41ème Session ordinaire: Communiqué final

     Communiqué Final de la 41ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples 

    1. La Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (Commission Africaine) a tenu sa 41ème Session ordinaire à Accra, République du Ghana, du 16 au 30 mai 2007, sous la présidence de S.E. Mme Salamata Sawadogo.

    2. Ont participé à la Session les membres suivants :

    • Commissaire Yassir Sid Ahmed El Hassan, Vice-président ;
    • Commissaire Kamel Rezag-Bara ;
    • Commissaire Musa Ngary Bitaye ;
    • Commissaire Reine Alapini-Gansou ;
    • Commissaire Mumba Malila ;
    • Commissaire Angela Melo ;
    • Commissaire Sanji Mmasenono Monageng ;
    • Commissaire Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga ;
    • Commissaire Faith Pansy Tlakula

    3. L’Honorable Kwame Osei Prempeh, Procureur général adjoint et Ministre de la Justice adjoint de la République du Ghana, a souhaité la bienvenue à tous les participants à la cérémonie d’ouverture à laquelle ont également assisté des représentants des Nations Unies (NU), de la Communauté économique des Etats de l’Afrique de l’Ouest (CEDEAO) et d’autres organisations internationales, et des membres du gouvernement de la République du Ghana, ainsi que du corps diplomatique et du corps consulaire. Dans un discours rappelant l’apogée du panafricanisme, l’Honorable Kwame Osei Prempeh a déclaré que la 41ème Session ordinaire, actuellement tenue à Accra, Ghana, offrait à ‘Afrique une occasion d’engager un dialogue sur la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme. Il a indiqué que ce forum représentait une opportunité unique de partager des expériences, de tisser de nouveaux liens de partenariat, de renforcer les anciens et de renouveler l’engagement de l’Afrique dans la cause des droits de l’homme.

    4. S.E. Mme Salamata Sawadogo, Présidente de la Commission Africaine, dans son allocution de bienvenue, a exprimé sa gratitude au gouvernement et au peuple du Ghana pour avoir bien voulu abriter la 41ème Session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine. Elle a également félicité S.E. Dr. John Kufuor, Président de la République du Ghana, pour la célébration réussie du 50ème anniversaire de l’indépendance du Ghana. Elle a fait observer que c’est l’indépendance du Ghana en 1957 qui a ébranlé le colonialisme en Afrique, galvanisé et incité l’Afrique à réaliser son rêve de liberté.

    5. Elle a souligné le fait que son mandat de Présidente de la Commission Africaine arrive à son terme, que la Commission Africaine se trouve à la croisée des chemins face aux nombreux changements et défis présentant de nouvelles opportunités de promotion de la démocratie et de protection des droits de l’homme. Elle a déclaré que la Commission, en tant que première institution responsable de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme sur le continent, se sert des opportunités de changement suscitées par la quête de liberté des peuples, le désir de changement des dirigeants africains et le dynamisme de la société civile.

    6. En conclusion, elle a encouragé les Etats membres de l’UA à mettre en oeuvre les dispositions de l’Acte Constitutif de l’UA dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme sur le continent. Elle a souligné l’importance de la paix dans le processus d’intégration régionale du continent africain.

    7. S.E. Mme Julia Joiner, Commissaire aux Affaires politiques de la Commission de l’Union africaine, dans son intervention, a transmis les salutations du Président de la Commission de l’Union Africaine, le Professeur Alpha Omar Konaré, avant de déclarer que l’UA a conscience du fait que le fonctionnement efficace de la Commission Africaine est crucial pour l’actualisation de l’agenda des droits de l’homme de l’UA. En conclusion, Mme Joiner a félicité les membres de la Commission Africaine qui célébraient 20 années de travail consacrées aux droits de l’homme et elle a rendu hommage à tous les Commissaires, actuels et anciens, pour les efforts qu’ils ont déployés sans relâche en vue de garantir la jouissance des droits fondamentaux par tous les Africains.

    8. L’Honorable M. Patrick Chinamasa, Ministre de la Justice, des Affaires juridiques et parlementaires de la République du Zimbabwe, a prononcé une allocution au nom des Etats parties. Il a mis en garde contre le fait que, si la Commission Africaine célèbre les succès qu’elle a enregistrés dans le domaine des droits de l’homme, le respect universel, la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme n’en constituent pas moins un processus chargé d’innombrables défis.

    9. M. Kahinde Ajoni a fait une déclaration au nom du Comité de Coordination des Institutions nationales africaines dans lequel elle a encouragé une collaboration plus étroite entre la Commission africaine et les institutions nationaux de droits de l'homme en Afrique.

    10. Mme Hannah Forster, Directrice exécutive du Centre pour la démocratie et les études sur les droits de l’homme, s’est adressée à l’auditoire en qualité de représentante de la communauté des ONG présentes à la 41ème Session ordinaire. Elle a Exprimé les espoirs et les préoccupations que lui inspire la situation des droits de l’homme sur le Continent. Mme Forster a dit combien elle était satisfaite des relations existant entre la CADHP et les ONG qui unissent sans cesse leurs efforts dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique. Enfin, Mme Forster a loué les efforts de la Commission Africaine en réitérant la détermination et la disposition des ONG à poursuivre leur mission de protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique.

    11. La 41ème Session a été officiellement ouverte par l’Honorable Joe Ghartey, Procureur général et Ministre de la Justice de la République du Ghana, représentant S.E. Dr. John Kufour, Président de la République du Ghana. Il a souhaité la bienvenue à tous les participants au Ghana, en particulier à l’occasion du Jubilée d’or. Il a rappelé le mandat confié à la Commission par la Charte Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples et a fait observer que la 41ème Session de la Commission se tenait au Ghana à un moment où l’Afrique enregistre des changements démocratiques. Il a rappelé le principe fondamental d’égalité et de liberté des peuples et a félicité la Commission pour l’excellence de son travail au fil des ans tout en remarquant qu’il était temps de faire le point. Il a fait observer qu’une unité et une intégration durables ne pourront être atteintes que sur une plateforme de paix véritable où chaque Africain sera le gardien d’un autre et le respect des droits de l’homme fondamentaux pour tous. Concernant spécifiquement la ratification par le Ghana du Protocole à la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples relatif aux droits de la femme en Afrique, le Procureur général a pris l’engagement que le Ghana prendra des mesures immédiates pour y procéder.

    12. La Commission a ajourné sa réunion le premier jour pour rendre une visite de courtoisie au Président de la République du Ghana. A la Présidence, S.E. Madame Salamata Sawadogo a remercié le Président pour avoir invité la Commission à tenir cette Session, à l’occasion du 50ème anniversaire du Ghana.

    S.E. le Président John Kufour a loué les efforts de la Commission Africaine dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme et a reconnu les difficultés auxquelles elle est encore confrontée dans l’exécution de son mandat. Il a promis que le Ghana sera toujours à l’avant-garde du soutien au travail de la Commission Africaine.

    13. Plus de quatre cent quatre-vingt-cinq (485) participants représentant trente deux (32) Etats parties, onze ( 11 ) Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme, ainsi que de nombreuses organisations internationales et intergouvernementales et des organisations non gouvernementales ont participé à la Session.

    14. Comme à l’accoutumée, les organisations non gouvernementales se sont réunies préalablement à la 41st Session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine, du 12 au 14 mai, afin de contribuer aux délibérations de la Session. Les précieuses contributions issues du Forum ont influencé les délibérations de la Commission.

    15. Parallèlement à la 41ème Session ordinaire, la Commission Africaine a organisé une série d’événements avec un échantillon de la société civile ghanéenne en marge de la Session afin de renforcer la visibilité de la Commission et de maximiser la participation des parties intéressées. Le temps fort de ces événements a été la marche de deux miles de milliers de femmes pour souligner le rôle important de la sécurisation des droits de la femme au Ghana. La Commission a également utilisé la presse, la radio et la télévision pour faire connaître ses activités. Un documentaire intitulé “Human Rights is Justice”, commandé par la Commission Africaine et le Ministère de la Justice du Ghana, a été diffusé sur la télévision ghanéenne.

    16. Le Département des Affaires politiques de la Commission de l’UA a également organisé la série d’activités suivantes préalablement à la 41ème Session, auxquelles les membres de la Commission africaine ont participé :

    • Mise en oeuvre des décisions de l’UA relatives aux droits de l’homme du 12 au 14 mai 2007
    • Institutions nationales des droits de l’homme, suivi et documentation des droits de l’homme les 15 et 16 mai 2007
    • Table ronde sur les médias en Afrique le 17 mai 2007

    17. Durant la Session, la Commission africaine a entendu des déclarations sur la situation des droits de l’homme en Afrique de plusieurs représentants d’Etats parties, de représentants d’organisations intergouvernementales, d’Institutions Nationales des Droits de l’Homme et d’Organisations non gouvernementales.

    18. Patrice Vahard, représentant le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l'homme (HCDH), a déclaré que la situation des droits de l’homme demeure encore une préoccupation globale. il a exprimé sa préoccupation devant la poursuite des violations des droits de l’homme et du droit humanitaire au Darfour. Il a observé que l’Afrique est dotée qu’avec certains des instruments régionaux des droits de l’homme les plus tournés vers l’avenir, qui peuvent être utilisés pour réaliser la paix et l’intégration, le respect de l’état de droit, de la démocratie, de la liberté, de la dignité humaine et des droits de l’homme. Il a déclaré que le Groupe d’Experts des Nations unies sur le Darfour était heureux de l’opportunité de travailler avec la Commission Africaine dans l’exploration des moyens d’assurer la protection et la sécurisation des droits du peuple du Darfour.

    19. En vertu de l’article 46 de la Charte africaine, la Commission africaine a conduit une audience spéciale sur la situation des droits de l’homme au Zimbabwe.

    20. Conformément à l’Article 62 de la Charte, les rapports initiaux du Kenya et de la Zambie et le rapport périodique du Zimbabwe ont été présentés à la Commission et examinés par elle.

    21. La Commission africaine a adopté les ‘observations conclusives’ sur les trois rapports susmentionnés et les a transmises aux Etats parties.

    22. La Présidente a présenté un rapport des activités qu’elle a menées au cours de l’intersession. Le Vice-président et les autres membres de la Commission ont également présenté les rapports de leurs activités pendant l’intersession en tant que membres de la Commission et dans le cadre de leurs mandats dans les différents mécanismes spéciaux.

    23. La Commission Africaine a octroyé le statut d’observateur aux ONG suivantes -:

    • African Women Organisation in the Diaspora (AWODO) de la Gambie ;
    • Zimbabwe Association of Doctors for Human Rights du Zimbabwe ;
    • Zimbabwe Exiles Forum d’Afrique du Sud ;
    • Federation of Women Lawyers du Kenya ;
    • Centre pour la gouvernance démocratique du Burkina Faso.

    24. Les demandes des ONG suivantes ont été renvoyées à la prochaine session :

    • SOS Kinderdorf de la Gambie ; et
    • International Displacement Monitoring Centre de Genève, en Suisse.

    25. Ceci porte à trois cent soixante sept (367) le nombre d’organisations non gouvernementales jouissant du statut d’observateur auprès de la Commission Africaine.

    26. La Commission Africaine a examiné la demande de statut d’affilié de la Commission Nationale des Droits de l’Homme et des Libertés du Cameroun et a renvoyer son examen à la prochaine session dans l’attente d’informations complémentaires sur le statut du Comité National des Droits de l’Homme et des Libertés du Cameroun qui jouit déjà du statut d’affilié auprès de la Commission.

    27. La Commission Africaine a aussi examiné et adopté les rapports suivants :

    • Rapport de la visite de promotion dans la République du Burundi ;
    • Rapport de la visite de promotion dans la République du Rwanda ;
    • Rapport de la visite de promotion dans la République de l’Ouganda ;
    • Rapport de la visite de promotion dans la République du Mali ;
    • Rapport de la mission de promotion dans la République du Burkina Faso ;
    • Rapport de la visite de promotion au Swaziland ;
    • Rapport de la mission de promotion dans la République du Cameroun ;
    • Rapport de la 39ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission ;
    • Rapport de la 40ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission ; et
    • Rapport de la 41ème Session Ordinaire de la Commission.

     28. La Commission africaine a examine et pris note des rapports suivants en vue de leur usage comme source interne d’information par la Commission:

    • Rapport de la visite d’information et de recherches du Groupe de travail de la Commission africaine sur les Populations/Communautés autochtones en Afrique en République d’Ouganda ; et
    • Rapport de la visite d’information et de recherches du Groupe de travail de la Commission africaine sur les Populations/Communautés autochtones en Afrique en République Centrafricaine.

    29. La Commission a aussi adopté un avis consultatif sur la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des populations autochtones.

    30. La Commission Africaine a réitéré sa résolution d’organiser des séminaires sur un certain nombre de sujets entrant dans le cadre de son mandat, y compris :

    • Règlement pacifique des conflits ethniques et sociaux dans une perspective des droits de l’homme
    • Formes contemporaines d’esclavage en Afrique
    • Droits à l’éducation, à la participation populaire et à l’éducation non formelle : condition essentielle du développement en Afrique
    • Droits des personnes vivant avec un handicap
    • Situation des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées
    • Islam et droits de l’homme
    • Terrorisme et droits de l’homme
    • Résolution des conflits ethniques dans un contexte de droits de l’homme
    • Droit au développement et droit à l’autodétermination
    • Séminaires à l’intention de l’armée et de la police : établissement d’une culture de paix et des droits de l’homme
    • Conférences/séminaires régionaux à l’intention des journalistes
    • Séminaire régional sur l’éducation aux droits de l’homme à l’intention des enseignants

     31. La Commission Africaine a adopté les résolutions suivantes :

    • Résolution sur les droits des personnes âgées en Afrique;
    • Résolution sur la situation des défenseurs des droits de l’Homme en Afrique;
    • Résolution sur l’opérationnalisation du cadre de coopération Nations unies - Union africaine pour le programme décennal de renforcement des capacités pour l’Union africaine;
    • Résolution sur la situation en Somalie;
    • Résolution sur le droit à la santé et sur les droits reproductifs des femmes;
    • Résolution sur la prévention e la prohibition de la torture et autres traitements ou peines cruels, inhumains et dégradants; et
    • Résolution réitérant l’importance de l’observation de l’obligation de soumettre des rapports contenue dans la Charte.

    32. La Commission Africaine a examiné soixante treize (73) communications : elle a été saisie de dix (10 ) nouvelles communications, en a déclaré huit (8) recevables, en a finalisé une (1), a examiné des demandes d’examen de trois (3) communications, a renvoyé sine die l’examen d’une (1)  communication, et en en renvoyé cinquante (50) à la prochaine session pour examen.

    33. La Commission Africaine a adopté son Vingt deuxième (21ème) Rapport d’Activités devant être présenté à la 11ème Session ordinaire du Conseil Exécutif de l’Union Africaine et au 9ème Sommet ordinaire de la Conférence des Chefs d’Etat et de Gouvernement de l’Union Africaine, prévu en juillet 2007 à Accra, Ghana.

    34. La Commission Africaine a décidé de tenir sa 42ème Session ordinaire du 14 au 28 novembre 2007, dans un lieu à déterminé.

    35. La Commission Africaine exprime ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude au gouvernement et au peuple de la République du Ghana pour l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité dont les participants ont fait l’objet et qui ont contribué au bon déroulement et au succès des travaux de la Session.

    36. La cérémonie de clôture de la Session a eu lieu le 30 mai 2007 à Accra, Ghana.

    37. La Présidente de la Commission Africaine a tenu une conférence de presse à l’issue de la cérémonie de clôture.

    Fait à Accra, Ghana, le 30 mai 2007

    Session

    Notes quotidiennes


    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

41st Ordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 41st Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission) held its 41 st Ordinary Session in Accra, Ghana, from 16 - 30 May 2007, presided over by the Chairperson of the African Commission, H.E. Mrs. Salamata Sawadogo.

2. The following Members participated at the Session:

  • Commissioner Yassir Sid Ahmed El Hassan, Vice-Chairperson;
  • Commissioner Kamel Rezag-Bara;
  • Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye;
  • Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou;
  • Commissioner Mumba Malila;
  • Commissioner Angela Melo;
  • Commissioner Sanji Mmasenono Monageng;
  • Commissioner Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga; and
  • Commissioner Faith Pansy Tlakula.

3. Honourable Kwame Osei Prempeh, Deputy Attorney General and Deputy Minister for Justice of the Republic of Ghana, welcomed the participants to the opening ceremony - which was also attended by representatives of the United Nations (UN), the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), other international organisations, members of the Government of the Republic of Ghana, as well as the Diplomatic and Consular Corps. In a speech recalling the hey day of Pan Africanism, Honourable Kwame Osei Prempeh stated that the 41 st Ordinary Session affords Africa the occasion to engage in a dialogue to promote and protect human rights. He indicated that the forum also presents a unique opportunity to share experiences, forge new bonds of partnership, strengthen old ones, and renew Africa’s commitment to the cause of human rights.

4. H.E. Mrs. Salamata Sawadogo, the Chairperson of the African Commission, in her welcome address, thanked the government and the people of Ghana for hosting the 41 st Ordinary Session of the African Commission. She also congratulated H.E. Dr. John Kufuor, the President of the Republic of Ghana, for the successful celebration of the 50 th anniversary of Ghana’s independence. She noted that it was Ghana’s independence in 1957 that broke the backbone of colonialism in Africa, galvanized and inspired Africa to realise its dream of freedom.

5. She underscored the fact that though her term as Chairperson of the African Commission is coming to an end, the African Commission is at the crossroads of many changes and challenges that are presenting new opportunities to promote democracy and protect human rights. She stated that the Commission as the premier institution responsible for the promotion and protection of human rights in the continent is making use of the opportunities of change occasioned by the peoples’ quest for freedom, African leaders’ desire for change, and the dynamism of civil society.

6. In conclusion, she encouraged Member States of the AU to implement the provisions of the Constitutive Act of the AU in the promotion and protection of human rights on the continent.

7. H.E. Mrs. Julia Joiner, the Commissioner for Political Affairs of the Commission of the African Union, in her speech, conveyed greetings from H.E. Professor Alpha Oumar Konaré, the Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union, before declaring that the AU is aware of the fact that the effective functioning of the African commission is critical for the actualisation of the AU’s human rights agenda. In conclusion, Mrs. Joiner congratulated members of the African Commission as they celebrate 20 years of human rights work, and paid a special tribute to all past and present Commissioners for their untiring efforts to guarantee the enjoyment of fundamental human rights by all Africans.

8. Honourable Mr Patrick Chinamasa, Minister of Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs of the Republic of Zimbabwe, delivered a statement on behalf of the States Parties. He however cautioned that, while the African Commission celebrates any achievements made in the area of human rights, the universal respect, promotion and protection of human rights is a process fraught with innumerable challenges.

9. Mrs Kahinde Ajoni delivered a statement on behalf of the Coordinating Committee of African National Institutions in which she encouraged closer collaboration between the African Commission and national human rights institutions in Africa.

10. Mrs. Hannah Forster, Executive Director of the African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies, addressed the session on behalf of the NGO Community. She expressed her hopes as well as her concerns on the general human rights situation on the continent; Mrs. Forster voiced her satisfaction with the relations existing between the ACHPR and the NGOs, who ceaselessly combine their efforts in the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa. Finally, Mrs. Forster lauded the efforts of the African Commission reiterating the determination and willingness of the NGOs to endure in their task of protecting human rights in Africa.

11. Honourable Joe Ghartey, Attorney General and Minister for Justice of the Republic of Ghana, on behalf of H.E. Dr. John Kufour, President of the Republic of Ghana, officially opened the 41st Session. He welcomed all the participants to Ghana especially on the occasion of its Golden Jubilee. He recalled the mandate entrusted to the Commission by the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and observed that the 41 st Session of the Commission was being held in Ghana at a time when Africa was undergoing democratic changes. He recalled the fundamental principles of equality and freedom of people and congratulated the Commission for the excellent work accomplished over the years, but noted that it was also a time of stocktaking. He observed that lasting unity and integration could only be attained on a platform of true peace where each African is the other African’s keeper, and where there is commitment to respect fundamental human rights for all. On the specific issue of Ghana’s ratification of the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the Rights of Women in Africa, the Attorney General gave an undertaking that Ghana will take immediate steps to ratify the Protocol.

12. On the first day of the session, the Commission paid a courtesy call on the President of the Republic of Ghana. H.E. Mrs. Salamata Sawadogo thanked the President for inviting the Commission to hold this Session, on the occasion of the 50 th anniversary of Ghana. H.E. President John Kuffour lauded the efforts of the African Commission to promote and protect human rights and recognised the difficulties still faced by the African Commission to execute its mandate. He pledged that Ghana would always be at the vanguard of supporting the work of the African Commission.

13. The Session was attended by over four hundred and eighty five (485) participants representing thirty two (32) State Parties, eleven (11) National Human Rights Institutions, and several African and International intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations.

14. As is customary, the non-governmental organisations met, prior to the 41 st Ordinary Session of the African Commission, from the 12 th to 14 th May, in order to contribute to the deliberations of the Session. The valuable contributions which emanated from the Forum influenced the deliberations of the Commission.

15. Alongside the 41st Ordinary Session, the African Commission organised a series of events, with members of Ghanaian civil society, around the margins of the Session, in order to contribute to the visibility of the Commission and maximise the participation of stakeholders. The highlight of these events was a two-mile march by hundreds of women to underscore the important role of securing the rights of women in Ghana. The Commission also made use of the press, radio and television to publicise its activities. A documentary entitled “Human Rights is Justice,” commissioned by the African Commission and the Ministry of Justice of Ghana was broadcasted over Ghana Television.

16. The Department of Political Affairs of the Commission of the African Union also organised the following activities prior to the 41st Session, in which members of the African Commission participated:

  • Implementation of AU Decisions on Human Rights, from the 12 to 14 May 2007
  • National Human Rights Institutions and the Monitoring and Documentation of Human Rights, on the 15 and 16 May 2007
  • Roundtable Discussion on Media in Africa, on 17 May 2007

17. During the Session, the African Commission listened to statements relating to the human rights situation in Africa from representatives of State Parties, intergovernmental organisations, National Human Rights Institutions, and non-governmental organisations.

18. Mr Patrice Vahard, speaking on behalf of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, said that the situation of human rights still remains a global concern. He expressed deep concern over the ongoing human rights and humanitarian law violations in Darfur. He observed that Africa has some of the most forward-looking regional human rights instruments, which can be used to achieve peace, respect for the rule of law, democracy, freedom, human dignity and human rights. He welcomed the opportunity for the UN Group of Human Rights Experts on Darfur to work with the African Commission for the protection of the rights of the people of Darfur.

19. The African Commission conducted a special hearing on the situation of human rights in Zimbabwe in accordance with Article 46 of the Charter.

20. In conformity with Article 62 of the Charter, the initial reports of Kenya and Zambia and the periodic report of Zimbabwe were presented and considered by the Commission.

21. The African Commission adopted ‘Concluding Observations’ on the three reports mentioned above and transmitted them to the State Parties.

22. The Chairperson presented a report of her intersession activities. The Vice-Chairperson and other members of the Commission also presented reports of their intersession activities, including reports of activities they undertook within the framework of the mandate of their various special mechanisms.

23. The African Commission granted Observer Status to the following NGOs -:

  • African Women Organisation in the Diaspora (AWODO), of The Gambia;
  • Zimbabwe Association of Doctors for Human Rights, of Zimbabwe;
  • Zimbabwe Exiles Forum, of South Africa;
  • Federation of Women Lawyers, of Kenya; and
  • Centre for Democratic Governance of Burkina Faso.
24. The applications of the following NGOs were deferred to the next session:
  • SOS Kinderdorf, of The Gambia; and
  • International Displacement Monitoring Centre, of Switzerland.

25.    This brings the number of NGOs with Observer Status with the African Commission to three hundred and sixty seven (367).

26.    The African Commission considered the application for Affiliate Status of the National Commission for Human Rights and Freedoms of Cameroon and deferred the matter to the next session pending further information on the status of the National Human Rights and Freedoms Committee of Cameroon- which already has an affiliate status with the Commission.

27.    The African Commission also considered and adopted the following reports:

  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Burundi;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Rwanda;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Uganda;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Mali;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Burkina Faso;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Kingdom of Swaziland;
  • Report of the Promotion Mission to the Republic of Cameroon;
  • Report of the 39 th Ordinary Session of the Commission;
  • Report of the 40 th Ordinary Session of the Commission; and
  • Report of the 41 st Ordinary Session of the Commission.

28.    The African Commission considered and took note of the following reports with a view to be used as internal information for the Commission:

  • Report of the Information and Research visit of the African Commission’s Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa to the Republic of Uganda; and
  • Report of the Information and Research visit of the African Commission’s Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa to the Central African Republic.

29.    The Commission also adopted an Advisory Opinion on the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Populations.

30.    The African Commission reiterated its intention to organise seminars on a number of issues that are relevant to its mandate. These are-

  • Peaceful Settlement of Ethnic and Social Conflicts from a Human Rights Perspective;
  • Contemporary Forms of Slavery in Africa;
  • The Right to Education, Popular Participation, and Non-formal Education: An Essential Condition for Development in Africa;
  • The Rights of Persons with Disabilities;
  • The Situation of Refugees and Internally Displaced Persons;
  • Islam and Human Rights;
  • Terrorism and Human Rights;
  • Ethnic Conflict Resolution in a Human Rights Context;
  • Right to Development and the Right to Self-Determination;
  • Military and Police Seminars: Building a Culture of Peace and Human Rights;
  • Regional Conferences/ Seminar for Journalists; and
  • Regional Human Rights Education Seminar for Teachers.

31.    The African Commission adopted the following Resolutions:

  • Resolution on the rights of older persons in Africa;
  • Resolution on the situation of human rights defenders in Africa;
  • Resolution on the operationalisation of the United Nations – African Union Cooperation: framework for the Ten Year Capacity Building Programme for the African Union;
  • Resolution on the situation in Somalia;
  • Resolution on the health and reproductive rights of women;
  • Resolution on the prevention and prohibition of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment; and
  • Resolution reiterating the importance of compliance with reporting obligations under the African Charter.

32.    The African Commission considered Seventy three (73) communications; it was seized with ten (10) new communications, declared eight (8) admissible, finalised one (1), considered requests for review on three (3), deferred sine die consideration of one (1), and deferred fifty (50) to the next session for further consideration.

33.    The African Commission adopted its Twenty Second (22 nd) Activity Report, which will be submitted to the 11 th Ordinary Session of the Executive Council of the African Union and the 9 th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the African Union, which is scheduled to take place in June/July 2007 in Accra, Ghana.

34.    The African Commission decided to hold its 42 nd Ordinary Session from 14 – 28 November 2007, at a venue to be specified later.

35.    The African Commission expresses its sincere appreciation and profound gratitude to the Government and people of the Republic of Ghana for the warm welcome and hospitality accorded to the participants, all of which contributed to the excellent outcome and success of the deliberations of the Session.

36.    The closing ceremony of the Session took place on the 30 th May 2007 in Accra, Ghana.

37.    The Chairperson of the African Commission held a Press Conference after the closing ceremony.

Done in Accra, Ghana, 30 May 2007


Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights