390: Resolution on the Appointment of the Chairperson, Renewal of the Mandate and Reconstitution of the Committee on Resolutions - ACHPR/Res. 390(LXI) 2017

    The African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights (the Commission), meeting at its 61st Ordinary Session held from 1 to 15 November 2017 in Banjul, The Gambia:

    Recognising its mandate to promote and protect human and peoples’ rights under the provisions of Article 45 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter);

    Considering Rule 23(1) of its Rules of Procedure which stipulates that the “Commission may create subsidiary mechanisms such as special rapporteurs, committees, and working groups”;

    Recalling the importance of the resolutions adopted by the Commission in taking into consideration human rights situations on the continent towards formulating guidance and recommendations on the promotion and protection of the rights guaranteed by the African Charter;

    Further recalling its Resolution ACHPR/Res.338 (LVIII) 16 on the establishment of the Committee on Resolutions adopted at its 58th Ordinary Session held from 6 to 20 April 2016 in Banjul, The Gambia;

    Noting with appreciation the work undertaken by the Committee under the leadership of Commissioner Maya Sahli-Fadel;

    Noting the reduced number of Members of the Committee with the departure of Members of the Commission whose mandate came to an end on 1 November 2017;

    Recognising the importance of the Committee and the need to allow the Committee to continue to carry out its mandate;

    Decides to:

    i.              Appoint Commissioner Jamesina E.L. King as Chairperson of the Committee for a period of 2 years with effect from 15 November 2017;

    ii.            Renew the mandate of Commissioner Solomon Ayele Dersso as a Member of the Committee for the same period; and

    iii.           Appoint the following Commissioners as members of the Committee for the same period:

    -       Commissioner Hatem Essaiem; and

    -       Commissioner Rémy Ngoy Lumbu

    Done in Banjul, The Gambia, 15 November 2017


    Commissioners: Solomon Ayele Dersso, Rémy Ngoy Lumbu, Jamesina Essie L. King (Mrs), Hatem Essaiem

    Adopted Resolutions


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2019 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights