Mohamed Bechir Khalfallah

Activities as Commissaire


    51ème SESSION

    RAPPORT D’INTER-SESSION

    de l’Honorable Commissaire BECHIR KHALFALLAH

    Madame la Présidente,

     chers collègues

    honorables participants,

                Comme vous avez pu le constater, et en raison de mon état de santé , je n’ai pu reprendre mes activités que depuis le début des travaux de la 51eme session ordinaire. En effet, et pour ce faire, je suis arrivé à Banjul le 14 avril dernier. A vous et au Secrétariat, j’ai adressé un dossier médical qui atteste de ma situation.

     Je saisis cette opportunité pour vous remercier, vous Madame ATOKI, Présidente de notre bureau ainsi que tous les collègues, les honorables Commissaires pour vos vœux et vos prières plus particulièrement  ma très chère collègue Maitre Soyata Mayga qui m’a accompagné, presque chaque semaine tout au long de mon pénible traitement. Mes remerciements vont également aux membres du Secrétariat ayant à sa tête le Dr Mary Maboreke. Enfin ma reconnaissance aux représentants des Etats ainsi qu’aux membres de la société civile qui ont bien voulu s’enquérir de ma santé et ont prié pour mon rétablissement.

    Depuis plus d’une quinzaine d’années de fréquentation assidue de notre auguste assemblée, mon expérience et mon dévouement ont été à la fois approfondis et stimulés  par l’aimable attention que vous m’avez témoignée tout au long de ces années en dépit de notre  diversité philosophique et idéologique. Cela prouve et d’une manière indubitable  que nous appartenons tous à  une même et grande famille.

    A TOUS UN GRAND MERCI

    I.                    En ma Qualité de Commissaire :

    1.      J’ai participé à plusieurs rencontres avec des représentants de la diaspora Africaine vivant à Paris et plus particulièrement à une conférence-débat animée par mon camarade Mr Abdoulaye Lebouma DIALLO représentant de l’organisation de l’Unité Syndicale Africaine (OUSA) au BIT de Genève sur le thème :

    «Rôle du Mouvement Syndical, en particulier, du Mouvement Syndical Africain, à la lumière de l’Appel d’Alger, face aux guerres d’occupation et aux urgences étrangères en Afrique»

    Les débats qui se sont suivis ont démontré, encore une fois, combien les membres de la diaspora sont attachés à leur patrie à sa liberté et sont toujours prêts à défendre sa souveraineté et ce, dans le respect des choix politiques, philosophiques et religieux de chacun. Ils souhaitent plus de lisibilité à l’action de notre Union Africaine et de sa Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples. Ils se posent toujours la double question «Quand les problèmes africains seront résolus uniquement par les africains ? Quand les ressources africaines profiteront surtout aux populations africaines ? » 

    2.      J’ai reçu le 1e avril du secrétariat, le projet de rapport composé de 53 pages de la mission effectuée en Centrafricaine du 6 au 16 juin 2011, pour que j’y apporte mes observations en ma qualité de chef de la délégation, ayant en charge les problèmes des droits humains dans ce pays. J’ai renvoyé le rapport avec mes observations le 4 avril 2012 par Chronopost.

    3.      J’ai répondu à plusieurs courriels de mon assistant, Mr Lassana KONE au sujet des pays dont j’ai la charge à savoir : le Tchad, République Arabe Sahraoui Démocratique, Centrafrique et la Mauritanie en ma qualité de Président du Groupe de travail des DESC et d’une façon générale lorsqu’il s’agit de participer à une quelconque initiative. Mr Lansana KONE nous a quitté le 10 avril courant et je me trouve depuis sans assistant francophone et ce malgré mes multiples demandes.

    Merci de votre amiable attention

    Béchir KHALFALLAH

     

    Activités comme Président du GT

    Groupe de travail sur les Droits Economiques, Sociaux et Culturels


      I.                    En ma qualité de Président du GROUPE DE  TRAVAIL des Droits Economiques Sociaux et Culturels(DESC).

      Dans ce cadre je voudrais remercier tous les membres du groupe de travail qui ont finalisé le travail concernant LES LIGNES DIRECTRICES DE TUNIS en deux fascicules et leur présentation par l’Hon. Commissaire Atuki membre du groupe et ce en mon absence.

      1.      Nous avons apporté notre soutien au texte que nous avons reçu de la coalition d’ONGs en faveur du Protocole facultatif au PIDESC, qui appelle les Etats africains à sa ratification, dans le cadre de la campagne «Justice Maintenant : ratifier pour protéger tous les droits humains.»

      2.      Nous avons également apporté notre soutien à la Déclaration de juristes et d’experts auprès des Nations Unies présentée par une vingtaine de personnalité qui appellent nos Etats à ratifier le PIDESC et encouragent le CADHP dans sa démarche en faveur du DESC.

      3.      Une réunion téléphonique le 28 mars 2012 qui a duré une quarantaine de minutes, a réuni Mr Lain BYRNE coordinateur de la politique en matière des DESC et Mr Daniel VALLS coordinateur régional de campagne pour l’Afrique d’AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL.

      Cette organisation internationale considère que les Principes et lignes directrices sur la mise en œuvre des DESC adoptées par le Groupe de travail de la CADHP constituent une avancée significative clarifiant les obligations des Etats au regard de la charte Africaine. Elle nous informe qu’elle lance une campagne «EXIGEONS LA DIGNITE» dont l’objectif est de faire connaitre les problèmes des pauvres afin qu’ils puissent revendiquer leurs droits. Il s’agit d’une campagne de grande ampleur touchant tous les domaines qui se rapportent à la pauvreté et des moyens pour la combattre.

      Enfin, dans le but de soutenir et d’encourager le travail du groupe DESC de la CADHP, Amnesty International propose d’organiser «un événement» en association avec la FIDH au cours de la 51ème session qui aura lieu à Banjul du 18 avril au 2 mai 2012.

      Au nom de notre groupe de travail, j’ai remercié Amnesty International  pour ses encouragements et sa responsabilité à mobiliser ses énergies pour que l’Afrique soit un partenaire important dans la ratification du PIDESC.

      4.      Réunion au siège de la FIDH à Paris le jeudi 5 avril 2012 avec Mlle Elin Wrzoncki et Florent. Au cours de cet entretien, j’ai pu prendre connaissance des moyens importants déployés par cette organisation en faveur de la ratification du PIDESC.

      -          La création d’une coalition d’une trentaine d’ONGs mobilisées pour obtenir cette ratification

      -          L’édition de 4 brochures, qui consacre une large et claire couverture de tous les aspects étudiés , en vue de vulgariser les droits que renferme le PIDESC mais également initier les militants de la société civile sur les moyens pour réussir cette ratification.

      La FIDH a confirmé sa participation en association avec Amnesty International pour animer l’événement pour la ratification qui aura lieu au cours de la présente session.

       

      5.      Participation, avec ma collègue Maitre MAIGA membre du groupe, à l’événement pour la ratification et ce le 19 avril 2012 de 13h30 à 15h

      Tous les intervenants et les participants au débat ont mis en évidence l’importance de DESC qui complètent les droits politiques et civils et deviennent l’organe premier de nos peuples affranchi de la dictature et de l’arbitraire.

      Madame la Présidente,

      Aujourd’hui plus qu’hier, la dignité, la démocratie plurielle et pluraliste et la bonne gouvernance passent par le respect et la réalisation des DESC.

      Nous tenons à remercier chaleureusement les représentants de nos Etats de l’intérêt qu’ils accordent à ces DESC et aux représentants de la société civile pour leur mobilisation et leur participation.

      C’est ainsi que l’adoption le 10 décembre 2008 des DESC et l’ouverture de la procédure de leur ratification dès 2009 a permis a 47 Etats de l’Union Africaine d’être  parties au PIDESC, 10 ont signé le Protocole et aucun ne l’a encore ratifié.

      A ce jour 8 Etats ont cependant ratifié ce Protocole qui entrera en vigueur dès la 10ème ratification.

      Alors que le système africain de protection des droits de l’homme fait figure de précurseur en ce qui concerne les DESC et qu’il a joué un rôle majeur dans les négociations qui ont amené à l’adoption de cet instrument. Seulement 10 ont signé ce protocole et aucun ne l’a encore ratifié.

      Cela serait dommage que les pays qui ont mis en marche le processus, ratent le train de l’histoire.

      Merci de votre amiable attention

      Béchir KHALFALLAH

       

      Links


      Traduire la page

      Contactez-nous

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Mohamed Bechir Khalfallah

Activities as Commissioner


    51st SESSION

    INTERSESSION REPORT

    BY HONOURABLE BECHIR KHALFALLAH

    Madam Chairperson,

    Dear Colleagues,

    Distinguished participants,

     

                As you might have observed, as a result of my health condition, I could not resume activities except at the beginning of the deliberations of the 51st Ordinary Session. Indeed, I arrived in Banjul just on 14 April, 2012.  I forwarded a medical record to you and the Secretariat as proof of my state of health.

    I seize this opportunity to express my gratitude to you, Madam ATOKI, Chairperson of our bureau and to all colleagues, Honourable Commissioners for all your best wishes and your prayers, in particularly to my dear colleague Madam Soyata MAIGA who accompanied me almost every week during the long and painful treatment. I also express my thanks to members of the Secretariat headed by Dr. Mary MABOREKE. Finally, I express my appreciation to States’ representatives and members of civil society who were eager to know about my state of health and prayed for my recovery.

    For more than fifteen years that I have been participating assiduously in the work of this  august assembly, my experience and devotion have been enhanced and boosted by the kindhearted attention you have given to me throughout all these years in spite of our philosophical and ideological diversity. This state of affairs undoubtedly shows that we all belong to a single big family.

    I WISH TO SAY A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL

    I.                    In my capacity as Commissioner:

    1.      I participated in several meetings with representatives of the African Diaspora living in Paris and particularly, in a conference-debate facilitated by my friend, Mr. Abdoulaye Lelouma DIALLO, representative of the Organization of African Trade Union Unity (OATUU) at the ILO in Geneva on the theme :

    «The Role of the Trade Union Movement, in particular the African Trade Union Movement, in the light of the Algiers Appeal, vis-à-vis occupation wars and foreign interference in Africa»

    The ensuing discussions once again showed how members of the Diaspora are attached to their motherland and its freedom; and are always ready to defend its sovereignty while respecting the political, philosophical and religious choices of every individual. Furthermore, they expect greater clarity of action from our African Union and its African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. They do not stop asking themselves the following two questions: «When will African problems be solved solely by Africans themselves? When will African resources directly benefit the African population?

    2.      On 1st April, 2012, I received a 53-page report from the Secretariat on the mission undertaken to the Central African Republic from 6 to 16 June, 2011 requesting that I submit my observations and contributions as head of delegation responsible for human rights problems in the Central African Republic. I sent back the report on 4 April, 2012 via Chronopost.

    3.      I responded to several mails  sent my legal assistant, Mr Lassana KONE,  on countries for which I am responsible, namely : Chad, Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, the Central African Republic and Mauritania in my capacity as the Chairperson of the Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and generally when it had to do with my participation in any initiative.  Mr Lansana KONE left us on 10 April, 2012, and since then I do not have any French-speaking legal assistant, in spite of the numerous requests I have made in that respect.

    Thank you for your kind attention

    Bechir KHALFALLAH

     

    Activities as Working Group Chairperson

    Working Group on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights


      I.                    In my capacity as the Chairperson of the Working Group on economic, social and cultural rights (ESCR)

       I would like to thank all Members of the Working Group who finalized the work on THE TUNIS GUIDELINES in two (2) parts and their presentation, even in my absence, to Honourable Commissioner ATOKI, member of the Group.

      1.      We provided support concerning the text we received from the Coalition of NGOs on the Optional Protocol to the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, which enjoins African States to ratify it as part of the campaign dubbed « JUSTICE NOW: Ratify to protect all human rights. »

      2.      We also supported the United Nations Lawyers and Experts’ Declaration presented by about twenty personalities who are urging our States to ratify the ICESCR, and are encouraging the ACHPR to continue with its efforts to promote the ESCR.

      3.      We also had a meeting by telephone on 28 March, 2012 which lasted for about forty minutes; this meeting involved me, Mr. Lain BYRNE, Policy Coordinator for the ESCR and Mr. Daniel VALLS, Regional Campaign Coordinator for AMNESTY INTERNATIONAL- Africa.

      This international organization was of the view that the Principles and Guidelines on the Implementation of the ESCR adopted by the ACHPR Working Group marked a significant step forward as they clarified the obligations of States vis-à-vis the African Charter. The organization informed us that it was launching a campaign entitled «LET US DEMAND DIGNITY» with the aim of publicizing the problems of the poor to enable them claim their rights. It was a large-scale campaign touching on poverty-related issues and the means by which they could  be addressed.

      Finally, to support and encourage the work of the ACHPR Working Group on ESCR, AMNESTY International proposed to organize «an event» in collaboration with FIDH during the 51st Session to be held in Banjul from 18 April to 2 May, 2012.

      On behalf of our Group, I expressed our appreciation to Amnesty International for its encouragement and diligence in mobilizing its efforts and energy to ensure that Africa becomes a key partner in the ratification of the ICESCR.

      4.      Meeting at the headquarters of FIDH in Paris on Thursday 5 April, 2012 with Ms. Elin Wrzoncki and Florent.  During this meeting, I was able to learn about the essential methods used by this organization in getting the ICESCR ratified, namely:

      -          The creation of a thirty-member Coalition of NGOs mobilized to achieve this ratification

       -          The publication of 4 brochures with very wide and clear coverage of all aspects studied with a view to popularizing the human rights contained in the ICESCR and also introducing civil society activists to methods aimed at ensuring successful ratification.

      The FIDH confirmed its participation, in collaboration with Amnesty International, to facilitate the event for ratification which will take place in the course of this session.

       5.      Together with my colleague, Member of the Group, Madam MAIGA, we participated in the event for ratification on 19 April, 2012 from 13h 30 to 15h.00

      During the discussions, all the speakers and participants highlighted the importance of the ESCR which are complementary to political and civil rights and constitute the first instrument of our people liberated from dictatorship and arbitrariness.

      Madam Chairperson,

      Today, more than ever before, the key to dignity, multiparty democracy and good governance is the respect for economic, social and cultural rights and achieving them.

      We wholeheartedly express our thanks to State representatives for the importance they attach to ESCR and to civil society representatives for their mobilization drive and their participation.

      We have before us 2 statements and 2 resolutions to support the ratification of the ICESCR which will be submitted for consideration by our Commission during the private session.

      Thus, the adoption of the ESCR on 10 December, 2008 and the opening of the procedure for ratification from 2009 paved the way for 47 States of the African Union to be parties to the ICESCR. Ten (10) States have signed the Protocol but it has not yet been ratified by any State.

      However, to date, 8 States have ratified the Protocol and it will come into effect once it has been ratified by the 10th State.

      Though the African human rights protection system is generally viewed as the forerunner of ESCR and that Africa played a key role in the negotiations leading to the adoption of this instrument, only 10 States have signed the Protocol and none has so far ratified it.

      It would be unfortunate that countries that set the ball rolling will miss out on this historic opportunity.

      Thank you for your kind attention

      Bechir KHALFALLAH

       

       

      Links


      Translate page

      Contact Us

      • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
      • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
      • The Gambia
      • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
      • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
      • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

      ACHPR Newsletter

      Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
      © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights