Musa Ngary Bitaye

Activities as Commissaire


    Pendant l’intersession, j’ai mené un certain nombre d’activités en ma qualité de Commissaire.

    1. Réunion conjointe CADHP et ACfDHP pour harmoniser leurs Règlements intérieurs respectifs, organisée à Arusha, Tanzanie du t14 au 17 juillet 2009

    J’ai participé à cette importante réunion avec mes collègues et membres de la Cour. A la fin de la réunion, un certain progrès a été enregistré dans l’harmonisation de certains articles pertinents. Mais beaucoup reste encore à faire. C’est ainsi que la réunion a été ajournée pour être poursuivie à Dakar, Sénégal, du 12 au 17 octobre 2009.

    En tant que Président par intérim du Comité de la Commission sur les affaires budgétaires et du personnel, j’ai organisé une réunion en marge de la réunion conjointe de la CADHP et de la CAfDHP.

    La réunion a discuté et convenu des activités inscrites dans le budget 2010 de la Commission et recommandé que le Bureau de la Commission rencontre le Vice-président de l’Union africaine pour le sensibiliser au contraintes financière et budgétaires de la Commission.

    2. La réunion préparatoire de la CADHP à la réunion avec la CAfDHP a s’est tenue pour examiner les commentaires des diverses parties intéressées à Dakar, Sénégal, du 5 au 11 octobre 2009

    J’ai participé à cette réunion au cours de la quelle la Commission a discuté et formulé des propositions sur les dernières règles de complémentarité à présenter à la Cour.

    Je n’ai pas pu participer à la réunion avec la Cour qui s’est tenue à Dakar, Sénégal, du 12 au 16 octobre 2009, immédiatement après la réunion préparatoire. J’ai été envoyé par le Président par intérim de la Commission participer à la Réunion d’évaluation de mi-mandat des budgets de tous les organes de l’UA, organisée par le COREP à Addis-Abeba, Ethiopie, au même moment où la réunion avec la Cour se tenait à Dakar, Sénégal.

    3. Revue de mi-mandat du COREP

    La revue de mi-mandat devait se tenir du 14 au 19 octobre 2009.Je suis arrivé à Addis-Abeba le 13 octobre 2009 et ai été informé que la réunion avait été renvoyée au 28 octobre 2009. J’ai saisi l’opportunité du report de la réunion pour rencontrer de nombreux membres du COREP et des responsables de l’UA comme le temps me le permettait, pour les sensibiliser aux défis auxquels est confrontée la Commission.

    Le 27 octobre 2009, la Secrétaire, le Fonctionnaire chargé des finances et de l’administration de la Commission ont participé, en tant que membres de ma délégation, à la réunion re-convoquée au siège de l’UA à Addis-Abeba. Celle-ci a été à nouveau reportée au 2 novembre 2009. Ma délégation a saisi l’opportunité de notre présence au Siège de l’UA pour suivre les affaires pendantes de la Commission, assister à des réunions et rendre des visites de courtoisie à certains membres du COREP, à la Commissaire au Département des Affaires politiques et au Directeur de l’Administration et du Développement des ressources humaines de la Commission de l’UA.

    Le rapport de la réunion avec la Commissaire aux Affaires politiques sera distribué aux membres de la Commission.

    4. Invitation de la République du Zimbabwe à effectuer une mission de promotion prévue du 19 au 23 août 2009.

    La mission conjointe devait être effectuée par la Rapporteure spéciale sur la Liberté d’expression et d’Accès à l’information, le Rapporteur spécial sur les Prisons et les Lieux de détention et par moi-même en ma qualité de Commissaire Rapporteur de l’Etat partie. L’Etat partie a également invité la mission à présenter des documents lors d'un séminaire des parties intéressées devant se tenir du 20 au 22 août 2009, pendant la période de la mission du 19 au 23 août 2009. Malheureusement, les dates proposées ne convenaient pas aux membres de la mission proposée. Il est à souhaiter que l’Etat partie du Zimbabwe voudra bien renouveler son invitation d’une mission conjointe, fondée sur la pratique habituelle des missions de promotion dans le contexte des termes de référence habituels de la mission.

    5. Mission de promotion dans la République fédérale du Nigeria

    La mission s’est déroulée du 14 au 18 septembre 2009 avec le Dr Feyi Ogunade, Juriste principal, et moi-même dirigeant la mission. Les termes de référence de la mission étaient les suivants :

    • Promouvoir la Charte africaine, échanger des avis et des informations sur l’importation et la mise en œuvre de la Charte africaine ;
    • Encourager le dialogue entre la Commission et la République fédérale du Nigeria sur les mesures législatives et autres prises au regard de la mise en œuvre de la Charte africaine ;
    • Echanger des avis avec tous les acteurs des droits de l’homme, y compris le Gouvernement de la République fédérale du Nigeria sur les voies et moyens d’améliorer la jouissance des droits de l’homme dans le pays ;
    • Sensibiliser à la Commission africaine et accroître sa visibilité et celle de ses fonctions, en particulier auprès des départements/institutions concernés et au sein de la société civile ;
    • Rechercher des précisions et le suivi des rapports et des informations reçus par la Commission africaine sur la situation des droits de l’homme dans le pays ;
    • Assurer le suivi des recommandations des observations conclusives sur le 3ème Rapport périodique présenté à la africaine par le Gouvernement de la République fédérale du Nigeria lors de la 44ème Session ordinaire de la Commission.

    La mission a été bien reçue et a eu des entretiens avec différents acteurs, notamment des ministres, des législateurs, la Commission nationale des droits de l’homme, d’autres institutions et commissions nationales, des membres de la société civile, la presse, et elle a accordé un interview à une heure de grande écoute sur la télévision nationale.

     Un rapport complet sera soumis à l’examen et à l’adoption de la Commission. Je vous remercie de votre attention.

     

    Activités comme Président du GT

    Groupe de travail sur les Populations/ Communautés Autochtones en Afrique


     

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Musa Ngary Bitaye

Activities as Commissioner


    During the intersession, I was engaged in a number of activities as Commissioner.

    1. Joint meeting of ACHPR & ACtHPR to harmonize their respective Rules of Procedure on complementarity, held in Arusha , Tanzania from the 14th to the 17th of July, 2009

    I attended this important meeting together with my colleagues and members of the Court.

    At the end of the meeting some success was achieved in harmonizing some of the relevant rules. However, a lot of work remained to be done. Accordingly, the meeting was adjourned for continuation in Dakar, Senegal to the 12th to 17th of October, 2009.

    As the Ag. Chairman of the Commission's Committee on Budget and Staff matters, I convened a meeting on the side of the joint meeting of the ACHPR and the ACtHPR.

    The meeting discussed and agreed on the activities for the 2010 budget of the Commission and recommended that the Bureau of the Commission meet the Vice Chairperson of African Union Commission to sensitize him on the financial and budget constraints of the Commission.

    2. ACHPR Preparatory meeting to the meeting with the ACtHPR and for Consideration of comments by various stakeholders on the ACHPR interim rules ,held in Dakar, Senegal from the 5th to the 11th of October, 2009.


    I participated at this meeting during which the Commission discussed and came up with proposals on the remaining rules of complementarity to be put before the Court.

    I could not attend the meeting with the Court which was held in Dakar, Senegal from the 12th to the 16th October, 2009 immediately after the preparatory meeting. I was delegated by the Ag. Chairperson of the Commission to attend the Mid-Term Review Meeting of the budgets of all AU organs, convened by the PRC in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, at the same time that the meeting with the Court was taking place in Dakar, Senegal.

    3. Mid-term Review of the PRC

    The Mid – Term Review meeting was scheduled to take place from the 14th to the 19th of October, 2009. I arrived in Addis Ababa on the 13th October, 2009 and was informed that it had been postponed to the 28th of October, 2009. I used the opportunity of the postponement to meet as many members of the PRC and AU Officials as time would allow, sensitizing them on the challenges facing the Commission.

    On the 27th of October, 2009 the Secretary, the Finance and Administration Officer of the Commission, as members of my delegation, attended the reconvened meeting at the AU  Headquarters in Addis Ababa. It was again postponed to the 2nd November, 2009. My delegation used the opportunity of our presence at the AU Headquarters to follow up on outstanding matters relating to the Commission's affairs, including meetings and courtesy calls on some members of the PRC, the Commissioner of the Department Political Affairs and the Director of Administration and Human Resources Development of the AUC.

    The report of the meeting held with H.E. the Commissioner of Political affairs will be circulated to members of the Commission.

    4. Invitation by the Republic of Zimbabwe for a joint promotional mission scheduled to take place from the 19th to the 23rd of August, 2009.


    The joint mission was to be undertaken by the Special Rapporteur on Freedom of Expression and Access to Information, the Special Rapporteur on Prisons and Places of Detention, together with myself as the Commissioner Rapporteur of the state party. The state party also invited the mission to present papers in a stakeholders’ seminar scheduled to take place from the 20th to the 22nd of August, 2009, within the mission period of 19th to 23rd August, 2009. Unfortunately, the proposed dates were found inconvenient by the members of the proposed mission. It is hoped that the state party of Zimbabwe will kindly renew the invitation for a joint mission, base on the standard practice of promotional missions, within the context of the standard terms of reference of the mission.

    5. Promotional mission to the Federal Republic of Nigeria

    The mission took place from the 14th to the 18th of September, 2009 with Dr. Feyi Ogunade, Senor Legal Officer, and myself heading the mission. The mission's terms of reference included the following:
    • To promote the African Charter, exchange views and information on the import and implementation of the African Charter;
    • Encouraging dialogue between the African Commission and the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the legislative and other measures taken towards the implementation of the African Charter;
    • Exchange views with all human rights stakeholders, including the government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the ways and means of enhancing the enjoyment of human rights in the country;
    • To raise awareness and the visibility of the African Commission and its functions, especially among the relevant government departments / institutions, and within civil society;
    • To seek clarification and follow up on reports and information received by the African Commission about the human rights situation in the Country; and
    • To follow up on the recommendations in the concluding observations to the 3rd Periodic Report presented to the African Commission by the Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria during the 44th Ordinary Session of the Commission
    The mission was well received and held discussions with various stakeholders, including Ministers, legislators, the National Human Rights Commission, other  national institutions and Commissions, members of civil society, the press, and gave a prime time interview on national television.


     

    Activities as Working Group Chairperson

    Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa


     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights