188: Resolution on the Renewal and Extension of the Mandate of the Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters

The African Commission on Human Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission) meeting at its 49th Ordinary Session in Banjul, The Gambia from 28 April to 12 May 2011:

Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights pursuant to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

Aware of the vital role of its Secretariat in ensuring the effective discharge of the Commission’s mandate and the importance of having an effective Secretariat;

Further conscious of the difficulties the African Commission faces in the preparation, presentation and execution of its budget, and desirous of facilitating its budgetary preparation process;

Welcoming the decision of the Executive Council of the African Union to strengthen the human resources capacity of the African Commission through the recruitment of 33 more staff over a period of five years, from 2010 to 2014;

Recalling its decision during the 6th Extra-Ordinary Session to establish an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters to work with the Secretariat to prepare the Programs budget of the Commission;

Recalling further Decision EX.CL/Dec.529 (XV) of the Executive Council which state that the African Union (AU) Commission, in consultation with the Permanent Representatives Committee (PRC), expedite the review of the honorarium and allowances of the Members of ACHPR in accordance with the Financial Rules and Regulations of the African Union;

Recalling further its Resolution ACHPR/Res 142(XXXXV) 09, adopted at its 45th Ordinary Session, Establishing an Advisory Committee on Budgetary and Staff Matters, with the following mandate:

Appreciating the work undertaken by the Advisory Committee during the past two years in the discharge of its mandate;

Recognizing the importance of the work of the Committee and the necessity to allow the Committee to continue to carry out its mandate;

Decides to:

  1. Honourable Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye(Chairperson)
  2. Honourable Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou (Member)
  3. Honourable Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie (Member)
  4. The Secretary to the Commission (ex-officio)
  5. 1 Senior Legal Officer (ex-officio)
  6. The Administrative and Finance Officer (ex-officio)

Done in Banjul, the Gambia on the 12 May 2011.