Concernant les Sessions

    Les sessions ordinaires

    La Commission tient deux sessions ordinaires chaque année. La durée de la session varie dans chaque cas de 10 à 15 jours en fonction des besoins et des finances. La date d'une session ordinaire est fixé par la Commission sur une proposition du Président de la Commission en consultation avec le Président de la Commission de l'UA. Le Secrétaire de la Commission africaine doit communiquer aux membres la date et le lieu de la session ordinaire au moins 60 jours avant la session.

    Les sessions extraordinaires


    La Commission peut tenir des sessions extraordinaires. Des sessions extraordinaires sont convoquées par le Président de la Commission sur une demande formulée par le Président de la Commission de l'Union africaine ou de la majorité des membres de la Commission. L'avis d'une session extraordinaire doit être envoyé aux membres dès que possible avant la session.

    Ordre du jour

    L'ordre du jour d'une session ordinaire est habituellement d'abord établi par le Secrétaire de la Commission en consultation avec le Bureau de la Commission. Outre les points proposés à la session précédente, le Président, les membres de la Commission, les États parties, les organes de l'UA, les INDH, les ONG et toute institution spécialisée des Nations Unies peuvent proposer des points supplémentaires à inclure dans l'ordre du jour. Toutefois, le Bureau de la Commission a le dernier mot sur les points qui finalement sont mis sur l'ordre du jour provisoire. Dans le cas des sessions extraordinaires, l'ordre du jour provisoire comprend uniquement les éléments contenus dans la notification de la session extraordinaire délivré par le Président. L'ordre du jour provisoire doit être distribué aux membres de la Commission au plus tard 60 jours avant la session, et aux autres parties prenantes, 45 jours. Certains éléments de l'ordre du jour provisoire et les documents relatifs à ces points peuvent toutefois être distribués 30 jours avant la session.

    Rapports d'activités

    La Commission soumet à chaque session ordinaire de l'Assemblée de l'UA un rapport de ses activités au cours des sessions et des inter-sessions. Le Conseil exécutif examine le rapport au nom de l'Assemblée. Le rapport est présenté par le Président de la Commission ou son / sa représentant. La Commission peut publier des informations sur ses activités de protection (communications et les missions de protection) seulement après que le rapport a été adopté par le Conseil exécutif et l'Assemblée. Le Conseil exécutif a réacheminer son autorisation pour la publication de deux rapports d'activités dernières de la Commission. Le fondement de cette décision n'est pas claire. Avant l'adoption du rapport d'activité par l'Assemblée de l'UA, la Commission émet généralement un communiqué immédiatement après la session.
     

    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

About Sessions

    Ordinary sessions

    The Commission holds two ordinary sessions each year. The duration of the session varies in each case from 10 to 15 days depending on needs and finance. The date for an ordinary session is fixed by the Commission upon a proposal by the Chairperson of the Commission in consultation with the Chairperson of the AU Commission. The Secretary of the African Commission must communicate to the members the date and venue of the ordinary session at least 60 days ahead of the session.

    Extraordinary sessions

    The Commission may hold extraordinary sessions. Extraordinary sessions are convened by the Chairperson of the Commission upon a request by the Chairperson of the African Union Commission or majority of the members of the Commission. Notice of an extraordinary session must be sent to members as soon as possible before the session.

    Agenda

    The agenda of an ordinary session is usually first drawn by the Commission’s Secretary in consultation with the Bureau of the Commission. Apart from the items proposed at the previous session, the Chairperson, members of the Commission, state parties, AU organs, NHRIs, NGOs and any specialized institution of the UN may suggest additional items for inclusion in the agenda. However, the Bureau of the Commission has the final say on which items finally make it to the provisional agenda. In the case of extraordinary sessions, the provisional agenda includes only the items contained in the notification of the extraordinary session issued by the Chairperson. The provisional agenda must be circulated to members of the Commission not later than 60 days before the session, and in the case of other stakeholders, 45 days. Certain items of the provisional agenda and documents relating to those items may however be distributed 30 days prior to the session.

    Activity reports

    The Commission submits to every Ordinary Session of the AU Assembly a report of its activities during sessions and inter-sessions. The Executive Council considers the report on behalf of the Assembly. The Report is presented by the Chairperson of the Commission or his/ her representative. The Commission may publish information about its protective activities (communications and protective missions) only after the report has been adopted by the Executive Council and Assembly. The Executive Council has witheld its authorisation for the publication of the Commission’s two last Activity Reports. The basis for this decision is not clear. Prior to the adoption of the Activity Report by the AU Assembly, the Commission usually issues a communiqué immediately after the session.

     

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights