Allocution de Cloture de Marie Saine Firdaus, le Procureur General et Secretaire d'Etat a la Justice

Allocution de Cloture du Procureur General et Secretaire
d'Etat a la Justice de la 5eme Session Extraordinaire de la
Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples,
Tenue a Banjul, Gambie du 21 au 29 Juillet 2008

Madame la Présidente de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des Peuples, Madame le Juge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Commissaires de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples,
Madame la Secrétaire exécutive de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples,
Mesdames et messieeurs les membres du Corps diplomatique et du Corps consulaire,
Mesdames et Messieurs les délégués,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Représentants de la presse ici présents,
Mesdames et Messieurs

J’ai l’honneur et le privilège de prononcer l’allocution de clôture de la 5ème Session  extraordinaire de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples. Je  souhaiterais commencer par m’excuser de n’avoir pu assister à la cérémonie d’ouverture en  personne en raison d’engagement offiiciels antérieurs.

Au nom du Gouvernement de la République de Gambie, nous sommes profondément honorés  d’abriter une fois encore la Session extraordinaire ici, en Gambie, pays hôte de la Commission  africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.

Rappelons-nous que l’objectif de la 5ème Session extraordinaire était de finaliser le Règlement intérieur de la Commission africaine, avant son harmonisation avec celui de la Cour africaine  des droits de l’homme et des peuples. La session devait également se pencher sur les  communications soumises à son examen et sur d’autres questions urgentes d’une importance primordiale pour le travail de la Commission.

Je suis heureuse d’entendre que la Commission a finalisé la revue du son Règlement intérieur dans la mesure om ce résultat représente un très grand pas en avant dans la mise en place du cadre juridique nécessaire à des relations de travail efficaces entre la Commission et la Cour africaine.

En outre, le fait que la Commission soit parvenue à examiner certaines des communications soumises à son examen contribuera, je le souhaite, à renforcer le règne de la justice dans le domaine des droits de l’homme.

Madame la Présidente,
Mesdames et Messieurs les Commissaires,

La promotion et la protection de droits de l’homme en Afrique sont la responsabilité de tous.  C’est parce que ce n’est que lorsque les droits de l’homme seront garantis, promus, protégés  et appliqués que la paix et la développement seront réalisés sur le continent. Je loue donc vos efforts et votre engagement dans l’accomplissement de votre mandat en votre qualité de membres de la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.

Une fois encore, au nom du Gouvernement de la République de Gambie, je souhaite que vous avez apprécié votre séjour en Gambie.

Enfin, je finirai en rappelant l’engagement continu de la République de la République de Gambie à soutenir la Commission africaine et son travail. Je vous souhaite à tous un bon retour dans vos pays.

Merci à tous et bon voyage !
 

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Closing Speech by Marie Saine Firdaus, the Attorney General and Secretary of State for Justice

Closing Speech of the Attorney General and Secretary of
State for Justice at the 5th Extraordinary Session of the
African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights.
Held in Banjul, The Gambia
From 21-29th July 2008


Hon. Chairperson of the African Commission on Human and Peoples Rights- Honorable Justice Sanji Mmasenono Monageng,
Hon. Commissioners of the African Commission on Human and Peoples Rights,
Executive Secretary of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights,
Members of the Diplomatic and Consular Corps,
Distinguished delegates,
Members of the Press here present,
Ladies and gentlemen,
All other protocols respectfully observed:

It is my honour and privilege to deliver the closing statement at the 5th Extra- Ordinary Session of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. Let me begin by apologizing for  not being able to attend the Opening Ceremony in person due to some prior State commitments.

On behalf of the Government of the Republic of The Gambia, we are deeply honoured to once again host the Extra-Ordinary Session here in the Gambia, the host country of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

It will be recalled that the purpose of this 5th Extra-ordinary Session was to finalize the Rules of Procedure of the African Commission, prior to harmonizing them with those of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights. The session was also to consider the backlog of Communications before the Commission, as well as other urgent issues that are of paramount importance to the work of the Commission.

I am happy to hear that the Commission has finalized consideration of its Rules of Procedure, as this represents a tremendous step forward in putting in place the legal infrastructure required for effective working relations between the Commission and the African Court.

Furthermore, the fact that the Commission has managed to consider some of the Communications before it will help, hopefully, to enhance justice delivery in the area of human rights.

Chairperson,
Honorable Commissioners:

The promotion and protection of human rights in Africa is the responsibility of all. This is because it is only when human rights are guaranteed, promoted, protected and fulfilled that peace and development will be realized in the continent. I, therefore, commend your efforts and commitment to fulfilling your mandate as members of the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights. Once again, on behalf of the Government of the Republic of The Gambia, I hope that you enjoyed your stay in The Gambia.

Finally, let me end by reiterating the continuing commitment of the Republic of The Gambia to support the African Commission and its work. I wish you all a safe journey back home.

I thank you all, bon Voyage.
 

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights