338: Resolution on the Establishment of a Resolutions Committee - ACHPR/Res. 338(LVIII) 2016

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 58th Ordinary Session held in Banjul, Islamic Republic of The Gambia, from 6 to 20 April 2016;

     Recalling its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights under Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Charter);

    Considering Rule 23 (1) of its Rules of Procedure which provides that: “The Commission may create subsidiary mechanisms such as special rapporteurs, committees and working groups”;

    Recalling the importance of resolutions adopted by the Commission to take into account the human rights situations on the continent with a view to formulating guidance and recommendations on the promotion and protection of human rights in the African Charter;

    The Commission:

    1. Decides to establish a Resolutions Committee mandated to:

    -          Collect data and information on situations of human rights violations on the continent that may be addressed in resolutions and make proposals to       the Commission;

    -          Consider resolutions proposed by subsidiary mechanisms of the Commission prior to their adoption in plenary;

           -         Ensure that the final versions of resolutions faithfully reflect the observations and comments of Members of the Commission;

    -          Ensure proper publication and popularisation of adopted resolutions through the appropriate means; 

    -          Compile and analyse all resolutions of the Commission.

    1. Appoints Commissioner Maya Sahli Fadel as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of two years as from 20 April 2016;

    1. Also appoints Commissioners Soyata Maiga, Reine Alapini Gansou, Solomon Ayele Dersso  and Jamesina Essie L. King as Members of the Committee;

    1. Requests the Secretariat to provide the Committee with the necessary support.


    Done in Banjul, Islamic Republic of The Gambia, on 20 April 2016


    Commissioners: Soyata Maiga (Mrs), Solomon Ayele Dersso, Maya Sahli Fadel (Ms), Madame Reine Alapini-Gansou, Jamesina Essie L. King (Mrs)

    Adopted Resolutions


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2019 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights