120: Resolution on the Renewal of Mandate and Appointment of the Chairperson and Members of the Follow-up Committee on the Implementation of the Robben Island Guidelines

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission or ACHPR) meeting at its 42nd Ordinary Session held from 15 - 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo:

    Recalling its mandate to promote human and peoples’ rights and ensure their protection in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

    Recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.61 (XXXII)02 on the creation of the Follow-up Committee on the Implementation of the Robben Island Guidelines, adopted at its 32nd Ordinary Session from 17 - 23 October 2003 which took place in Banjul, The Gambia, and which also defined its mandate;

    Recalling the Robben Island Guidelines and Measures for the prohibition and prevention of torture and other cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment in Africa which were endorsed by the Assembly of Heads of States and Government of the African Union in July 2002;

    Further recalling Article 5 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR), Article 7 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) stipulating that no one shall be subjected to torture, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment and Article 2 (1) and 16 (1) of the Convention Against Torture (CAT) calling upon each State to take effective measures to prevent acts of torture and other acts of cruel, inhuman or degrading treatment or punishment in any territory under its jurisdiction;

    Noting with appreciation the accomplishment of the Follow-up Committee since the establishment of this mechanism;

    Considering the necessity to allow the Follow-up Committee to continue to carry out its mandate and address urgent issues falling within this mandate;

    Further considering that the mandate of the Chair of the Follow-up Committee, Commissioner Sanji Mmasenono Monageng came to an end on 28 November 2007;

    Decides to appoint Commissioner Dupe Catherine Atoki as Chairperson of the Follow-up Committee for a period of two years effective 28 November 2007;

    Further appoints the following experts as members for the same period of time:

    • Mr Jean-Baptiste Niyizurugero – Vice Chairperson
    • Mrs. Hannah Forster - member
    • Ms. Leila Zerrougui – member
    • Ms Karen McKenzie – member
    • Mr Malick Sow - member

    Done in Brazzaville, Republic of Congo, 28 November 2007.


    Special Mechanism: Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa

    Related Resolutions

    Adopted Resolutions


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2019 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights