4ème Session extraordinaire: Communiqué final

    Communiqué final de la 4ème Session Extra-Ordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples

    1. La Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (Commission africaine) a tenu sa 4ème Session extraordinaire du 17 au 23 février 2008 à Banjul, République de Gambie.

    2. L’Honorable Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Présidente de la Commission africaine, a présidé les travaux de la 4ème Session extraordinaire.

    3. Les membres suivants ont participé à la 4ème Session extraordinaire :

    • commissaire Angela Melo – Vice-présidente ;
    • Commissaire Bahame Tom Mukriya Nyanduga ;
    • Commissaire Mumba Malila ;
    • Commissaire Reine Alapini-Gansou ;
    • Commissaire Faith Pansy Tlakula ;
    • Commissaire Musa Ngary Bitaye ;
    • Commissaire Catherine Dupe Atoki ;
    • Commissaire Soyata Maiga ;
    • Commissaire Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie ;
    • Commissaire Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen.

    4. Dans son allocution de bienvenue, la Présidente de la Commission africaine, l’Honorable Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, au nom des Membres de la Commission africaine et en son nom propre, a exprimé sa gratitude au Ministre de la Justice, Garde des Sceaux de la République de Gambie, pour avoir envoyé un représentant pour ouvrir officiellement la 4ème Session extraordinaire, en dépit du calendrier chargé du Gouvernement, à la veille de la célébration de l’accession à l’indépendance de la Gambie.

    5. La Présidente de la Commission africaine a rappelé que les questions de la pauvreté, du sous développement, des maladies, et des conflits continuent d’entraver la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme, en particulier en Afrique. Elle a expliqué que bien que ces questions soient particulièrement préoccupantes pour la Commission africaine, elles ne constituaient pas en elles-mêmes la raison de la tenue de cette Session extraordinaire de la Commission africaine. La principale raison de la tenue de la 4ème Session extraordinaire était la finalisation de l’examen du ‘Règlement intérieur révisé’ de la Commission africaine, avant la tenue d’une réunion prévue plus tard, cette année, avec la Cour africaine, en vue d’harmoniser les règlements intérieurs des deux institutions.

    6. En retraçant l’histoire de la Commission africaine, elle a expliqué que la Commission africaine est chargée de collaborer avec diverses parties prenantes et institutions des droits de l’homme sur le continent. Cette collaboration, coopération et harmonisation des activités avec les autres organismes de défense des droits de l’homme signifie qu’il était nécessaire pour la Commission africaine de revoir son Règlement intérieur, en particulier par rapport à la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples avec laquelle la Commission africaine travaillera en étroite collaboration à l’avenir.

    7. S’agissant de la situation des droits de l’homme qui prévaut au Kenya, suite aux élections législatives et présidentielles de décembre 2007, la Présidente a déclaré que c’était une situation très préoccupante pour la Commission. Elle a informé l’audience qu’elle avait déjà fait une déclaration exhortant le Kenya à faire preuve de plus de modération, appelant toutes les parties à résoudre leurs différends par le dialogue pacifique, et priant le Gouvernement kenyan de s’acquitter de ses obligations en matière de droits de l’homme en vertu de la Charte africaine.

    8. La Présidente de la Commission africaine a ensuite remercié le Gouvernement de la République de Gambie pour avoir bien voulu abriter la Commission africaine depuis 20 ans et a également souhaité un heureux 43ème Anniversaire de l’accession à l’indépendance de la Gambie à Son Excellence le Président Dr Alhaji Yahya A. J. J. Jammeh, à son Gouvernement et au peuple de la République de Gambie.

    9. La 4ème Session extraordinaire a été officiellement ouverte par M. Sainey Suso, Directeur de Cabinet adjoint du Ministère de la Justice, représentant le Ministre de la Justice, Garde des Sceaux de la République de Gambie, l’Honorable Marie Saine Firdaus. M. Sainey Suso a souhaité la bienvenue aux Membres de la Commission africaine à Banjul, et les a remercié d’avoir choisi Banjul, Gambie, pour tenir cette très importante Session. Il a en outre déclaré que le Gouvernement gambien est fier d’être associé à la révision du Règlement intérieur, un document qui guidera les activités de la Commission africaine à l’avenir.

    10. M. Sainey Suso a également noté que cette 4ème Session extraordinaire est une étape importante dans le développement du système africain des droits de l’homme parce que, suite à la création d’une Commission africaine des droits de l’homme, il y a 20 ans de cela, et maintenant la création d’une Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, il faut une synergie et une complémentarité entre ces deux organes, en vue de consolider les acquis de la Commission africaine. Aussi, estime-t-il que l’on ne soulignera jamais assez la nécessité de réviser le ‘Règlement intérieur’ de la Commission africaine. Il a conclu en réitérant l’engagement ferme du Gouvernement dans le travail de la Commission africaine.

    11. La 4ème Session extraordinaire a été précédée d’une réunion du Groupe de travail sur les Questions spécifiques de la Commission africaine qui a eu lieu du 15 au 17 février 2008, en vue de préparer le travail de la Session extraordinaire, procédant à un examen initial du Règlement intérieur, avant sa finalisation par la Session extraordinaire.

    12. Après la cérémonie d’ouverture, la Commission a adopté l’ordre du jour et discuté de la situation actuelle des droits de l’homme en République du Kenya et en Somalie. Suite aux débats, la Commission a adopté deux résolutions dans lesquelles elle a décidé d’envoyer, entre autres, des missions d’établissement des faits au Kenya et en Somalie en temps opportun, en d’enquêter sur les graves violations des droits de l’homme qui auraient eu lieu dans les deux pays.

    13. Ensuite, la Commission a entamé des travaux intensifs et exhaustifs pendant toute une semaine sur le Règlement intérieur, au terme desquels certains articles du Règlement ont été finalisés, et a décidé de reporter à une date ultérieure l’examen des autres articles qui n’ont pas pu être finalisés au cours de cette Session extraordinaire.

    14. La Commission africaine souhaiterait également signaler qu’en raison de l’intensité du travail requis par l’examen du Règlement intérieur, elle n’a pu examiner que trois des points à l’ordre du jour initialement établi par la Session extraordinaire, à savoir le Projet de Règlement intérieur et la situation des droits de l’homme au Kenya et en Somalie.

    15. La Commission africaine exprime ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement et au Peuple de la République de Gambie pour les facilités mises à sa disposition et pour l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité réservés aux Commissaires et aux participants, ce qui a contribué au succès des travaux de la 4ème Session extraordinaire.

    Fait à Banjul, Gambie, le 23 février 2008

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

4th Extraordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 4th Extra-Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Commission), held its 4th Extra-ordinary Session in Banjul, the Republic of The Gambia, from 17 to 23 rd February 2008.

2. Honourable Commissioner Justice Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Chairperson of the African Commission, chaired the deliberations of the 4 th Extra-ordinary Session.

3. The following Members attended and participated in the 4 th Extra-ordinary Session:

  • Commissioner Angela Melo – Vice Chairperson;
  • Commissioner Bahame Tom Mukriya Nyanduga;
  • Commissioner Mumba Malila;
  • Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou;
  • Commissioner Faith Pansy Tlakula;
  • Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye;
  • Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki;
  • Commissioner Soyata Maiga;
  • Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie;
  • Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen.

4. In her welcoming statement, the Chairperson of the African Commission, Honourable Commissioner Justice Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, on behalf of the Members of the African Commission, and on her own behalf, expressed her gratitude to the Attorney General and Secretary of State for Justice of the Republic of The Gambia for sending a representative of the Government to officially open the 4 th Extra-ordinary Session despite the Government’s busy schedule on the eve of the nation celebrating its Independence Day.

5. The Chairperson of the African Commission recalled that issues of poverty, underdevelopment, disease and conflicts continue to pose challenges to the promotion and protection of human rights, especially in Africa. She explained that, while these challenges are especially preoccupying for the African Commission, they were not in themselves the reason for holding this Extra-ordinary Session of the African Commission. This session is held, among other reasons to finalise consideration of the African Commission’s ‘Revised Rules of Procedure’ ahead of a meeting with the African Court later in the year, to harmonise the Rules of the two Institutions.

6. Tracing the history of the African Commission, she explained that the African Commission is mandated to collaborate with a range of human rights stakeholders and institutions on the continent. This collaboration, cooperation and harmonization of activities with other human rights bodies have meant that the African Commission needed to re-examine its own Rules of Procedure, especially with the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, with which the African Commission would be working very closely.

7. On the human rights situation in Kenya, following the Presidential and Legislative Elections in December 2007, the Chairperson said that it was a matter of grave concern to the African Commission. She informed the audience that she had already issued a statement calling for restraint, exhorting all sides to resolve their differences through peaceful dialogue, and urging the Kenyan Government and the People to honour its human rights obligations and duties under the African Charter.

8. The Chairperson of the African Commission concluded her statement by thanking the Government of the Republic of The Gambia for hosting the African Commission for the last twenty years. She also wished His Excellency, President Dr Alhaji Yahya A. J. J. Jammeh, his Government and the People of the Republic of The Gambia, a happy 43 rd Independence Day Anniversary.

9. The 4 th Extra-ordinary Session was officially opened by Mr Sainey Suso, the Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Department of State for Justice, on behalf of the Attorney General and Secretary of State for Justice of the Republic of The Gambia, Honourable Marie Saine Firdaus. Mr Sainey Suso welcomed the Members of the African Commission to Banjul, and thanked them for choosing Banjul, The Gambia, to hold this most important Session. He further stated that The Gambian Government is proud to be associated with the development of the Rules of Procedure, a document that will guide the operations of the African Commission in the future.

10. Mr Sainey Suso also noted that this 4 th Extra-ordinary Session is a milestone in the development of the African human rights system, because, following the establishment of an African Commission twenty years ago, and now an African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights, there is a need for synergy and complementarity between these two bodies, to consolidate the gains made by the African Commission. Hence, in his view, the need to review the ‘Rules of Procedure’ of the African Commission could not be overemphasized. He concluded by reiterating that the Government of The Gambia is firmly committed to the work of the African Commission.

11. The 4 th Extra-ordinary Session was preceded by a meeting of the African Commission’s Working Group on Specific Issues which took place from 15 to 17 February 2008. It undertook an initial review of the proposed Rules of Procedure in preparation for consideration and finalization by the Extra-ordinary Session.

12. After the opening ceremony, the Commission the adopted the agenda and discussed the current human rights situations in the Republic of Kenya and Somalia. Following the deliberations, the Commission adopted two resolutions in which it, among other things, decided to send Fact-finding Missions to Kenya and Somalia in due course to investigate serious human rights violations that are alleged to have taken place in the two countries.

13. Thereafter, the Commission started a week-long intensive and exhaustive deliberation on the Rules of Procedure, at the end of which it finalised some of the Rules, and decided to postpone to a future date those that could not be concluded during this Extra-ordinary Session.

14. The African Commission would also like to place on record that due to the intensity of the work involved in the consideration of the Rules of Procedure, it was able to consider only three of the items originally slated for this Extra-ordinary Session – namely, the Draft Rules of Procedure and the Human Rights situations in Kenya and Somalia.

15. The African Commission expresses its sincere appreciation and profound gratitude to the Government and People of the Republic of The Gambia for the facilities placed at its disposal, and for the warm welcome and hospitality accorded to the Commissioners and participants, all of which contributed to the success of the deliberations, discussions and debates at the 4 th Extra-ordinary Session.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 23rd February 2008

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights