173: Résolution sur les Crimes Commis contre les Femmes en République Démocratique du Congo (RDC)

    La Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, réunie en sa 48e session ordinaire tenue à Banjul (République de Gambie) du 10 au 24 novembre 2010;

    Rappelant les dispositions pertinentes de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (Charte africaine), ainsi que celles du Protocole à la Charte africaine relatif aux droits des femmes;

    Rappelant également ses résolutions Res.103(XXXX)06 du 29 novembre 2006, sur la situation des droits des femmes en RDC; Res.111(XXXXII)07, sur le droit à un recours et à la réparation pour les victimes de violences sexuelles; et Res.139(XXXXIIII)08 du 24 novembre 2008 sur la situation des droits de l’homme en RDC;

    Saluant le processus de ratification du Protocole à la Charte africaine relatif aux droits des femmes, engagé par le gouvernement de la RDC;

    Saluant l’adoption de deux lois contre les violences sexuelles par le gouvernement de la RDC (Lois no 06/018 et 06/019) qui criminalisent diverses formes de violences sexuelles jadis non incriminées dans le Code pénal;

    Gardant à l’esprit le but et les objectifs de l’Acte constitutif de l’Union africaine et les pouvoirs conférés au Conseil de paix et de sécurité (CPS);

    Rappelant  la Résolution 1325 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies du 31 octobre 2000 sur femmes, paix et sécurité ainsi que la Déclaration de Goma sur l’élimination de la violence sexuelle et la lutte contre l’impunité dans la région des Grands Lacs du 18 juin 2008;

    Considérant la Décision de la Conférence des Chefs d’État et de gouvernement de l’Union africaine de déclarer l’année 2010 « Année de la paix et de la sécurité en Afrique » adoptée lors de sa 14e session ordinaire;

    Préoccupée par la persistance de la pratique systématique et très répandue du viol par les groupes armés contre les femmes et les jeunes filles en particulier dans les régions de l’Est de la RDC et par l’incapacité des autorités congolaises, de mettre fin à l’impunité dont jouissent les auteurs de ces crimes odieux malgré l’existence de deux lois sur les violences sexuelles;

    Soucieuse de renforcer la coopération entre les organes et institutions de l’Union africaine dans le domaine de la lutte contre l’impunité et de coordonner nos actions avec celles du Conseil de paix et de sécurité (CPS) de l’Union africaine; 

    CONDAMNE FERMEMENT la persistance des graves violations des droits de l’homme commises contre la population civile dans le cadre du conflit armé qui se poursuit dans l’est de la RDC;

    APPELLE tous les groupes armés opérant à l’est de la RDC à cesser immédiatement les viols et toutes les formes de violences sexuelles commises sur les femmes et les enfants;

    EXHORTE le gouvernement de la RDC à prendre toutes les mesures nécessaires à la mise en œuvre effective des lois de 2006 sur les violences sexuelles, y compris en poursuivant et en sanctionnant les auteurs de viols et autres actes de violences à l’égard des femmes;

    EXHORTE le gouvernement de la RDC à accélérer le processus de ratification du Protocole de Maputo ainsi que la mise en place du Fonds d’indemnisation des victimes de violences sexuelles en cours de création au niveau du Ministère de la Justice et des droits humains;

    DECIDE d’entrer immédiatement en consultation avec le Conseil de paix et de sécurité (CPS) de l’Union africaine en vue de collaborer et d’envoyer, dans les meilleurs délais, une mission d’enquête sur les violences sexuelles perpétrées contre les femmes en RDC à laquelle participera la Rapporteure Spéciale sur les droits de la femme en Afrique et qui aura, entre autres objectifs, de :

    • Faire un état des lieux exhaustif des violences sexuelles dont sont victimes les femmes congolaises dans l’est de la RDC;
    • Identifier les groupes armés coupables de ces violations graves à la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et au droit humanitaire international;

    DECIDE également que les conclusions de ce rapport d’enquête seront conjointement entreprise par le Conseil de paix et de sécurité (CPS) de l’Union africaine et la CADHP afin que des mesures idoines et urgentes soient prises pour traduire les auteurs de ces crimes odieux devant des juridictions nationales, régionales et/ou internationales;

    DECIDE enfin de faire rapport à la Conférence des Chefs d’État et de gouvernement de l’Union africaine.

    Propriétés

    Etats: République Democratique du Congo

    Résolutions liées

    Resolutions adoptés

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

173: Resolution on the Crimes committed against Women in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC)

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, meeting at its 48th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, (Republic of The Gambia) from 10 to 24 November 2010:

    Recalling the relevant provisions of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter), and those of the Protocol to the African Charter on the Rights of Women in Africa (Maputo Protocol);

    Recalling also its Resolutions; Res.103(XXXX)06 of 29th November 2006, on the situation of women’s rights in DRC; Res.111(XXXXII)07, on the right to appeal and to compensation for the victims of sexual abuses; and Res.139(XXXXIIII)08 of 24 th November 2008 on the human rights situation in DRC;

    Paying tribute to the process of the ratification of the Protocol to the African Charter on the Rights of Women in Africa;

    Paying tribute to the passing of two laws against sexual abuses by the DRC Government (Laws no 06/018 and 06/019) which criminalize various forms of sexual abuses which formerly had not been criminalized in the Criminal Code;

    Bearing in mind the aims and objectives of the Constitutive Act of the African Union and the authority conferred on the Peace and Security Council (PSC);

    Recalling Resolution 1325 of the United Nations Security Council of the 31st October 2000 on women, peace and security as well as the Goma Declaration of 18th June 2008 on the elimination of sexual abuse and the combat against impunity in the Great Lakes region;

    Considering the Decision of the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union to declare the year 2010 « Year of peace and security in Africa » adopted during its 14th Ordinary Session;

    Concerned by the persistence of the systematic and highly widespread practice of rape by armed groups against women and young girls in particular in the Eastern region of the DRC and the incapacity of the Congolese Authorities, to put an end to the impunity being enjoyed by the perpetrators of these odious crimes despite the existence of two laws on sexual abuse;

    Mindful of the need to strengthen cooperation between the Organs and Institutions of the African Union in the combat against impunity and to coordinate our activities with those of the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the African Union;

    Strongly condemns the persistence of the serious human rights violations perpetrated against the civilian population in the context of the on-going armed conflict in Eastern DRC;

    Calls on all the armed groups active in Eastern DRC to immediately put a end to the rape and all kinds of violence against women and children;

    Urges the DRC Government to take all necessary steps for the effective implementation of the 2006 laws on sexual abuse, including the pursuit and punishment of the perpetrators of rape and other acts of violence against women;

    Urges the DRC Government to accelerate the process of the ratification of the Maputo Protocol and also the establishment of a Compensation Fund for the victims of sexual abuse currently being created within the Ministry of Justice and human rights;

    Decides to enter into immediate consultations with the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the African Union to collaborate and send, in the very near future, an investigation mission on the sexual abuse being perpetrated against women in DRC in which the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Women in Africa will participate and which will seek, among other objectives, to:

    • Draw up an exhaustive inventory of the sexual abuse to which Congolese women in Eastern DRC are subjected;
    • Identify the armed groups guilty of these serious violations of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights and of international humanitarian law;

    Also decides that the conclusions of this Investigation Report be carried forward jointly by the Peace and Security Council (PSC) of the African Union and the ACHPR so that appropriate and urgents measures can be taken to bring the actors of these odious crimes before the national, regional or/and international Courts;

    Decides finally to submit report to the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the African Union.


    Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 24 November 2010.

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights