Musa Ngary Bitaye

Activities as Commissaire


    Pendant l’intersession, j’ai pu mener certaines activités et finaliser certaines missions dans le cadre du travail de la Commission

    Format des Rapports des Missions de Promotion

    1. Lors de la 46ème Session ordinaire, j’ai été chargé par la Commission de préparer un projet de lignes directrices sur le format et le contenu des rapports des missions de promotion.

    2. Je me suis donc mis à la tâche et j’ai préparé un projet de document que je soumettrai à la discussion et à l’adoption de la présente 47ème Session ordinaire de la Commission.

    Rapport de la Mission de Promotion au Nigéria

    3. J'ai également pu superviser la préparation du rapport de la mission de promotion au Nigeria, du 14 au 18 septembre 2009, que je soumets maintenant à la discussion et à l’adoption de la session.

    Conflicts Violents sur le Plateau de Jos au Nigéria

    4. En février 2010, mon attention a été attirée par la violence interethnique récurrente sur le Plateau de Jos, dans le nord du Nigeria. Une Note Verbale a été envoyée au Président de la République fédérale du Nigeria pour exprimer la préoccupation de la Commission et un Appel à la cessation de la violence, à l’arrestation et aux poursuites des responsables, par la Présidente de la Commission, demandant également que la Commission effectue une mission d’enquête dans le pays.

    5. J’ai participé à la 8ème Session extraordinaire de la Commission à Banjul, Gambie, du 22 février au 3 mars 2010. Plusieurs questions en suspens ont été conclues, comme la finalisation du Règlement intérieur de la Commission, la présentation et l’adoption du Budget 2010 de la Commission.

    6. Pendant la Session, une délégation de la Commission des droits de l’homme de Sierra Leone a été reçue et sensibilisée au travail de la Commission

    Réunion du COREP

    7. En janvier 2010, en ma qualité de Président du Comité chargé des affaires relatives au budget et au personnel, j’ai fait partie de la délégation à la réunion du Comité des Représentants permanents de l’UA au cours de laquelle sont examinés les budgets des Organes de l’UA.

    Stratégie Africaine des Droits de l'Homme

    8. Du 11 au 13 mars 2010, j’ai été membre de la délégation de la Commission à cette réunion destinée à faire avancer la Stratégie africaine des droits de l'homme qui était organisée par la Commission de l’Union africaine.

    9. Au cours de la réunion, différents documents et études ont été examinés, notamment la "Feuille de route pour le développement d’une Stratégie africaine des droits de l’homme", le "Rapport des consultants sur l’exercice de la cartographie du développement d’une stratégie africaine globale des droits de l’homme", le "Rapport de la réunion de réflexion/consultation des Organes de l’UA sur leurs relations de travail", tenue à Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso, du 28 au 30 septembre 2008, et un document sur "l’Architecture africaine de la gouvernance (AGA).

    ...

    Know Your Rights (Connaissez vos Droits)

    13. Ce projet de traduction en langues africaines de tous les instruments des droits de l’homme, comme outil d'habilitation des populations africaines par la connaissance de leurs droits garantis en vertu de ces instruments progresse lentement par manque de financement adéquat.

    14. Des progrès ont néanmoins été enregistrés dans les domaines suivants :
    1. La Charte africaine traduite en Foulani (peul)
    2. Le Protocole relatif aux droits de la femme traduit en Moré;
    3. Le Protocole relatif à la Charte africaine portant création de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, traduit en Foulani ;
    4. La Charte africaine des droits et du bien-être de l’enfant, traduite en Moré.
    15. J’ai le plaisir de vous informer que Open Society for Justice, East Africa, a manifesté son intérêt pour le projet concernant les différents outils et le mécanisme de mise en oeuvre sur le terrain et pour faciliter le financement du projet.

     

    Activités comme Membre du GT

    Comité pour la Prévention de la Torture en Afrique


      COMITE SUR LA PREVENTION DE LA TORTURE EN AFRIQUE

      10. En qualité de membre du Comité pour la prévention de la torture en Afrique (CPTA), j’ai participé aux réunions du Comité à Dakar, Sénégal, du 26 au 29 avril 2010 et à une réunion conjointe du Comité en collaboration avec l’Association pour la prévention de la torture (APT) et Amnesty International Sénégal, tenue les 27 et 28 avril 2010 à Dakar, Sénégal.

      11. Le travail du mécanisme a été revu et les activités futures planifiées pendant les réunions du CPTA.

      12. Le Mécanisme national de prévention (MNP), devant être créé dans les Etats signataires de la Convention des Nations Unies contre la torture et autres peine ou traitements cruels, inhumains ou dégradants (OPCAT), a fait l’objet de longues discussions et différentes recommandations ont été formulées pour sa mise en oeuvre.
       

      Activités comme Président du GT

      Groupe de travail sur les Populations/ Communautés Autochtones en Afrique


         

        Links


        Traduire la page

        Contactez-nous

        • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
        • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
        • The Gambia
        • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
        • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
        • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

        ACHPR Newsletter

        Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
        © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Musa Ngary Bitaye

Activities as Commissioner


    During the intersession, I was able to carry out some activities and also finalized certain tasks on the work of the commission

    Format for Promotion Mission Report

    1. At the 46th Ordinary Session, I was tasked by the Commission to prepare draft guidelines on the format and contents of the report on promotion missions.

    2. I accordingly worked on and produced a draft paper which I will present for discussion and adoption at this 47th Ordinary session of the Commission.

    Nigeria Promotion Report

    3. I was also able to supervise the preparation of the promotion mission report to Nigeria, conducted from 14 – 18 September, 2009, which I can now present to the session for discussion and adoption.

    Violent Conflict in Jos Plateau Nigeria

    4. During the month of February 2010 my attention was drawn to the recurrent inter ethnic violence in Jos Plateau, Northern Nigeria. A note verbal to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, expressing the concern of the commission and an appeal to stop the violence, arrest and prosecute those responsible, was sent by the Chairperson of the
    Commission to the Federal Republic of Nigeria, also requesting for an investigation mission by the Commission.

    8th Extraordinary Session

    5. I attended the 8th Extraordinary Session of the Commission held in Banjul, The Gambia from 22 February to 3 March 2010. Several outstanding issues, including the finalization of the Commission’s Interim Rules of Procedure, the presentation and adoption of the Commission’s 2010 Budget, were concluded.

    6. During the Session, a delegation of the Sierra Leone Human Rights Commission was received and sensitized on the work of the Commission and the Commission expressed its intention to conduct a joint mission to Sierra Leone in the month of August, 2010.

    PRC Meeeting

    7. In the month of January, 2010, as Chairperson of the Committee on Budget and Staff matters, I was part of the delegation to the meeting of AU Permanent Representative Committee, during which the budgets of all the AU organs were considered.

    African Human Rights Strategy Meeting

    8. From 11 to 13 March, 2010, I was a member of the Commission’s delegation which attended this meeting for the purpose of moving forward the African Human Rights Strategy, organized by the African Union Commission.

    9. During the meeting, various papers and studies were considered, including the "Road Map for the Development of a Human Rights Strategy for Africa", the consultant’s "Report on the Mapping Exercise on the Development of a comprehensive Human Rights Strategy for Africa", the "Report of Brainstorming/Consultative Meeting of AU Organs on their
    working Relations", held in Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso from 28 – 30 September 2008 and a paper on "The African Governance Architecture (AGA). The final report was adopted after the meeting.

    ...

    Know Your Rights

    13. This project to translate into African Languages all the African Human Rights instruments, as a tool to empower the African population with the knowledge of their rights guaranteed in these instruments, is making slow progress, due to the lack of adequate funding.

    14. So far progress has been made in the following:
    1. The African Charter, translated into Fulfulde language
    2. The Protocol on the Rights of women, translated into Moore language;
    3. The Protocol to the African Charter on the Establishment of the African Court, translated into Fulfulde language;
    4. The Protocol on the Rights and Welfare of the Child, translated into Moore language.
    15. I am glad to report that the Open Society for Justice, East Africa, has expressed interest in the project with a view to contribute to the various tools and mechanism for implementation on the ground and to also facilitate funding for the project.

     

    Activities as Working Group Member

    Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa


      COMMITTEE FOR THE PREVENTION OF TORTURE IN AFRICA (CPTA)

      10. As a member of the Committee for the Prevention of Torture in Africa (CPTA), I attended meetings of the Committee in Dakar, Senegal on the 26th and 29th of April 2010 and a joint meeting of the Committee in collaboration with the Association for the Prevention of Torture (APT) and Amnesty International Senegal, held from 27 to 28 April 2010 in Dakar, Senegal.

      11. In the CPTA meetings, the work of the mechanism was reviewed and future activities planned.

      12. In the joint meeting, the National Prevention Mechanism (NPM), required to be established in states signatory to the Optional Protocol to the UN Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (OPCAT), was discussed at length and various recommendations were made for its implementation.
       

      Activities as Working Group Chairperson

      Working Group on Indigenous Populations/Communities in Africa


       

      Links


      Translate page

      Contact Us

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights