ALLOCUTION PRONONCEE AU NOM DE SON EXCELLENCE DR AISHA L. ABDULLAHI (AMB.) COMMISSAIRE AUX AFFAIRES POLITIQUES DE LA

    Excellence, Monsieur José  Eduardo   dos  Santos,  Président de la République d’Angola

     

    Monsieur le Ministre  Rui Mangueira,  Ministre de la Justice et des Droits de l’homme de la République d’Angola

     

    Honorable  Madame   Zainabo    Sylvie    Kayitesi,  Présidente de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

     

    Honorable Vice-président et Honorables Membres de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

     

     

    Mesdames, Messieurs les Ministres, Mesdames Messieurs les Chefs de délégation, Mesdames& Messieurs les délégués des États parties à la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

     

    Monsieur le Représentant de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

     

    Monsieur le Représentant (du Comité africain d’experts sur les droits et le bien-être de l’enfant

     

    Excellences, Mesdames & Messieurs les Membres du Corps diplomatique et consulaire

     

    Dr Mary Maboreke, Secrétaire exécutive de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

     

    Mesdames et Messieurs les Représentants des Institutions nationales des Droits de l’Homme

     

    Mesdames et Messieurs les Représentants des Organismes des Nations Unies

     

    Mesdames et Messieurs les Représentants de l’Union européenne

     

    Mesdames et Messieurs les Représentants des  Organisations de la Société civile et des Organisations non-gouvernementales

     

    Honorables Invités, Mesdames & Messieurs,

     

     

      

    Au nom de Son Excellence Dr Aisha L. Abdullahi, Commissaire aux Affaires politiques, qui malheureusement n’a pas pu être des nôtres aujourd’hui,  c'est à la fois un honneur et une joie pour moi de me retrouver ici en République d’Angola à la cérémonie d’ouverture de la 55ème  Session ordinaire de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.

     

    La tenue de cette session dans cette belle ville de Luanda ne  pouvait survenir à un meilleur moment. En effet, nombre d’entre nous se rappelleront qu’il y a quelques années, cette grande République d’Angola était confrontée à une longue guerre civile, mais grâce au grand patriotisme, au leadership, à la détermination et au courage du peuple angolais dirigé par Son Excellence  Monsieur José Eduardo dos Santos, Président de la République d’Angola, cette page est désormais tournée.  Il est par conséquent plus qu’approprié que nous soyons  tous réunis ici aujourd’hui à cette auguste assemblée en République d’Angola pour renouveler notre engagement à la promotion et la protection des droits en Afrique.

     

    Je voudrais, dès l’entame de mon propos, exprimer au nom de la Commission de l’Union africaine, notre profonde gratitude à l’endroit de Son Excellence Monsieur le Président de la République d’Angola, des Membres de son Gouvernement et du peuple angolais pour l’accueil chaleureux et l’hospitalité généreuse qu’ils nous réservés, à nous et à toutes les délégations depuis notre arrivée à Luanda. Il est remarquable de constater que quelques années seulement après ce conflit malheureux, le pays se soit complètement remis, et marche avec enthousiasme vers la réconciliation nationale et l’apaisement, offrant ainsi au peuple angolais un endroit où il fait bon vivre dans la paix et l’unité.

     

    Il sied également de saisir cette occasion pour saluer le leadership et l’engagement résolus de Son Excellence Monsieur le Président de la République d’Angola et de son gouvernement en faveur de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme en Angola et en Afrique. Le soutien continu de la République d’Angola à l’agenda des droits de l’homme de l’Union africaine est démontré clairement par l’accueil de cette importante session ordinaire de la Commission africaine dans cette belle ville de Luanda.

     

    Honorable Présidente Zainabo Sylvie Kayitesi,  honorables membres de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, permettez-moi de vous exprimer nos félicitations les plus sincères, pour vos efforts inlassables et votre dévouement pour la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme et des peuples sur le continent.

    Nous saluons votre diligence et les efforts consentis pour organiser la présente 55ème  Session ordinaire, ici en République d’Angola et qui contribue dans une large mesure au renforcement de l’efficacité du système africain des droits de l’homme en général et du travail de la Commission en particulier, en sa qualité de gardienne de l’agenda du continent en matière de droits de l’homme et des peuples. Je tiens également à témoigner notre reconnaissance et notre gratitude aux membres du Secrétariat de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples pour le dur travail qu’ils accomplissent en coulisse, mais également et surtout à l'ensemble des délégués et participants pour leur présence à cette session.

     

    Excellences, Honorables Invités, Mesdames et Messieurs,

     

    Au cours des dernières décennies, le Continent africain a eu à faire face à de nombreux défis en matière de droits de l'homme qui résultent d’un large éventail de facteurs, que sont, entre autres, la guerre, la pauvreté, la corruption, la gouvernance autocratique, pour n’en citer que quelques uns. C’est dans ce contexte que les États membres de ce qui était alors l’Organisation de l’Unité africaine (OUA), ont pris l'engagement solennel de promouvoir et de protéger la liberté, la justice, l’égalité et la dignité africaine en mettant en place des instruments pour assurer le respect de ces valeurs.

     

    La Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (CAfDHP) a été adoptée par l’OUA le 27 juin 1981 et est entrée en vigueur le 21 octobre 1986. Cet instrument forme la base du Système africain des droits africains et il est unique par rapport aux instruments régionaux relatifs aux droits de l’homme en ce qu'elle couvre non seulement des normes internationalement admises en matière de droits de l’homme, mais également des valeurs qui sont propres au continent africain.  Par ailleurs, la Charte africaine consacre des droits civils et politiques, sociaux, économiques et culturels, les droits collectifs des peuples et contient des devoirs et responsabilités de l’individu dans la société.

     

    La présente Session ordinaire coïncide aussi avec l’adoption du Plan stratégique 2014-2017 de l’Union africaine, qui érige en priorité la promotion des droits de l’homme et des peuples, la paix et la stabilité, la démocratie et la bonne gouvernance en tant que fondements du développement durable et de sociétés stables en Afrique.

     

    De même, l’Architecture africaine de la gouvernance adoptée et sa Plateforme visent à soutenir les États membres de l’UA dans leurs efforts de promotion de la démocratie, la bonne gouvernance, des droits de l’homme et de l’État de droit. Dans ce contexte, la pleine opérationnalisation de la Plateforme de la gouvernance africaine suscite beaucoup d’espoir en termes d’approfondissement de la gouvernance démocratique dans nos systèmes de gouvernement en Afrique.    La Plateforme sert de cadre par lequel de nombreux acteurs de la gouvernance,  de la démocratie et des droits de l’homme peuvent influer sur le processus de facilitation de l’adhésion aux instruments de l’UA et à leur ratification, mais surtout, l’intégration et la mise en œuvre de ces instruments ainsi que le suivi et l’évaluation de cette mise en œuvre.

     

    La Plateforme africaine de la gouvernance, en particulier son volet droits de l’homme et justice transitionnelle, offre l’occasion unique de renforcer nos capacités et d’approfondir notre compréhension en ce qui concerne les questions des droits de l’homme et des peuples, de la démocratie et de la gouvernance, qui constituent les valeurs partagées de l’Afrique. Je suis heureuse d’annoncer que la Plateforme recevra et examinera les rapports des États membres de cette année  sur la mise en œuvre de la Charte africaine de la démocratie, des élections et de la gouvernance, une autre mesure importante dans la promotion de la bonne gouvernance, de la démocratie et des droits de l’homme.

     

    Excellences, Honorables Invités, Mesdames et Messieurs,

     

    Dans le cadre des efforts que ne cesse déployer l’Union africaine pour promouvoir et protéger les droits de l’homme et des peuples sur le continent, le Département des Affaires politiques travaille à la coordination du processus de mise en œuvre du Plan d’action de la Stratégie africaine des droits de l’homme. L’objectif principal de la Stratégie est de pallier aux lacunes actuelles du système africain des droits de l'homme, mais également de faire converger les approches des institutions et autres acteurs des droits de l'homme sur le continent. Cela permettra alors de soutenir les efforts visant à renforcer et faciliter le développement et la coordination de la promotion et de la protection des droits de l’homme en Afrique.

     

    Comme résultat direct de la Stratégie, des réunions se tiennent régulièrement entre l’UA et les Mécanismes spéciaux de protection des droits de l’homme de l’ONU et l’UA.  Ces réunions visent à renforcer le niveau de coopération et de coopération entre les systèmes de protection des droits de l’homme au niveau mondial et continental et ont réussi à atteindre cet objectif.

     

    Il convient également de noter que la Stratégie africaine des droits de l’homme met aussi l’accent sur la justice transitionnelle, qui est devenue un domaine prioritaire à l’appui des efforts que déployons pour faire face aux questions de reconstruction, de paix et de développement post-conflit. Le Département des Affaires politiques collabore avec les Organes de l’UA, les partenaires et autres acteurs pour finaliser l’élaboration d’un Cadre de politique de l’UA sur la justice transitionnelle en Afrique, qui sera approuvé lors du Sommet de janvier 2015.

     

    De plus, la Stratégie africaine des droits de l’homme prévoit la création d’un Institut panafricain des droits de l’homme d’ici à 2015. Le processus de mise sur pied de cet Institut est piloté par le Département des Affaires politiques (DAP) en étroite collaboration avec l’ensemble des Organes de l’UA intervenant dans le domaine des droits de l’homme. L’institut proposé aura un mandat correspondant à l’article 45 de la Charte africaine et mettra l’accent sur la recherche ainsi que les services de soutien aux mécanismes de droits de l’homme de l’UA, à savoir : la Commission africaine, la Cour africaine, et le Comité africain d’experts sur les droits et le bien-être de l’enfant. Aussi, je souhaite qu'au cours de la présente Session, la Commission africaine formule une recommandation pour appuyer ces efforts.

     

    Un autre résultat du processus de mise en œuvre du Plan d’action de la Stratégie africaine des droits de l’homme est le soutien apporté au Réseau des Institutions africaines des droits de l’homme dans le but de renforcer ses relations de travail avec la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, mais également les autres organes de l’Union. Aujourd’hui, une réunion regroupant les membres de ce Réseau sera finalisée après des débats fructueux sur comment améliorer ces relations de travail afin de renforcer la promotion et la protection des droits de l’homme et des peuples en Afrique.

     

    En outre, le Département des Affaires politiques a commencé à déployer des observateurs des droits de l’homme au Mali et en RCA, et  mis sur pied d’une Commission d’enquête pour le Soudan du Sud, qui est actuellement sur le terrain. Le Département anime également l’action menée pour créer un monument commémoratif des droits de l’homme au siège de l'UA pour les victimes des violations des droits de l'homme, y compris celles du génocide, ses guerres civiles, de l’esclavage, du colonialisme et de l’apartheid.

     

    Excellences, Honorables Invités, Mesdames et Messieurs,

     

    La présente Session ordinaire a lieu quelques jours seulement après la commémoration du 20ème  anniversaire du génocide rwandais de 1994, ce qui nous offre l’occasion de marquer notre engagement collectif à ne plus jamais permettre un tel événement de se reproduire en Afrique.

     

    Il y a 20 ans, nous avons assisté avec choc et incrédulité à la brutalité qui a accompagné le génocide en Rwanda. Le monde entier était resté comme paralysé malgré l’adoption à l’unanimité le 9 décembre 1948, par l'Assemblée générale des Nations Unies, de la Convention pour la prévention et la répression du crime de génocide et beaucoup d’autres instruments internationaux et régionaux relatifs aux droits de l'homme.

     

    Dans le même ordre d’idées, la Commission de l’Union africaine suit la situation des droits de l’homme dans nombre d’États membres de l’Union africaine, notamment la République Centrafricaine, le Mali, l’Égypte, le Soudan, le Soudan du Sud, la RDC et la Somalie, s’appuyant sur l’attachement de l’Union africaine et de ses membres à la pleine jouissance  par tous les africains de leurs droits humains individuels et collectifs.

     

    Excellences, Honorables Invités, Mesdames et Messieurs,

     

    Au moment où nous exprimons notre soutien au travail de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, il est important également que nous saluons les efforts de tous ceux qui s'activent sur le terrain des droits de l'homme en Afrique.   Je voudrais également saisir cette occasion pour exhorter les États membres de l’UA à ratifier et mettre en œuvre tous les instruments de droits de l’homme et de gouvernance et encourager toutes les organisations gouvernementales et non-gouvernementales à continuer à plaider  en faveur de la ratification et de l’intégration de ces instruments.  

     

    Il est indispensable de préciser que la responsabilité de promouvoir et protéger les droits de l’homme et des peuples incombe à chaque État membre de l’UA. Mais nous devons également garder à l’esprit notre responsabilité individuelle, qui est fondamentale pour instaurer une culture de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme sur le continent.

     

    Excellences, Honorables Invités, Mesdames et Messieurs,

     

    La réalisation de notre vision commune d’une Afrique unie et prospère ainsi que l’édification d’une culture de promotion et de protection des droits de l’homme et des peuples demeurent une tâche de grande ampleur, qui requiert notre résolution collective. C’est dans  ce  contexte que la Commission de l’Union africaine a entamé le processus d'élaboration de l'Agenda 2063 de l'UA. Il s’agit en effet d’un processus d’actualisation du rêve africain  d’un continent uni et prospère dans les 50 prochaines années. Il est effectivement de notre obligation d’analyser et de comprendre les défis internationaux auxquels nous sommes actuellement confrontés et de leur trouver des solutions locales.

     

    Sous ce chapitre, je voudrais souligner que la participation de tous les africains à cet important processus est essentielle pour la promotion des droits de l’homme, de la bonne gouvernance, le respect des principes démocratiques et de l'État de droit, tels que stipulés dans l’Acte constitutif de l’Union africaine. La participation de l’ensemble des africains contribuera également au maintien de la paix et de la stabilité sur le continent, permettant ainsi d’accélérer son développement ainsi que la réalisation de sa vision d’une Africaine paisible, prospère pleinement intégrée et unie.

     

    Je vais conclure cette allocution en soulignant le fait que cette Session contribuera à faire avancer les droits de l’homme et des peuples en Afrique et permettra de renforcer les relations entre la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et les autres acteurs des droits de l’homme du continent. J’invite donc tout un chacun d’entre vous à soutenir le travail des mécanismes et institutions de protection des droits de l’homme de l’Union africaine afin de renforcer la promotion et la protection des droits de l'homme sur le continent. Je souligne que l’Union africaine a besoin du soutien de tous les Africains pour réaliser ses buts et objectifs afin de forger un meilleur avenir à notre cher continent.

     

    Encore une fois, je voudrais, au nom de Son Excellence, la Commissaire aux Affaires politiques, exprimer notre gratitude au Gouvernement et au peuple de la République d’Angola  et à la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples pour avoir pris l’initiative d’organiser cette très importante rencontre, et inviter tous les participants à contribuer, de par vos idées et vos suggestions, aux moyens d’aller de l’avant ensemble et d’assurer la réussite de cette Session.

     

    Je vous remercie de votre aimable attention.

     

    Allocutions de la session


    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Opening Statement on behalf of H.E. Dr. Aisha L. Abdullahi (AMB.) Commissioner for Political Affiars, African Union Commission

    Your Excellency, Mr. Jose Eduardo dos Santos, President of the Republic of Angola

    Honourable Mr. Rui Mangueira, Minister of Justice and Human Rights of the Republic of Angola

    Honourable Madam Zainabo Sylvie Kayitesi, Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Honourable Vice Chairperson and Commissioners of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Honourable Ministers and Heads of Delegation, Delegates of State Parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Honourable Representative of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Honourable Representative of the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child

    Excellencies Ambassadors and Members of the Diplomatic and Consular Corps

    Dr. Mary Maboreke, Executive Secretary to the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

    Distinguished Representatives of the African National Human Rights Institutions Distinguished Representatives of the UN Agencies

    Distinguished Representatives of the EU

    Distinguished   Representatives   of   Civil   Society   and   Non-Governmental Organizations

    Distinguished Guests Ladies and Gentlemen,

    On behalf of H.E. Dr. Aisha L. Abdullahi, Commissioner for Political Affairs, who regrettably was unable to be here with us today, I am deeply honoured and delighted to be in the Republic of Angola at the opening ceremony of the 55th Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights.

    The location of this session in this beautiful city of Luanda could not have come at a better time. Many of us will recall that less than a few years ago, this great Republic of Angola was in a long civil war, but thanks to the great patriotism, leadership, determination and courage of the Angolan peoples led by H.E. Mr. Jose Eduardo dos Santos, President of the Republic of Angola, the tide has since changed for the better. It is therefore most befitting that we are all gathered here today at this auspicious assembly in the Republic of Angola to renew our commitment to the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa.

    At the outset, I wish to express, on behalf of the African Union Commission, our heartfelt appreciation to H.E. the President of the Republic of Angola, Members of his Government as well as the Angolan people for the warm hospitality and welcome accorded to us and all other delegations since our arrival in Luanda. It is remarkable that just a few years after the regrettable conflict, the country has fully recovered, and marched with gusto towards national reconciliation and healing offering the Angolan people a better place to live in peace and unity.

    It is also appropriate to seize this opportunity to commend the bold leadership and commitment of H.E. the President of the Republic of Angola and his government to the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Angola and in Africa. The continued support of the Republic of Angola to the African Union human rights agenda is clearly demonstrated by hosting this important ordinary session of the African Commission here in this beautiful city of Luanda.

    Honorable Chairperson Madam Zainabo Sylvie Kayitesi and Members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, I would like to congratulate you, for your unrelenting efforts and dedication to the promotion and protection of human peoples' rights on the continent. We appreciate your diligence and efforts to hold this 55th Ordinary Session, in the Republic of Angola, which in no small measure, enhances the effectiveness of the African Human and Peoples' Rights System in general and the work of the Commission in particular, as the key custodian of the Continental Human and Peoples' Rights Agenda. I would also particularly like to recognize and thank members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights Secretariat for their hard work behind the scenes and even more importantly to all delegates and participants for their attendance of this session.

     

    Excellencies, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen

    The African continent has witnessed decades of numerous human rights challenges resulting from a diverse range of factors, which include war, poverty, corruption, autocratic governance and much more. It is against this background that member states of the then Organization of African Unity (OAU), solemnly resolved to promote and safeguard freedom, justice, equality and human dignity in Africa by putting in place instruments to enforce these values.

    The African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights (ACHPR) was adopted by the OAU on 27 June 1981 and was entered into force on 21 October 1986. This instrument forms the basis of the African Human Rights System and it is unique to other regional human rights instruments because it is not only covers internationally accepted human rights standards, but also recognizes values that are unique to the African continent. The African Charter also provides for Civil and Political Rights, Social, Economic and Cultural Rights, Peoples' and Group Rights and includes duties and responsibilities of the individual in the society.

    This Ordinary Session is also taking place as we begin the implementation process of the African Union's Strategic Plan 2014-2017, which prioritised the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights, peace and stability, democracy and good governance as foundations for sustainable development and stable societies in Africa.

    In the same vein, the adopted African Governance Architecture and its Platform are meant to support Member States in their efforts to promote democracy, good governance, human rights and the rule of law. Within this context, the full operationalization of the African Governance Platform inspires a lot of hope in deepening democratic governance in our systems of government in Africa.   The Platform presents a framework through which many of the stakeholders on governance,democracy and human rights will influence the process of facilitating accession to and ratification of AU instruments, but more importantly their domestication, monitoring and evaluation.

    The African Governance Platform, particularly under its Human Rights and Transitional Justice Cluster, provides a unique opportunity to strengthen the capacity and deepen our understanding of issues of human and peoples' rights, democracy and governance, as part of our African Shared Values. We are happy to announce that the Platform will receive and review this year reports from Member States on the implementation of the African Charter on Democracy, Elections and Governance, another step towards enhancing the promotion of good governance, democracy and human rights in Africa.

    Excellencies, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen

    As part of the continued efforts of the African Union to promote and protect human and peoples' rights on the continent, the Department of Political Affairs is coordinating the process of implementing the Action Plan of the Human Rights Strategy for Africa, which was adopted by the AU organs in 2011. The key objective of the Strategy is to address current weaknesses within the human rights system in Africa, as well as to bring about convergences in the workings of the human rights institutions and actors on the continent. This will then aid the efforts to strengthen and facilitate the development and the coordination of the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa.

    As a direct result of the Strategy, consistent meetings between the AU and the UN Human Rights Special Mandates and Procedures are being held on a regular basis. These meetings are aimed at enhancing the level of cooperation and collaboration between the Global and Continental Human Rights Systems and have successfully achieved this goal.

    It is also pertinent to note that, the Human Rights Strategy for Africa also focuses on Transitional Justice, which has become a major area of focus that aids our quest to deal with issues of post conflict reconstruction, peace and development. The Department of Political Affairs is collaborating with the relevant AU Organs, partners and other stakeholders to finalize the development of an AU Transitional Justice Policy Framework for Africa, which will be endorsed during the January Summit of 2015.

    Additionally, the Human Rights Strategy for Africa foresees the creation of a Pan African Institute for Human Rights by 2015. The work on establishing this Institute is led by the Department of Political Affairs (DPA) in close collaboration with all AU organs with a human rights mandate. The proposed Institute will have a mandate corresponding to article 45 of the African Charter and its focus will be on research as well as support to the AU human rights mechanisms, namely: the African Commission, the African Court, and the African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child. It is my wish, therefore, that during this Session, the African Commission will issue a recommendation supporting these efforts.

    Another outcome of the implementation process of the Action Plan of the Human Rights Strategy for Africa is the support provided to the Network of the African National Human Rights Institutions in an effort to enhance its working relationship with the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights as well as other organs of the Union. Today, a meeting consisting of members of this Network will be concluded after successful deliberations on how to strengthen this working relationship in order to enhance the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights in Africa.

    Additionally, the Department of Political Affairs began the deployment of human rights observers' missions to Mali and CAR, as well as the establishment of the Commission of Inquiry for South Sudan, which is currently on the ground. The Department is also leading the efforts to establish an AU Human Rights Memorial Site at the AU HQ for the victims of human rights abuses including genocide, civil war, slavery, colonialism and apartheid.

     

    Excellencies, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen

    This Ordinary Session is taking place a few days after the commemoration of the 20th anniversary of the 1994 Rwanda Genocide, which affords us an opportunity to mark our collective resolve to never again allow genocide in Africa.

    Twenty years ago, we witnessed with shock and utter disbelief at the scenes of brutality as the genocide unfolded in Rwanda. The whole world stood paralysed despite the unanimous adoption on 9 December 1948, by the United Nations General Assembly, of the Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide and many other international and continental human rights instruments.

    In the same vein, the African Union Commission is monitoring the situation of human rights in many African member states namely; the Central African Republic, Mali, Egypt, Sudan, South Sudan, DRC, and Somalia supported by the commitment of the African Union and its Member States towards the full enjoyment of all Africans of their human and peoples' rights.

     

    Excellencies, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen

    As we express our support for the work of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, it is important that we also recognize with appreciation the efforts of all who are active in the terrain of human rights in Africa. I also wish to seize this opportunity to urge the AU Member States to ratify and implement all human rights and governance instruments and encourage all governmental and non-governmental organizations to continue advocating for the full ratification and domestication of these instruments.

    It is essential to state that the promotion and protection of human and peoples' rights is the responsibility of every AU member state. But we should also be mindful of our individual responsibility, which is crucial for building a culture of human rights promotion and protection on the continent.

     

    Excellencies, Distinguished Guests, Ladies and Gentlemen

    The realization of our common vision of a united and prosperous Africa as well as the building of a culture of promoting and protecting human and peoples' rights remain a great task, which requires our common resolve. it is within this context that the African Union Commission began the process of developing the AU Agenda 2063. It is indeed a process to actualise the African dream of a united and prosperous continent in the next 50 years. It is also a process to analyze and understand the global challenges that we are currently facing and to find homegrown solutions to them.

    In this regard, I would like to emphasize that the participation of all African people to this important process is essential for the promotion of human rights, good governance, respect for democratic principles and the rule of law as underscored in the Constitutive Act of the African Union. The particiaption of all Africans will also contribute to the maintenance of peace and  stability on the continent thereby accelerating its development as well as the realization of its vision of a peaceful, prosperous and fully integrated and united Africa.

    I will conclude this statement by highlighting the fact that this Session will contribute to the advancement of human and peoples' rights in Africa and help to strengthen the relationship between the African Commission on Human and People's Rights and other stakeholders in the terrain of human rights in Africa. I therefore call on every one of you to support the efforts of the AU human rights mechanisms and institutions in order to enhance the promotion and protection of Human Rights on the Continent. It is indeed a reality that the African Union as a people-centred organization needs the support of all Africans in order to achieve its goals and objectives for a better future for our beloved continent.

    Once again, on behalf of H.E. Commissioner for Political Affairs I would like to express our appreciation to the Government of the Republic of Angola and the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights for organizing this very important gathering, and invite you to contribute your ideas and suggestions on how we can move forward together and make this Session a success.

    I thank you.

     

     

     

     

     

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights