5ème Session extraordinaire :

    Communique Final de la 5ème Session Extraordinaire de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l’Homme et des Peuples

    1. La Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (la Commission africaine), a tenu sa 5 ème Session extraordinaire à Banjul, République de Gambie, du 21 au 29 juillet 2008.

    2. L’Honorable Commissaire Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Présidente de la Commission africaine, a présidé les travaux de la 5 ème Session extraordinaire.

    3. Les membres ci-après y ont participé :
    • Commissaire Angela Melo – Vice-présidente ;
    • Commissaire Reine Alapini-Gansou ;
    • Commissaire Catherine Dupe Atoki ;
    • Commissaire Musa Ngary Bitaye ;
    • Commissaire Soyata Maïga ;
    • Commissaire Mumba Malila ;
    • Commissaire Bahame Tom Mukriya Nyanduga ;
    • Commissaire Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie ;

    Deux membres de la Commission se sont fait excuser de leur absence en raison d’engagements antérieurs

    • Commissaire Pansy Tlakula;
    • Commissaire Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen.
    4. Dans son allocution d’ouverture, la Présidente, Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, a remercié le gouvernement de la République de Gambie pour avoir bien voulu abriter et soutenir la Commission africaine au cours des vingt dernières années. La Présidente a également exprimé sa gratitude au Gouvernement gambien pour s’être engagé, lors de la 13ème Session ordinaire du Conseil exécutif qui s’est tenue à Charm el Cheikh, République arabe d’Egypte, les 27 et 28 juin 2008, à ce que le Secrétariat de la Commission emménage dans de nouveaux locaux, à la suite de l’expiration du contrat de bail en cours et également dans l’attente de la construction d’un siège permanent, conforme aux critères de 2005 relatifs à l’accueil des sièges des organes de l’Union africaine.

    5. La Présidente a ensuite félicité Son Excellence le Président Alhagi Dr. Yahya A. J. J Jammeh, Président de la République de Gambie, et le peuple gambien, à l’occasion de la célébration du 14 ème Anniversaire de la Révolution du 22 juillet.

    6. Au nom des membres de la Commission et en son nom propre, l’Honorable Commissaire, Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng a exprimé sa gratitude, au Ministre de la Justice, Mme Marie Saine Firdaus, pour avoir envoyé un représentant du Gouvernement pour ouvrir officiellement la 5 ème Session extraordinaire de la Commission africaine en son nom, en dépit de son calendrier chargé, en raison du fait que la Session extraordinaire commençait la veille des célébrations du 22 juillet.

    7. La Présidente a expliqué que l’objet de la présente session extraordinaire était la finalisation du Règlement intérieur de la Commission africaine, en vue de son harmonisation avec le Règlement intérieur de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (la Cour africaine). Elle a indiqué que la Commission aura aussi à examiner les communications et à se pencher sur d’autres questions urgentes.

    8. Prenant la parole au nom de Ministre de la Justice et Procureur général de la Gambie, le Secrétaire permanent adjoint du Ministère de la Justice, M. Sainey Suso, a, dans son allocution, souhaité la bienvenue aux membres de la Commission. Il s’est réjoui que la Commission tienne sa 5ème Session extraordinaire en Gambie dans la continuation de l’important travail commencé lors de 4 ème Session extraordinaire tenue au mois de février 2008 à Banjul, Gambie.

    9. Il a en outre noté l’importance pour la Commission africaine de finaliser la révision de son Règlement intérieur, ce qui lui permettrit de travailler efficacement avec la Cour africaine.

    10. Il a relevé l’importance du mandat de la Commission car, selon lui, c’est seulement lorsque les droits de l’homme seront garantis, promus et protégés que la paix et le développement vont se réaliser sur le continent A cet égard, il a réitéré l’importance pour les Etats membres de soumettre leurs rapports d’Etat indiquant les mesures législatives et autres qu’ils ont prises pour donner effet aux droits inscrits dans la Charte. Il a conclu en réitérant l’engagement du Gouvernement gambien à soutenir la Commission africaine et son travail. M. Sainey Suso a ensuite déclaré la Session officiellement ouverte.

    11. Après la cérémonie d’ouverture, la Commission africaine s’est réunie en séance privée et a adopté l’ordre du jour de la 5 ème Session extraordinaire. Les membres de la Commission ont procédé à des débats fructueux sur le Règlement intérieur et sur les autres points soumis à son examen.

    12. Lors de la Session, la Commission a finalisé l’examen de son Règlement intérieur révisé et a décidé de tenir une rencontre avec la Cour africaine avant la 44 ème Session ordinaire..

    13. Au cours de la Session, 12 communications ont été présentées à la Commission pour examen. La Commission en a examiné 6 : elle a adopté 1 décision sur la révision, 1 décision sur le fond, 1 décision sur un point de procédure et 2 décisions sur la recevabilité. Une communication a été reportée en attendant de plus amples informations. La Commission a reporté l’examen de 6 autres communications à sa 44 ème Session ordinaire prévue à Abuja en novembre 2008.

    14. La Commission africaine exprime une fois encore ses sincères remerciements et sa profonde gratitude au Gouvernement et au peuple de la République de Gambie pour les facilités mises à sa disposition ainsi que pour l’hospitalité réservée à la Commission qui ont tous considérablement contribué au succès des travaux de la 5 ème Session extraordinaire.

    Fait à Banjul, Gambie, le 29 juillet 2008

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

5th Extraordinary Session: Final Communique

Final Communique of the 5th Extra-Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

1. The African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Commission), held its 5th Extra-Ordinary Session in Banjul, the Republic of The Gambia, from 21st to 29th July 2008.

2. Honorable Commissioner Justice Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Chairperson of the African Commission, chaired the deliberations of the 5th Extra-ordinary Session.

3. The following Members attended and participated in the 5th Extra-ordinary Session:

  • Commissioner Angela Melo – Vice Chairperson;
  • Commissioner Reine Alapini-Gansou;
  • Commissioner Catherine Dupe Atoki;
  • Commissioner Musa Ngary Bitaye;
  • Commissioner Soyata Maiga;
  • Commissioner Mumba Malila;
  • Commissioner Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga;
  • Commissioner Kayitesi Zainabo Sylvie;
Two members of the Commission apologized for their absence. These are:
  • Commissioner Pansy Tlakula; and
  • Commissioner Yeung Kam John Yeung Sik Yuen.

4. In her opening speech, t he Chairperson, Honourable Justice Sanji Mmasenono Monageng thanked the government of the Republic of The Gambia, for hosting the African Commission and supporting it for the past twenty years. The Chairperson also expressed her gratitude to the Government of The Gambia for the undertaking given to the Executive Council of the African Union during its 13th Ordinary Session, held in Sharm El-Sheikh, the Arab Republic of Egypt, from 27th to 28th June 2008, that the Secretariat of the Commission will be moving to new premises following the expiry of the present lease agreement, pending the construction of permanent premises that are in line with the 2005 criteria for hosting African Union Organs.

5. Thereafter, the Chairperson congratulated H. E. Alhagi Dr. Yahya A. J. J Jammeh, the President of the Republic of The Gambia, and the People of The Gambia, on the occasion of the 14th Anniversary of the July 22nd Revolution.

6. On behalf of the Members of the African Commission, and on her own behalf, Justice Monageng also expressed gratitude to the Attorney General and Secretary of State for Justice, Mrs. Marie Saine Firdaus, for sending a representative to officially open the 5th Extra-ordinary Session on her behalf, despite their busy schedule, arising from the fact that the Extra-Ordinary Session was starting on the eve of the July 22 Celebrations.

7. The Chairperson explained that the purpose of the 5th Extra-ordinary Session was to finalize the Rules of Procedure of the African Commission, with a view to harmonizing them with those of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights (the African Court). She indicated that the Commission would also address the backlog of Communications before it, as well as other urgent issues.

8. Speaking on behalf of the Secretary of State for Justice and Attorney General, the Deputy Permanent Secretary for Justice, Mr Sainey Suso, welcomed the Members of the Commission. He said that he was pleased by the Commission’s decision to hold its 5th Extra-Ordinary Session in the Gambia as a continuation of the important work started at the 4th Extra-ordinary Session, in February 2008, in Banjul.

9. He further underscored the importance of the African Commission finalizing consideration of its Rules of Procedures, which would enable it to effectively work with the African Court.

10. He stressed the importance of the Mandate of the Commission because, in his view, it is only when human rights are guaranteed, promoted and protected that peace and development can be realized on the continent. In that regard, he reiterated the importance of Member States to submit their State Reports, indicating the legislative and other measures taken to give effect to the rights enshrined in the Charter. He concluded by reiterating the commitment of the Government of The Gambia to support the African Commission and its work. Mr. Sainey Suso then declared the 5th Extra-Ordinary Session officially open.

11. After the Opening Ceremony, the African Commission went into private session, and adopted the agenda for the 5th Extra Ordinary Session. The Members of the Commission then undertook intensive deliberations on its Rules of Procedure and other items before it.

12. During the Session, the Commission finalized considerations of its revised Rules of Procedure, and the Commission decided to meet the African Court sometime before the 44th Ordinary Session.

13. During the Session, 12 Communications were tabled before the Commission for consideration. The Commission considered 6 Communications and adopted 1 decision on review, 1 decision on merits, 1 decision on a point of procedure and 2 decisions on admissibility. One Communication was deferred for further information. The Commission deferred the other six Communications for consideration during its 44th Ordinary Session to be held in Abuja in November 2008

14. The African Commission once again expresses its sincere appreciation and profound gratitude to the Government and People of the Republic of The Gambia for the facilities placed at its disposal, and for the hospitality accorded to the Commission, all of which contributed immensely to the success of the deliberations of the 5th Extra-Ordinary Session.

Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 29th July 2008

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights