Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen

Activities as Commissaire


    Activité en qualité de Membre de la Commission

    1. Pendant l’intersession, de novembre 2008 à mai 2009, le Commissaire Yeung  Sik Yuen a participé  à une Conférence  organisée  par World Jurist à Kiev, Ukraine, du 23 au 26 mars 2009. Le thème de la Conférence était : ‘Indépendance du judiciaire et rôle du judiciaire dans le respect et la protection des droits de l’homme’.

    2. Pendant la Conférence, le Commissaire Yeung Sik Yuen a siégé dans un panel panafricain composé du Chief Justice du Mozambique et d’un ancien  juge  d’Afrique  du  Sud  dans un procès  fictif. Le procès  fictif portait sur la légalité de la possession et la menace liée à l’utilisation d’armes nucléaires avec un accent particulier sur la violation des droits de l’homme fondamentaux et du droit humanitaire.

    3.  Le Commissaire Yeung Sik Yuen a aussi pris part à la réunion entre les Membres de la Commission interaméricaine et son Secrétariat et la Commission  africaine et son Secrétariat  le 12 mai 2009. La réunion avait  pour  objectif  de  mieux  faire  comprendre  à  la  Commission africaine et à son Secrétariat le mandat et le fonctionnement de la Commission interaméricaine.
     

    Activités comme Président du GT

    Groupe de travail sur les Droits des Personnes agées et des Personnes handicapées


      Activités en qualité de Président du Point focal sur les droits des personnes âgées en Afrique

      4. Les personnes handicapées ont le droit d’exercer leurs droits civils, politiques, sociaux, économiques et culturels de la même manière que les  autres.  Il  est  vrai  toutefois  que  les  personnes  handicapées subissent une discrimination fondée sur les préjugés et l’ignorance de la société et qu’elles ne jouissent souvent pas des mêmes opportunités que les autres personnes.

      5. L’Article  18(4) de la Charte  africaine  des droits de l’homme  et des peuples dispose des droits des personnes âgées et des personnes handicapées. Il dispose que “Les personnes âgées ou handicapées ont également  droit à des mesures spécifiques  de protection  en rapport avec leurs besoins physiques ou moraux”. 

      6. Par  suite  de  l’établissement  d’un  Point  focal  sur  les  droits  des personnes âgées lors de la 42e Session ordinaire de la Commission africaine du 15 au 28 novembre 2007, à Brazzaville, République du Congo,  Une  réunion  consultative  s’est  tenue  à  Maurice  les  2 et 3 octobre 2008. Il a été recommandé, lors de cette réunion, que la Commission africaine établisse un Groupe de travail sur les droits des personnes  âgées et des personnes  handicapées.  Comme  les droits des personnes handicapées constituent encore un domaine imprécis, la Commission africaine a décidé d’établir un Groupe de travail sur les droits des personnes âgées et les personnes handicapées lors de sa 44e Session ordinaire, tenue à Abuja, République fédérale du Nigeria.

      7. L’établissement du Groupe de travail a été renvoyé à la 45e Session de la  Commission  afin  d’accorder  du  temps  à  la  Commission  pour identifier les experts appelés à devenir Membres du Groupe de travail. Ces Experts sont donc appelés à travailler avec le Président du Point focal et la Commissaire Reine Alapini-Gansou, Membre du Point focal, à la conception des stratégies destinées faire avancer les droits des personnes âgées et des personnes handicapées en Afrique, à plaider et à exercer des pressions en faveur des traités et des législations pertinents pour les personnes handicapées et les personnes âgées.

      8. Pendant l’intersession,  le Commissaire  Yeung Sik Yuen et la Commissaire Reine Alapini-Gansou ont placé une annonce sur le site Web de la Commission, invitant des experts à postuler pour devenir Membres du Groupe de travail proposé.

      9. Le Secrétariat de la Commission  africaine a reçu des demandes qui seront soumises à l’examen et à l’adoption de la présente session de la Commission africaine.

       

      Links


      Traduire la page

      Contactez-nous

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen

Activities as Commissioner


    Activity as Member of the Commission

    1. During the inter-Session, November 2008 to May 2009, Commissioner Yeung Sik Yuen participated in a Conference organised by the World Jurist in Kiev, Ukraine, from 23 to 26 March 2009. The theme of the Conference was; “The Independence of the Judiciary and the Role of the Judiciary to uphold and protect Human Rights.

    2. During the Conference, Commissioner Yeung Sik Yuen sat on an all African Panel composed of the Chief Justice of Mozambique and a former Judge from South Africa in a Mock Trial. The Mock Trial was based on the legality of the possession and threat of the use of nuclear weapons, with special emphasis on the violation of basic human rights and humanitarian law.

    3. Commissioner Yeung Sik Yuen also took part in the Meeting between members of the inter-American Commission and its Secretariat and the African Commission and its Secretariat, which took place on 12 May 2009. The aim of the Meeting was to enhance understanding of the mandate and operation of the Inter-American Commission to members of the African Commission and its Secretariat.
     

    Activities as Working Group Chairperson

    Working Group on Rights of Older Persons and People with Disabilities


      Activities as Chairperson of the Focal Point on the Rights of Older Persons in Africa

      4. Persons with disabilities are entitled to exercise their civil, political, social, economic and cultural rights on an equal basis with others. It is a fact, however, that disabled persons suffer from discrimination based on society's prejudice and ignorance, and they often do not enjoy the same opportunities as other persons.

      5. Article 18(4) of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights provides for the rights of older persons and persons with disabilities. It states that, “The aged and the disabled shall also have the right to special measures of protection in keeping with their physical or moral needs.”

      6. Following the establishment of a Focal Point on the Rights of Older Persons during the 42nd Ordinary Session of the African Commission from 15 to 28 November 2007, in Brazzaville, in the Republic of Congo, a Consultative Meeting took place in Mauritius from 2-3 October 2008. It was recommended during this Meeting that, the African Commission should establish a Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons, and Persons with Disabilities. And since the rights of disabled persons is still a grey area, the African Commission decided to establish a Working Group on the Rights of Older Persons and Persons with Disabilities during its 44th Ordinary Session, which took place in Abuja, Federal Republic of Nigeria.

      7. The establishment of the Working Group was however deferred to the 45th Session of the Commission, so as to give time to the Commission to identify individual experts that will serve as members of the Working Group. These Experts are meant to work together with the Chairperson of the Focal Point, and Member of the Focal Point, Commissioner Reine Alapine-Gansou, to design strategies that will advance the rights of older persons and persons with disabilities in Africa, and also to advocate and lobby for treaties and legislations relevant to persons
      with disabilities, and older persons.

      8. During the inter-session, Commissioner Yeung Sik Yuen, together with Commissioner Reine Alapine Gansou, forwarded an advert on the website of the Commission, calling for applications from experts to become members of the proposed Working Group.

      9. The Secretariat of the African Commission received a number of applications which will be tabled before the
       

      Links


      Translate page

      Contact Us

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights