Maya Sahli Fadel

Activities as Commissaire


    RAPPORT D’INTER SESSION

    Par

    Mme Maya Sahli-Fadel

    1. Le présent rapport rend compte, au titre de l’article 72 du Règlement intérieur de la Commission Africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (la Commission Africaine), des activités de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme entreprises au cours de la période d’intersession, depuis la 50ème session ordinaire de la Commission Africaine tenue à Banjul en Gambie du 24 octobre au 5 novembre 2011, session durant laquelle nous avons été élue à la Commission.
    2. Le rapport comprend, les activités de promotion menées en notre qualité de commissaire membre de la Commission Africaine, de membre du Groupe de travail sur la peine de mort ainsi que les activités menées en vertu du mandat qui nous a été confié en notre qualité de Rapporteure Spéciale sur les Réfugiés, les Demandeurs d’asile, les Personnes Déplacées et les Migrants en Afrique. Ce mécanisme nous a été confié par la RésolutionACHPR/Res.203 (L) 11 de la Commission africaine.

    I.                  ACTIVITES REALISEES EN QUALITE DE COMMISSAIRE MEMBRE DE LA COMMISSION AFRICAINE DES DROITS DE L‘HOMME ET DES PEUPLES :

    Au cours de cette intersession, nos activités ont été articulées autour de la participation à des séminaires, des rencontres et des ateliers de travail.

    -         Participation à la rencontre organisée par l’Union Panafricaine des Avocats.

    3.      Nous avons participé, du 21 au 23 novembre 2011, à un séminaire organisé par l’Union Panafricaine des avocats (UPA) à Tunis (Tunisie) sur le thème : «  les mécanismes africains de protection des droits de l’homme ». L’UPA est l’association qui regroupe les avocats et barreaux africains. Elle se compose des 5 barreaux régionaux et nationaux du continent ainsi que des avocats individuels qui en sont membres. Son objectif est le développement de la loi et des droits de l’homme. Elle collabore et travaille avec l’Union africaine et ses différents organes.

    4.      Le Séminaire régional tenu à Tunis a vu la présence des barreaux algérien, mauritanien, tunisien, barreau de la République arabe sahraoui ainsi que la présence des ligues des droits de l’homme, les universitaires, les avocats et professeurs. Les débats ont porté sur les mécanismes conventionnels et institutionnels des droits de l’homme en Afrique et c’est à ce titre que nous avons fait une présentation sur la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et le rôle de la Commission Africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.

    Cette communication a été suivie d’une intervention de Monsieur FatsahOugergouz, Juge à la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples sur le fonctionnement de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.

    5.      Ces deux interventions ont suscité de nombreuses questions autour de ses mécanismes. Les représentants de l’UPA ont évoqué à ce titre la nécessité de renforcer les liens avec la Commission africaine afin d’être mieux informés sur son rôle de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme.

    -          Participation aux consultations entre les mécanismes du système onusien et ceux du système africain de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme.

    6.      Nous avons participé à une rencontre organisée, à AddisAbeba du 16 au 18 janvier 2012, par le Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies aux Droits de l’homme. Cette rencontre a réuni les rapporteurs spéciaux de la Commission africaine et ceux des Nations Unies, dans le cadre du renforcement de la coopération entre les procédures spéciales des Nations Unies et les mécanismes spéciaux de la Commission africaine.

    7.      A l’issu de ces consultations, un groupe focal a été mis en place afin de développer le partenariat entre les deux procédures spéciales, celle du Haut commissariat des Nations Unies aux Droits de l’homme et celle de la Commission Africaine des droits de l’homme et des Peuples.

    -         Participation à la rencontre annuelle des mouvements européens de solidarité avec le peuple sahraoui

    8.      La rencontre s’est déroulée à Séville en Espagne du 30 janvier au 1er février 2012. Notre participation a été encouragée afin de développer un commentaire sur les dispositions de la Charte africaine relative aux droits des peuples à disposer d’eux- mêmes et l’ensemble des droits civils, politiques et économiques susceptibles d’être respectés même en situation de population en territoires occupés.

    9.      Au cours de cette rencontre, de nombreuses organisations non gouvernementales et des défenseurs des droits de l’homme nous ont interpellés sur les procédures de participation aux sessions de la Commission africaine et d’obtention du statut d’observateur afin de pouvoir défendre les droits des populations sahraoui en territoire occupé.

    -         Participation à la 19ème session duComité Africain d’Experts sur les Droits et le Bien-être de l’Enfant

    10. Au cours du mois de mars 2012, nous avons représenté la Commission africaine à la 19ème session du Comité Africain d’Experts sur les Droits et le Bien-être de l’Enfant tenue du 26 au 30 mars 2012 à AddisAbéba en Ethiopie.

    11. Cette session a vu la participation de nombreux représentant d’institutions internationales spécialisées des Nations Unies, des organes de l’Union africaine ainsi que de nombreuses organisations de la société civile.

    12. La présidente du Comité a accueilli avec beaucoup de satisfaction la participation de la Commission africaine et a réitéré son souhait de pouvoir renforcer et pérenniser cette collaboration réciproque.

    13. Le thème central de cette session a porté sur l’article 21 de la Charte africaine sur les droits et le bien-être de l’enfant qui concerne la protection contre les pratiques négatives sociales et culturelles et le courage de pouvoir surmonter et éliminer des pratiques traditionnelles néfastes en Afrique telles que les mutilations génitales féminines (pour les petites filles), les mariages forcés, les mariages précoces, le trafic d’organes, etc.

    14. Le Comité sur les Droits et le bien-être de l’enfant a sollicité la Commission africaine afin de pouvoir bénéficier de son expertise à travers ses différents mécanismes spéciaux et ses méthodes de travail. 

    -         Participation à une rencontre organisée par des associations françaises de soutien à la cause sahraoui et des Députés français à l’Assemblée Nationale française à Paris

    15. En date du 3 avril 2012, la rencontre à laquelle nous avons pris part portait sur la thématique « la question sahraoui : défis à la veille de la réunion du Conseil de sécurité ». Notre intervention a pris en charge la question du Sahara Occidental et le droit international et nous avons développé l’ensemble des sources internationales et régionales qui confortent le droit du peuple sahraoui à l’autodétermination en mettant un accent particulier sur les dispositions de la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples notamment l’article 20.

    -         Participations aux sessions extraordinaires

    16. Nous avons participé à la 10ème et 11ème sessions extraordinaires de la Commission africaine tenues successivement du 12 au 16 décembre 2011 et du 21 février au 1er mars 2012 à Banjul en Gambie. Durant ces sessions, la Commission africaine a considéré un bon nombre de communications.

    17. Durant la 11ème session extraordinaire, nous avons, en notre qualité de Commissaire responsable des activités de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme en République du Sénégal, présenté la situation des droits de l’homme qui prévalait au Sénégal durant la période pré électorale. Face à cette situation, la Commission africaine a publié un Communiqué de presse sur la dégradation de la situation des droits de l’homme et a condamné la recrudescence des actes de violence ayant caractérisé la période précédant les élections présidentielles au Sénégal. Une Résolution a été également adoptée en ce sens.

    18. Durant la session extraordinaire du mois de février nous avons été mandatée par la Commission pour intégrer le Comité préparatoire des activités relatives à la Commémoration du 25ème anniversaire de la création de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples. A l’issu des activités de ce comité, un programme a été arrêté sous la présidence du Commissaire Yeung SikYuen. 

     

    Activités comme Rapporteur Spécial sur les Réfugiés, Demandeurs d'Asile, Migrants et Personnes Déplacées


       Activités menées en qualité de Rapporteure Spéciale sur les Réfugiés, les Demandeurs d’asile, les Personnes Déplacées et les Migrants en Afrique

      3.      Des lettres de rappel pour la ratification de la Convention de l'Union africaine sur la protection et l'assistance des personnes déplacées en Afrique (Convention de Kampala) ont été envoyées aux Etats parties à la Charte Africaine qui ne l’ont pas encore ratifiée pour les exhorter à cette fin. Rappelons que deux ans et demi après son adoption, cet important instrument n’est pas encore entré en vigueur faute de 15 ratifications requises en vertu de l’article 17 point 1 du même instrument. Seuls 11 pays à savoir le Bénin, la République Centrafricaine, le Tchad, le Gabon, la Gambie, la Guinée Bissau, Lesotho, Sierra Leone, Togo, Uganda et la Zambie ont déjà ratifié la Convention.

      4.     Au cours de la 11ème Session extraordinaire organisée en février 2012 à Banjul en Gambie, nous avons adopté une résolution sur la situation des réfugiés et les déplacés internes fuyant le conflit au Nord du Mali. La Commission africaine a vivement condamné la reprise du conflit par les rebelles touaregs au Nord du Mali et qui a eu pour conséquence l’accroissement du déplacement des populations à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur du Mali. Elle a en outre apprécié l’engagement des Etats (l’Algérie, le Burkina Faso, le Niger et la Mauritanie) qui ont fait preuve d’hospitalité et de solidarité envers ces populations réfugiées du Mali.

      5.      En marge de cette 51ème session ordinaire de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, nous avons rencontré différents représentants des organisations de la société civile œuvrant dans le domaine des réfugiés, demandeurs d’asile, populations déplacées internes et migrants. Au cours de ces entretiens, des commentaires sur la situation des réfugiés, des migrants et des personnes déplacées dans certaines régions d’Afrique ont eu lieu afin de pouvoir débouché, à l’avenir, sur des visites sur site pour s’enquérir de leur situation et d’adopter des mesures appropriées.

      6.      Pour conclure, en qualité de membre du groupe de travail sur la peine de mort, nous avons participé au lancement du document sur l’étude de la question de la peine de mort en Afrique.

      7.      Nous avons également pris part aux travaux du groupe de travail sur les communications du 17 avril 2012 pour examiner deux plaintes soumises à la Commission pour saisine.

      Recommandations :

      Aux Etats parties à la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

      8.      Nous exhortons les Etats membres de l’Union africaine qui ne l’ont pas encore fait, de ratifier et/ ou d’accélérer le processus de ratification de la Convention de l'Union africaine sur la protection et l'assistance des personnes déplacées en Afrique (Convention de Kampala).

      Aux organisations de la Société civile

       9.      Nous recommandons aux organisations de la société civile de continuer leur mission de plaidoyer auprès de leurs gouvernements pour les sensibiliser à ratifier la Convention de Kampala en vue de son entrée en vigueur pour une protection efficace des déplacés internes sur le continent africain.


       

      Links


      Traduire la page

      Contactez-nous

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Maya Sahli Fadel

Activities as Commissioner


    INTER SESSION REPORT

    By

    Madam Maya Sahli-Fadel

    1.     Pursuant to Article 72 of the Rules of Procedure of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission), this Report gives an account of the human rights promotion and protection activities conducted during the intersession period, from the 50th Ordinary Session of the African Commission held in Banjul, The Gambia, from 24 October to 5 November 2011, during which session I was appointed into the Commission.  

    2.     The Report outlines the promotional activities I conducted in my capacity as Commissioner, Member of the African Commission and as Member of the Working Group on the Death Penalty, as well as the activities engaged in by virtue of the powers vested in me as Special Rapporteur on Refugees, Asylum Seekers, Internally Displaced Persons and Migrants in Africa. This mechanism was entrusted to me in accordance with the Resolution ACHPR/Res.203 (L) 11 of the African Commission.

    I.       ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED IN MY CAPACITY AS COMMISSIONER MEMBER OF THE AFRICAN COMMISSION ON HUMAN AND PEOPLES’ RIGHTS:

    During this intersession my activities focused on participation in Seminars, Meetings and Workshops.

    -          Participation in the meeting organized by the Pan-African Lawyers Union.

    1. From 21 to 23 November I participated in a Seminar organized by the Pan-African Lawyers Union (UPA) in Tunis (Tunisia) on the Theme: « the African Human Rights Protection Mechanisms ». The UPA is an Association which brings together African Lawyers and Bar Associations. It comprises 5 regional and national Bars from the Continent as well as member individual lawyers. Its objective is to develop law and human rights. It collaborates and works with the African Union and its different Organs.
    1. The regional Seminar held in Tunis was attended by Algerian, Mauritanian and Tunisian Bar Associations, by the Bar of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic as well as human rights leagues, academicians, lawyers and professors. The debates focused on the conventional and institutional human rights mechanisms in Africa and I made a presentation in this context on the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, and on the role of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

    A communication by Mr. Fatsah Ougergouz, Judge at the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights on the activities of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights followed this presentation.

    1. These two presentations stimulated numerous questions about these mechanisms. In this respect the UPA representatives expressed the need to strengthen cooperation with the African Commission in order to be better informed about its role in promoting and protecting human rights.

    -           Participation in the Consultations between the Mechanisms of the UN system and the African human rights promotion and protection System.

    6.      I participated in a meeting organized in Addis Ababa from 16 to 18 January 2012 by the United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights. This meeting brought together the Special Rapporteurs of the African Commission and the United Nations as part of the process of strengthening cooperation between the United Nations Special Mechanisms and the Special Mechanisms of the African Commission.

    7.      At the end of these Consultations a Focal group was created to develop partnership relations between these two special mechanisms, that of the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and that of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

    -          Participation in the annual meeting of the European Movements of Solidarity with the Sahrawi People.

    8.      The meeting took place in Sevilla, Spain from 30 January to 1st February 2012. I had been urged to participate to make a presentation on the provisions of the African Charter on the rights of peoples to self-determination and on all the civil, political and economic rights that need to be complied with even in situations where populations live in occupied territories.

    9.      During this meeting, numerous Non-Governmental Organizations and Human Rights Defenders inquired about the procedures governing participation in the sessions of the African Commission and on how to obtain Observer Status to enable them defend the rights of the Sahrawi Populations in occupied territories.

    -          Participation in the 19th Session of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child

    1. In March 2012 I represented the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights at the 19th session of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child held from 26 to 30 March 2012 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.
    1. This session brought together numerous representatives of the United Nations Specialized Agencies, Organs of the African Union and several civil society organizations.  
    1. The Chairperson of the Committee expressed great satisfaction with the participation of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights and reiterated her wish to see this reciprocal collaboration strengthened and sustained.
    1. The central theme of this session focused on Article 21 of the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child which deals with protection against negative social and cultural practices and the need for courage to be able to surmount and eliminate harmful traditional practices in Africa such as female genital mutilation (for young girls), forced marriages, early marriages and organ trafficking, etc.
    1. The Committee on the Rights and Welfare of the Child called on the African Commission to assist with expertise through its different special mechanisms and working methods.   

    -          Participation in a meeting organized by the French Support Associations to the Sahrawi cause and the French Members of Parliament in the French National Assembly in Paris.  

    1. On 3rd April 2012 I attended a meeting with the Theme, « the Sahrawi Issue: Challenges on the eve of the meeting of the Security Council ». My intervention dealt with the subject of the Western Sahara and International Law, during which I dilated on the global international and regional sources which reinforce the Sahrawi Peoples’ right to self determination, by placing special emphasis on the provisions of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights, in particular as provided for by Article 20.  

    -          Participation in the Extraordinary Sessions

    1. I participated in the 10th and 11th Extraordinary Sessions of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights held successively from 12 to 16 December 2011 and from 21 February to 1st March 2012 in Banjul, The Gambia. During these sessions, the African Commission examined a good number of Communications.
    1. During the 11th Extraordinary Session, in my capacity as Commissioner responsible for human rights promotion and protection activities in the Republic of Senegal, I presented the human rights situation prevailing in Senegal during the pre-electoral period. The African Commission published, in this context, a Press Release on the deteriorating human rights situation and condemned the upsurge of violence which had characterized the period prior to the presidential elections in Senegal. A Resolution was also adopted in this regard.
    1. During the Extraordinary Session in February I was mandated by the Commission to join the Preparatory Committee for the Commemoration activities marking the 25th Anniversary of the creation of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. At the end of this Committee’s activities a programme was drawn up under the chairmanship of Commissioner Yeung. 
     

    Activities as Special Rapporteur on Refugees, Asylum Seekers, Migrants and Internally Displaced Persons


      Activities carried out in my capacity as Special Rapporteur on Refugees, Asylum Seekers, Internally Displaced Persons and Migrants in Africa. 

      1. Letters of reminder for the ratification of the African Union Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (Kampala Convention) were sent to those States Parties to the African Charter that had not yet ratified it, urging them to do so. It should be recalled that two and a half years after its adoption this important instrument has still not yet entered into force for lack of the 15 ratifications required under Article 17, Point 1 of this same Instrument. Only 11 countries, namely Benin, the Central African Republic, Chad, Gabon, The Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Lesotho, Sierra Leone, Togo, Uganda and Zambia have so far ratified the Convention.
      1. During the 11th Extraordinary Session organized in February 2012 in Banjul, The Gambia, we adopted a Resolution on the situation of refugees and internally displaced persons fleeing the conflict in the North of Mali. The African Commission condemned in no uncertain terms the resumption of hostilities by the Touareg rebels in North Mali which led to the increased displacement of the populations both in the interior and outside of Mali. It moreover expressed appreciation for the commitment shown by the States (Algeria, Burkina Faso, Niger and Mauritania) which had provided hospitality and showed solidarity with these refugee populations from Mali.
      1. On the sidelines of this 51st Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights, I met several different representatives of civil society organizations active in refugee, asylum seekers, internally displaced populations and migrant issues. During these meetings the situation of refugees, migrants and internally displaced persons in certain regions of Africa were discussed, which in the future could result in field visits ground for the purpose of ascertaining the situation of these persons and the adoption of appropriate measures.  
      1. In conclusion, in my capacity as Member of the Working Group on the Death Penalty, I participated in the launching of the document “Study on the Issue of the Death Penalty in Africa”.  
      1. I also participated in the deliberations of the Working Group on Communications from 17 April 2012 to examine two Complaints submitted to the Commission for seizure.

      Recommendations:

      To the States Parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights

      1. I urge the Member States of the African Union that have not yet done so, to ratify and/or speed up the process of ratification of the African Union Convention for the Protection and Assistance of Internally Displaced Persons in Africa (Kampala Convention).

      To the Civil Society Organizations

      1. I recommend to the Organizations of Civil Society to pursue their advocacy mission with their Governments so as to sensitize them to ratify the Kampala Convention allowing its entry into force for the effective protection of internally displaced persons on the African Continent.  
       

      Links


      Translate page

      Contact Us

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights