Session. After having expressed her gratitude to the people and Government of The Gambia, Her Excellency the Minister commended the progress made by the African Commission despite the numerous challenges that it had had to face. She urged Member States to ratify the various legal instruments to ensure the effective enjoyment of human rights on the Continent. She pointed out that the human rights situation in most of the Member States remains fragile. It is for this reason, she said, that the African Commission and the actors of civil society needed to persevere in their work of promoting human rights and assisting the Member States so as to improve the human rights situation.

6.    Mrs. Hannah Forster, Executive Director of the African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies, addressed the audience in her capacity as the representative of the NGO Community present at the 38th Ordinary Session. She alluded to the NGO Forum which had been held as a prelude to the deliberations of this Session and whose conclusions would be submitted to the African Commission. Furthermore, Mrs. Forster lauded the election of the new Members of the African Commission and commended the outgoing Members for their significant contribution to the promotion and protection of human rights on our Continent. Finally, she urged the Member States to ratify the Protocol establishing the African Court as well as the Protocol to the African Charter on the Rights of Women in Africa which was due to enter into force.  

7.    In his opening address Honourable Sheikh Tijan Hydara, Attorney General and Secretary of State for Justice of the Republic of The Gambia, welcomed all the participants to the 38th Ordinary Session. He expressed his gratitude to the African Commission and to its Secretariat for the task accomplished in organising the Session and in executing the missions assigned to it. He went on to reiterate The Gambia’s commitment to supporting the African Commission and urged the Member States to ratify the Protocols relating to the African Court and to the Rights of Women in Africa. He urged the different partners of the African Commission to continue giving their support towards making a greater impact on the work of promoting and protecting human rights on the Continent. After having congratulated the four (4) newly-elected Members of the African Commission and expressed his good wishes for a successful outcome of the deliberations, the Honourable Minister declared the 38th Ordinary Session open. 

8.    In conformity with Article 39 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and Rule 16 of the Rules of Procedure of the African Commission, the Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, newly-elected by the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, took their oath of office during the opening ceremony. They are -:

9.    In conformity with the provisions of Article 42 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and Rule 17 of the Rules of Procedure of the African Commission, the following Commissioners were re-elected to the Bureau -:

10.     During the Session, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights heard statements relating to the human rights situation in Africa from several Delegates of State Parties, Representatives of Intergovernmental Organisations and of National Human Rights Institutions and Non-Governmental Organisations.

 11.     Twenty two (22) State Parties, nine (9) National Human Rights Institutions, six (6) Intergovernmental Organizations, one hundred and thirty five (135) African and International Non Governmental Organizations and other invitees participated in the Session, making a total of two hundred and eighty two (282) participants. 

 12.     The Republic of South Africa presented its Periodic Report in conformity with Article 62 of the African Charter. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights considered the said Report and adopted Concluding Observations relating thereto.

 13.     The Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights presented Reports on the activities they had carried out during the intersession period. The Special Rapporteurs and the Chairpersons of the Working Groups also presented their Reports. 

 14.     The African Commission granted Observer Status to the following twelve (12) Non Governmental Organisations -:

 This brings the number of Non-Governmental organisations with Observer Status with the African Commission to three hundred and forty two (342).

 15.     The Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights adopted the Reports of promotional missions to the Central African Republic, Mauritania, Sao Tomé and Principe, Guinea Bissau, Seychelles and Botswana; the Report of the Missions of the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Women in Africa to Djibouti and Sudan; the Report of the Mission of the Special Rapporteur on Refugees, Asylum Seekers and Internally Displaced Persons in Africa to Senegal, as well as the Reports of the Missions of the Working Group on the Indigenous Populations/Communities to Botswana and Namibia. 

 16.     The Members of the African Commission also adopted the Reports of the 35th, 36th, 37th and 38th Ordinary Sessions. 

 17.     The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights reiterated its decision to organise seminars on the following topics in 2006 -:

18.     On 25th November 2005, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, in collaboration with Civil Society organisations attending the 38th Ordinary Session, celebrated the entry into force of the Protocol to the African Charter on the Rights of Women in Africa.

19.     During the public session, on 26th November 2005, Members of the African Commission, Delegates of State Parties and Representatives of International and Non-Governmental organisations, paid vibrant homage to Germain Baricako, Secretary to the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, who has been appointed to another duty station. 

20.     The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights adopted seventeen (17) Resolutions on -:

21.     The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights considered fifty four (54) Communications, including thirteen (13) decisions on seizure and four (4) decisions on admissibility. It further considered and decided to remove two (2) Communications from its list of Communications. For various reasons, the rest of the communications were deferred to the 39th Ordinary Session for further consideration.

22.     The African Commission considered and took note of the Report of the Secretary to the African Commission, relating to the financial and administrative situation of the Secretariat and to the construction of the headquarters.

23.     The African Commission decided to hold its 39th Ordinary Session from the 9th to 23rd May 2006 in Banjul, The Gambia.

24.     The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights expresses its sincere appreciation and profound gratitude to the Government of The Gambia for the facilities placed at its disposal and for the warm welcome and hospitality accorded to the participants, all of which contributed to the excellent outcome and success of the deliberations of its 38th Ordinary Session.

25.     The closing ceremony of the 38th Ordinary Session took place on the 5th December 2005 in Banjul, Republic of The Gambia.

26.     The Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights held a Press Conference after the closing ceremony. 


Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 5th December 2005