Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga

Activities as Commissaire


    Pendant la période en considération, j'ai mené les activités suivantes :

    1. ou 25 janvier au 3 février 2009, j'ai eu le privilège de représenter la Présidente de la Commission africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples aux réunions des organes politiques de l'Union africaine suivants :

    i. Le Comité des Représentants permanents ;

    ii. Le Conseil exécutif des ministres ;

    iii. la Conférence des Chefs d'Etat et de Gouvernement qui se sont déroulées à Addis-Abeba, Ethiopie. 

    J'ai présenté le 25e Rapport d'activités de la Commission africaine à la Conférence de l'Union africaine. Le Conseil exécutif a adopté le budget de la Commission africaine pour 2009 et approuve une nouvelle structure de recrutement au Secrétariat de la Commission africaine. Ces deux décisions visaient à renforcer les capacités de la Commission africaine dans l'exécution de son mandat. Je souhaite réitérer, une fois encore, l'appel lancé par la Commission pour être dotée de ressources adéquates.

    2. Du 1er au 8 mars 2009, j'ai effectué une visite de promotion dans la République des Seychelles. Il s'agissait d'une mission de suivi de celle qu'avait effectuée la Commission africaine en aout 2004. Le rapport de la mission sera présenté à la Commission africaine lorsqu'elle se réunira ultérieurement en séance privée.

    3. Le 20 mars 2009, j'ai présenté un document à une conférence organisée conjointement par l'East African Civil Society Organizations' Network et la Coalition for an Effective African Human Rights Court à Arusha, Tanzanie, sur le thème "Renforcement des droits de l'homme à travers les tribunaux régionaux et sous-régionaux en Afrique". Mon expose présentait le système et les mécanismes africains des droits de l'homme aux représentants des organisations de la société civile aux cinq Etats membres de la Communauté de l'Afrique orientale : Burundi, Kenya, Ouganda, Rwanda et Tanzanie, avec un accent particulier sur les tribunaux sous régionaux, les juridictions des droits de l'homme et l'accès des individus et des ONG à ces tribunaux.

    4. Du 30 mars au 3 avril 2009, j'ai participé à la 6e Session extraordinaire de la Commission africaine, convoquée pour expédier les affaires pendantes comme les communications et les rapports de mission en retard.

    5. Je souhaite préciser que, pendant cette période, je n'ai pas été en mesure d'effectuer une mission de promotion dans la République du Rwanda car cette mission coïncidait avec la tenue de la 6e Session extraordinaire susmentionnée.

    Je souhaite remercier le Gouvernement de la République du Rwanda pour son invitation à effectuer la mission. Je pense que la Commission pourra entreprendre ladite mission à des dates appropriées mutuellement convenues.

    6. Je suis heureux de constater que, à la suite de ma mission de promotion au Botswana en 2005, au cours de laquelle j'avais dispense une formation sur les rapports des Etats en vertu de la Charte africaine, la République du Botswana a soumis son Rapport initial qui sera examiné par la Commission au cours de la prochaine session.

    7. Permettez-moi de saisir cette opportunité pour exprimer mon regret que, pendant toute la durée de mon mandat en qualité de Commissaire Rapporteur, responsable de la promotion dans la République de l'Erythrée, je n'ai pas pu effectuer de mission de promotion dans cet Etat partie à la Charte africaine. Cette impossibilité, qui était due à l'absence d'autorisation, signifie que la Commission n'a pas pu engager un dialogue constructif avec la République de l'Erythrée au moment où la Commission continue à recevoir des rapports sur la détérioration de la situation des droits de l'homme dans ce pays.

    Je souhaite sincèrement qu'une mission de promotion sera conduite en Erythrée dans un avenir proche. J'exhorte la République de l'Erythrée à coopérer avec la Commission pour faciliter cette mission en souffrance depuis longtemps.

    Je vous remercie.

     

    45e Session ordinaire, Banjul, Gambie.

     

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga

Activities as Commissioner


    During the period under review I undertook the following activities;

    1. Between 25 January and 3 February 2009, I was privileged to represent the Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights to the meetings of the policy organs of the African Union namely:
    • the Permanent Representatives Coucil;
    • the Executive Council of Ministers;
    • the Assembly of Heads of State and Government, which took place in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
    I presented the 25th Activity report of the African Commission to the Assembly of the African Union.
    The Executive Coucil adopted the budget of the African Commission for 2009 an approved a new structure for staffing the Secretariat of the African Commission. Both decisions were aimed to enhancing the capacity of the African Commission to discharge its mandate. I wish to reiterate, once again, the appeal by Commissioner for adequate resources.

    2. Between 1 and 8 March 2009, I undertook a promotional mission to the Republic of Seychelles. This was a follow up mission to the one undertaken by the African Commission in 2004. The report of the mission shall be presented to the African Commission when it meets later in the private session. However, I can state that one of the immediate outcomes of the mission, is that the African Commission has received a communication which was sent by an NGO based in Seychelles. The said commuication shall be brought to the Commission for seizure, when the Commission convenes in private session later this week.

    3. On 20 March 2009, I presented a paper to the 3rd East African Civil Society Organizations' Forum in conjunction with the Coalition for an Effective African Human Rights Court in Arusha, Tanzania, on the topic of "Comparative analysis of civil Society influence within the Regional Economic Communites and the African Union". My presentation introduced the African Human Rights System and Mechanisms to the representatives of Civil Society organizations from the five member states fo the East African Community, namely Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda; with special focus on the regional and sub-regional courts, their human Rights jurisdiction, and access by individuals and NGOs to those courts.

    4. Between 30 March and 3 April 2009, I participated in the 6th Extra Ordinary Session of the African Commission, which was convenved to dispatch pending matters including communications and mission reports.

    5. I wish to state that during this period, I was unable to undertake a promotional mission to the Republic of Rwanda, because it coincided with the holding of the 6th Extra Ordinary Session, which I have mentioned above.

    I wish to thank the Government of the Republic of Rwanda for the invitation extended to undertake the mission. I believe that at an appropriate mutually agreeable dates, the Commission shall undertake the said mission.

    6. I am happy to note that followng my promotional mission to Botswana sometime in 2005, and in August 2008, during which time I conducted a training on state reporting, under the African Charter, the Republic of Botswana has submitted its initial State report, after a period of 22 years, which will be examined by the Commission during its forthcoming session.

    7. Let me take this opportunity to express with regret the fact that, for the entire period of my tenure as a Commissioner Rapporteur responsible for promotion in the Republic of Eritrea, I could not undertake a promotional mission to that State Party to the African Charter. The inability, which was due to lack of cooperation by Eritrea, in spite of authorization granted in June 2006, has meant that the Commission has not been able to engage in cnstructive dialogue with the Republic of Eritrea at a time when the Commission continues to receive reports regarding the deteriorating human rights situation in that country.

    It is my sincere hope that, a promotional mission shall be conduted in Eritrea in the near future. I urge the Republic of Eritrea to cooperate with the Commission and to facilitate the long overdue mission.

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights