Allocution d'ouverture de S.E. Me Julia Dolly Joiner, Commissaire aux Affaires politiques, Commission de l’Union africaine

 Allocution de Madame Julia Dolly Joiner Commissaire aux Affaires Politiques de la Commission de l'Union Africaine

Prononceée par Monsieur l'Ambassador Emile Ognimba,

Directeur du Department des Affaires Politiques de la Commission de l'Union Africaine a

l'Ouverture de la Quarante Sixieme Session Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

 Banjul 11 Novembre 2009


Monsieur le Président,

Madame la Représentante du Gouvernement de la République de Gambie,

Honorables membres de la Commission africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples, Messieurs les Représentants du Corps Diplomatique,

Distingués délégués,

Excellences, Mesdames et Messieurs,

 Il me plait de vous livrer ci-après le contenu de l'intervention de SEM Julia Dolly Joiner, Commissaire aux Affaires politiques de la Commission de l'Union africaine, qui devait prendre  part  à  la  présente  cérémonie, mais  na  pas  pu  le  faire  en  raison  de  fortes contraintes de calendrier.

 Je voudrais d’abord vous dire tout le plaisir qui le notre, nous membres de la Commission de l'Union africaine, de nous retrouver ici en Gambie, ce pays qui nous est devenu si familier et pour qui, au fil du temps, nous avons nourri un certain attachement.

 Nous avons toujours perçu la tenue régulière des sessions de la Commission en Gambie comme le témoignage de l’engagement des autorités gambiennes à apporter leur contribution à l'oeuvre de promotion des droits de l'Homme sur le continent. Je me dois donc de redire, au non de la Commission, toute notre gratitude au gouvernement et, au peuple gambien, pour la généreuse hospitalité qu'ils nous accordent encore à cette occasion.

 L'accueil des sessions de la Commission par les différents pays membres contribue à faire connaître un peu plus le mandat de la Commission en donnant de la visibilité à ses activités et en la rapprochant des populations africaines. La cause des droits de l'homme ne peut que sortir renforcée de cette interaction, nous en sommes sûrs.

 Je voudrais aussi exprimer nos vifs remerciements à la Commission africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples pour l'amabilité qu'elle nous a faite en nous invitant aux présentes assises. Nous l'apprécions d'autant que nous ressentons chaque jour davantage l'impérieuse nécessite d'arrimer résolument notre action en faveur de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l'Homme à la leur. Un tel assemblage nous parait autant naturel que déterminant si nous voulons mener à bien notre action collective. Notre présence ici aujourd’hui, s'inscrit dans cette logique. Je salue les commissaires qui ont récemment été élus et les assure de notre parfaite collaboration.

 Je saisis également cette occasion pour saluer tous les participants, ceux venus de l'étranger ainsi que ceux de l'intérieur qui ont tenu à honorer ce rendez-vous.

 Excellences, Mesdames et Messieurs,

 Cette 46ème session de la Commission africaine des droits de l'homme se tient dans un contexte particulier au regard de la situation des droits de l'homme en Afrique. On note avec regret de la situation des droits de l'homme en Afrique. On note avec regret que, malgré des progrès indéniables enregistres dans le champ des droits aussi bien civiques et

politiques qu'économiques, sociaux et culturels, le spectre des violations des droits humains demeure parmi nous. Sans vouloir être exhaustifs, nous savons que ces abus et ces  violations, observables un  peu  partout en  Afrique aujourd’hui, ont  pour  noms : pauvreté, déshumanisante, détention arbitraire, discrimination contre les femmes, discrimination ou xénophobie contre les migrants forces, persécution ou harcèlement des défenseurs des droits de l'homme comme des professionnels des médias, atteintes au droits de vote, violence sexuelles et sexistes, impunité face à des crimes économiques, socioculturels et politiques qui ont un impact négatif grave sur la vie de milliers de gens. Dans la plupart de ces situations, ce sont les droits civils, politiques, économiques, culturels et sociaux qui font l'objet d'une négation.

 Les conflits qui continuent d'ensanglanter le continent le continent en créant les conditions. Mais de plus en plus, la soif et l'ivresse du pouvoir nourrissent l'intolérance et sont à l'origine de violation des droits de l'homme.

 Dans ce contexte, la tâche est immense et notre engagement collectif apparaît comme un impératif catégorique si l'on veut endiguer cette déferlante avec quelque efficacité. C’est là, à notre avis, que réside tout l'intérêt des présentes assises.

 Excellence, Mesdames et Messieurs,

 En prélude de cette session, la commission de l'Union africaine a organisé, du 8 au 10 novembre, avec succès, la troisième session des institutions nationales des droits de l'Homme. En  organisant    ces  assises, nous avons été  animés du  souci légitime, de renforcer ces institutions dans le contexte actuel, d'assurer leur interaction mais aussi leur dépendance, de mettre en place un véritable espace de collaboration avec les organes compétents de l'Union africaine ainsi qu'avec nos partenaires traditionnels, notamment le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies aux droits de l'Homme. Une telle entreprise ne peut être menée à bien que si les institutions nationales des droits de l'Homme bénéficient du nécessaire appui technique et financier des pouvoirs publics, qui souvent fait défaut.

 C’est au demeurant, ce qui est ressorti des recommandations de ces assises dont je me dois  de  souligner  la  pertinence  et  l'opportunité.  Entre  autres  recommandations, la nécessite d'une participation plus accrue aux activités de la Commission africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples a été soulignée. C’est une exigence fondamentale car la Commission doit plus que jamais s'appuyer sur ces acteurs de terrain pour mener ses actions. La participation active d'un nombre important de Commissaires à cette réunion et leur  contribution  significative  aux  travaux,  nous  a  confortés  dans  l'idée  que  le Commission africaine des droits de l'Homme et des Peuples accorde un intérêt particulier à cette collaboration que tous nous appelons de nos vœux.

 Cette tache ne pourrait être accomplie avec le succès souhaité que si notre rituel se nourrit d'apports divers. En effet, nous ne pouvons entrevoir un tel exercice que dans une perspective collective.

Ainsi nous demeurons attentifs au besoin de collaborer de manière étroite et continue avec nos différents partenaires et à la nécessite d'assurer constamment un dialogue véritable et ouvert sur les défis auxquels nous faisons face, ainsi que sur les meilleures approches qui pourraient être adoptées pour les relever.

 C’est dans ce cadre que la Commission de l'Union africaine en collaboration avec les organes compétents de l'Union africaine et en partenariat avec les Nations unies s'est engagée, dans une réflexion dynamique et approfondie devant conduire à l'élaboration d'une stratégie des droits de l'Homme pour l'Afrique.

Je ne me hasarderai pas, dans ces propos liminaires, à dessiner les contours essentiels de cette  stratégie ;  simplement  parce  qu'elle  demeure  encore  à  l'état  embryonnaire.  Je voudrais indiquer que la mise en place et la consolidation d'une telle stratégie repose sur un certain nombre de principes et de piliers conceptuels directeurs. Il s'agit de:

 •    Renforcer la capacité de l'Union africaine en tant que catalyseur de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l'Homme à travers le continent africain;

    Etablir  des  synergies efficaces  entre  les  divers  acteurs  institutionnels et  non institutionnels ;

    Favoriser  l'articulation  des  différents  niveaux  (local,  national,  régional  et continental) ;

    Mettre  en  place  les  mécanismes  institutionnels  qui  permettront  un  échange systématique d'informations ; un dialogue continu entre les divers acteurs ;

 Au delà,

 •    Créer les conditions d'un dialogue fructueux avec nos partenaires concernés, sur la  base  d'une  position africaine  clairement énoncée  et  sous  le  leadership de l'Union africaine.

 Une telle stratégie devrait également reposer sur des piliers juridiques – tels la Charte africaine des droits de l'Homme et des Peuples et les différents  protocoles y afférents ; des piliers institutionnels : la Commission de l'Union africaine, la Commission africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples, la Cour africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples, la Cour africaine de Justice et des droits de l'homme et des Peuples.

 La réflexion est engagée, elle se poursuivra dans différents fora. Notre souhait le plus ardent est quelle aboutisse à l'élaboration d'une véritable stratégie susceptible de donner la réponse la plus appropriée aux défis que nous impose la difficile problématique de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l'Homme sur le continent.

 Excellences Mesdames et Messieurs,

 Il est important de souligner que la promotion et la protection des droits de l'Homme ne peuvent fleurir que dans un environnement ou un contexte porteur. Un tel environnement ne peut découler que d'une bonne gouvernance sociale, économique et politique. Au

regard de ce constat, il nous semble que de nombreux états membres n'ont pas encore fortement donné à voir leur volonté politique de créer un tel environnement. La Charte africaine sur la démocratie, les élections et la gouvernance attend encore d'entrer en vigueur. Nous aimerions donc saisir cette occasion pour inviter les Etats membres de l'Union non signataires ou n'ayant pas encore ratifié cet instrument crucial à le faire. Cet appel,  nous  l'étendons  aussi  au  dernier     instrument  de  protection  des  droits  des vulnérables que sont les personnes déplacées internes. Avec cet instrument, en effet, l'Afrique vient de montrer à la face du monde sa volonté de ne laisser personne au bord du chemin des droits de l'homme.

 Mais le combat pour les droits de l'homme est fondamentalement un travail à reprendre sans cesse et un travail collectif. Les droits de l'homme sont une conquête que l'humanité na jamais faite une fois pour toutes. Sur ce terrain, les acteurs sont continuellement dans l'inachevé et il leur faut remettre sans cesse la main dans la pâte. Mais que ces sentiments de l'inachevé et du perpétuel recommencement ne deviennent jamais des obstacles pour poursuivre le chemin. Parce qu'ils nous remettent sans cesse sur la route et à l'oeuvre, nous devons puiser dans la noblesse même de la cause l'énergie nécessaire pour aller de l'avant et graver en lettres d'or dans les cœurs de nos concitoyens et les espaces de nos cités les grandes valeurs qui sous-tendent les indivisibles et universels droits humains.

 Ce travail, puisqu'il ne peut être mené avec succès sans la coopération d'acteurs variés, et disposant de mandats distincts dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l'homme, nécessitera une coordination des efforts des uns et des autres. Ile revient à la Commission de l'Union africaine de promouvoir une telle coordination. Elle ne mènera aucun effort pour le faire. Mais elle souhaite que cette coordination se fasse autour de l'architecture et sur la base de mécanismes qu'elle a mis en place. Axée sur la réalisation de l'agenda de l'Union africaine, elle fait des organes de la Commission comme la Commission africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples, la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples, des Etats membres, des institutions nationales des droits de l'homme, des organisations de la société civile et des acteurs bilatéraux et multilatéraux des partenaires co-responsables de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l'homme en Afrique. Puisse la conscience de nos responsabilités distinctes, mais bien complémentaires, nous aide à aller de l'avant au service de la cause des droits de l'homme en Afrique.

 Excellences, Mesdames et Messieurs,

 Je voudrais, en terminant, exprimer l'espoir que les présentes assises contribueront, entre autres, à définir les lignes d'horizon d'une collaboration plus nourrie entre la Commission de l'Union africaine et la Commission africaine des droits de l'Homme et des Peuples. Je sais que vos travaux seront fructueux et couronnés de succès. Je voudrais dores et déjà m'en réjouir.

 Je vous remercie de votre aimable attention.

 

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Opening Speech of the Commissioner for Political Affairs of the African Union Commission, Mrs. Julia Dolly Joiner

Address by Mrs. Julia Dolly Joiner
Commissioner for Political Affairs of the
African Union Commission delivered
by
Ambassador Emile Ognimba,
Director of the Department for Political Affairs of the
African Union Commission at the Opening of the Forty Sixth
Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and
Peoples' Rights
Banjul, 11 November 2009


Mr. Chairperson,
Mme. the Representative of the Government of the Republic of The Gambia,
Honourable Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights,
Representatives of the Diplomatic Corps,
Distinguished Delegates,
Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is my pleasure to deliver the following contents of the address which was to have been made by H.E. Mrs. Julia Dolly Joiner, Commissioner of Political Affairs of the Commission of the African Union, who was to have participated in the present ceremony but had been unable to do so due to a very busy schedule.

I would first of all like to express our pleasure, as members of the Commission of the African Union, to be here in The Gambia, this country which has become so familiar to us and for which we have, over the years, developed certain affection.

We have always viewed the regular holding of the sessions of the Commission in The Gambia as a testimony of the commitment of the Gambian Authorities to give their contribution to the human rights promotion effort on the Continent. I therefore wish to reiterate, on behalf of the Commission, our profound gratitude to the Government and people of The Gambia, for the generous hospitality which they are once again providing for us on this occasion.

The hosting of the sessions of the Commission by the various member countries contributes to the increased knowledge of the Commission’s mandate by giving visibility to its activities and by bringing it closer to the African populations. We are convinced that the human rights cause can only become stronger through this interaction.

I would also like to express our warm thanks to the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights for its kindness in inviting us to this meeting. We appreciate it, more so in that each day we feel the imperative need to resolutely combine our activities for the promotion and protection of human rights with its own. Such collaboration is, for us, both natural and decisive if we are to realize our collective effort. Our presence here today is in line with this logic. I congratulate the Commissioners who have been recently elected and assure them of our unequivocal collaboration.

I also wish to seize this opportunity to pay tribute to all the participants, those who came from abroad as well as those who came from here, who honoured this rendez-vous.

Your Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,

This 46th Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights is being held in a special context from the point of view of the human rights situation in Africa. We note with regret the current human rights situation in Africa. We note with regret that, despite the undeniable achievements registered in civil, political and economic rights, social and cultural rights, the phantom of human rights violations continues to live with us. Without trying to be exhaustive, we know that these violations, which can be noted almost everywhere in Africa
today, can be referred to as: poverty, dehumanization, arbitrary detentions, discrimination against women, discrimination or xenophobia against enforced migration, persecution or harassment of human rights defenders such as media professionals, violations of the right to vote, sexual and sexist abuse, impunity with regard to economic, socio-cultural and political crimes which have a serious negative impact on the lives of thousands of people. In most of these situations, it is the civil, political, economic, cultural and social rights which are the object of negation.

The conflicts which continue to bathe the Continent in blood create the conditions for this. But more and more, the thirst and intoxication for power nurture intolerance and are the root cause of human rights violations.

In this context therefore, the task is enormous and our collective commitment is a categorical imperative if we are to effectively check this tidal wave. This is where, in our view, lies the importance of these deliberations.

Your Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,

As a prelude to this session, the African Union Commission had successfully organized, from 8th to 10th November, the third session of the National Human Rights Institutions. In organizing this meeting, we had been inspired by the legitimate concern to strengthen these Institutions in the current context, to guarantee their interaction as well as their independence, to put in place a genuine forum for collaboration with the competent Organs of the African Union and with our traditional partners, in particular the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. Such an undertaking can only be realized if the National Human Rights Institutions benefit from the necessary technical and financial support from the Authorities, which is often lacking.

This, moreover, is what emanated from the recommendations formulated during these deliberations, the pertinence and timeliness of which I must emphasize here. Among other recommendations, the need for a greater participation in the activities of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights was also stressed. This is a fundamental requirement since the Commission needs to rely, more than ever, on these actors on the ground in order to accomplish its mandate. The active participation of a large number of Commissioners at this
meeting and their significant contributions to the discussions strengthened our view that the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights accords a special interest to this collaboration for which we all crave.

This task could not be accomplished successfully as expected had our meetings not received diverse inputs. Indeed, such an exercise can only be realized through a collaborative approach.

Thus, we shall be mindful of the need for closer and sustained collaboration with our various partners and constantly ensure genuine and open dialogue regarding the challenges confronting us including the best possible strategy to be adopted to rise above these challenges.

It is within this framework that the African Union Commission, in collaboration with the competent organs of the African Union and in partnership with the United Nations, initiated a dynamic and in-depth brainstorming on a process towards the formulation of a human rights strategy for Africa.

In this introductory presentation, I would not venture into outlining the major orientations of the strategy simply because it is still in its formative stages. I would state that the establishment and consolidation of such a strategy is based on a number of guidelines and conceptual pillars. These consist of:

  • Strengthening the capacity of the African Union as a catalyst to the promotion and protection of human rights throughout the African continent;
  • Establishing effective synergies between the various institutional and noninstitutional actors;
  • Promoting the linkages at different levels (local, national, regional and continental);
  • Establishing institutional mechanisms that will enhance continual exchange of information ; a systematic dialogue among the various actors;
Beyond that,
  • Creating the conditions for fruitful dialogue with our partners concerned on the basis of a clearly defined African position and under the leadership of the African Union.

Such a strategy should also be based on legal foundations - such as the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and the different related Protocols; the institutional pillars; the African Union Commission, the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the African Court of Justice, Human and Peoples’ Rights.

The brainstorming initiated shall be pursued at different fora. Our fervent hope is that it would lead to the formulation of a genuine strategy likely to provide the most appropriate antidote to the herculean task of Human rights promotion and protection on the continent.

Your Excellencies, Ladies and Gentlemen,

It is important to underscore the fact that promotion and protection of human rights can only thrive within an enabling environment or context. Such an environment can only materialize as a result good social, economic and political governance. From this standpoint, it seems that several Member States have not yet fully committed themselves to the political will of creating such an environment. The African Charter on Democracy, Elections, and Governance is yet to come into force. We would therefore seize this opportunity to urge Member States that have not yet signed nor ratified this crucial instrument to do so. This appeal is also applicable to the last instrument for the protection of the rights of vulnerable people such as internally displaced persons. Indeed, with this instrument, Africa has just demonstrated to the world, its commitment not to marginalize any person in the area of human rights.

But this battle for human rights is basically a relentless and constant one as well as a collective endeavour. Human rights are not a one-off conquest achieved by mankind. In this field, actors continually engage in the battle and never get their hands off the wheels. There is always an element of unfinished business. But these feelings of unfinished business and the constant re-enactment should never be seen as roadblocks in our efforts to battle on. As these feelings motivate us to constantly go back and hold the bull by the horns, we must always
be inspired by and draw the vital energy from the nobleness of the cause to go forward to engrave in letters of gold in the hearts of our fellow citizens and in public squares in our cities these momentous values which underlie the indivisible and universal human rights.

As this work cannot be successfully accomplished without the cooperation of the various actors coupled with wielding specific mandates for the promotion and protection of human rights, there is the need for coordination of efforts of each and every one. It is incumbent on the African Union to promote such coordination. It will not spare any effort in doing this. It may expect that such coordination is carried out through the established architecture and mechanisms that it has already put in place. Based on the fulfilment of the agenda of the African Union, the latter operates through organs of the Commission such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, the Member States, National Human Rights Institutions, Civil Society Organizations and bilateral and multilateral actors, concurrent partners in the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa. May the consciousness of our separate but complementary
responsibilities enable us to move forward for the service of the cause of human rights in Africa.

Your Excellencies Ladies and Gentlemen,

In conclusion, I would like to express the hope that this session will contribute, among others, in defining the horizon for more fruitful collaboration between the African Union Commission and the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. I know that your deliberations will be fruitful and successful. I express my delight about that in anticipation.


I thank you for your kind attention.
 

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights