186: Résolution sur la Nomination des Membres du Groupe de Recherche sur la Liberté d’Association en Afrique

La Commission africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (la Commission africaine), réunie à l’occasion de sa 49ème Session ordinaire, qui s’est tenue du 28 avril au 12 mai 2011, à Banjul en Gambie ;

Rappelant son mandat de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme et des peuples en Afrique en vertu de la Charte africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples (la Charte africaine) ;

Rappelant les Principes et Lignes directrices sur le droit à un procès équitable et une assistance judiciaire en Afrique(1996) , la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme de 1998, la Déclaration de Grand Bay (1999) et son Plan d’Action, la Déclaration de Kigali de 2003 ;

Gardant à l’esprit l’engagement pris par les Etats membres de l’Union africaine dans la Déclaration de Grand Bay (Maurice) de mettre en oeuvre les dispositions de la Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme et la décision de la 33ème Session ordinaire de la Commission africaine (mai 2003), qui qualifie l’ingérence dans le travail des Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme de violation expresse de la Charte africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples ;

Rappelant les Résolutions CADHP/69(XXXV) 04 sur la protection des défenseurs des droits de l’homme en Afrique, CADHP/Res.119 (XXXXII) 07 sur la Situation des Défenseurs des Droits de l’Homme en Afrique ;

Rappelant en outre CADHP/Res151 (XLVI) 09 sur la nécessité de mener une étude sur la liberté d’association;

DECIDE de nommer les organisations suivantes chargées de réaliser une étude sous la supervision de la Rapporteure Spéciale sur les défenseurs des droits de l’homme en Afrique sur les lois régissant la liberté d’association et les pratiques qui violent le droit à la liberté d’association en Afrique :

  1. International Service for Human Rights;
  2. Institute for Human Rights and Development in Africa;
  3. West Africa Human Rights Defenders Network;
  4. East and Horn of Africa Human Rights Defenders Project;
  5. African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies;
  6. Cairo Institute for Human Rights studies;
  7. Central Africa Human Rights Defenders Network;
  8. HURISA.

DECIDE EN OUTRE que le Rapport de ladite étude soit soumis à l’examen de la Commission africaine dans un délai d’un (1) an à compter du 12 mai 2011.

Fait à Banjul, Gambie, le 12 mai 2011

186: Resolution on the Appointment of Members for a Study Group on Freedom of Association in Africa

The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights meeting at its 49th Ordinary Session held from 28 May to 12 May 2011, in Banjul, The Gambia:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights in Africa under the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Recalling the Principles and Guidelines on the Right to a Fair Trial and Legal Aid in Africa (1996) the United Nations Declaration on Human Rights Defenders (1998), the Grand Bay Declaration (1999) and its Plan of Action, the Kigali Declaration (2003);

Bearing in mind the commitment of the States Members of the African Union in the Grand Bay (Mauritius) Declaration to implement the provisions of the United Nations Declaration on Human Rights Defenders, and the decision of the 33 rd Ordinary Session of the African Commission (May 2003) which considers that interference to the work of human rights defenders amounts to a violation of the African Charter on Human and Peoples ’ Rights;

Recalling Resolution ACHPR/69(XXXV) 04 on the protection of human rights defenders in Africa, Resolution ACHPR/Res.119 (XXXXII) 07 on the Situation of Human Rights Defenders in Africa;

Recalling further Resolution ACHPR/Res151 (XLVI) 09 on the need for the conduct of a study on the freedom of association in Africa;

Decides to appoint the following organisations to conduct, under the supervision of the Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Defenders in Africa, a study on the laws governing freedom of association and practices that violate freedom of association in Africa:

Further decides that the Report of the study be submitted to the African Commission within a period of one (1) year.


Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 12 may 2011.