Botswana Botswana: Mission de promotion, 2001

Dates:2 - 7 Avril 2001
Session:29ème Session ordinaire
23 Avril - 7 Mai 2001. Libye
Commissaire: Barney Pityana

La mission a été entreprise par le Commissaire B. Pityana du 2 au 7 avril 2001. L'objectives de la visite de promotion étaient:

  • d'encourager des relations plus étroites entre le Botswana et la Commission,
  • d'initier le dialogue concernant des questions qui préoccupent la Commission, en particulier la présentation des rapports périodiques aux termes de l'article 62 de la Charte Africaine ainsi que les progrès réalisés dans le cadre de la ratification du Protocole à la Charte Africaine sur la création de la Cour Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples.

Résultat de la mission

  1. Le gouvernement de la République du Botswana a entrepris la préparation de son rapport initial en vue de sa soumission à la Commission Africaine. Les autorités gouvernementales ont apprécié l'offre de la Commission de l'aider à l'élaboration de ce rapport.
  2. Le gouvernement de la République du Botswana accéléra la procédure visant la ratification dans les meilleurs délais, du Protocole de I'OUA portant création de la Cour Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples.
  3. Le gouvernement de la République du Botswana s'efforcera d'améliorer sa présence et sa participation aux sessions et autres activités de la Commission et appelle la Commission à faciliter la participation du Botswana aux séminaires qu'elle sponsorise, notamment en matière de formation judiciaire.
  4. La mission apprécie l'engagement du gouvernement de la République du Botswana à envisager la possibilité d'étendre les attributions du médiateur pour qu'il puisse contrôler l'évolution de la situation des droits de l'homme dans le pays au lieu de créer une institution nationale des droits de l'homme.
  5. Le gouvernement de la République du Botswana est prêt à utiliser les bons offices de la Commission à participer aux programmes de formation, notamment ceux destinés aux fonctionnaires de la police et du service de l'immigration.
  6. La Commission se félicite de l'initiative de l'Université du Botswana d'intégrer l’éducation aux droits de l'homme dans le programme de formation des juristes.
  7. La mission encourage les ONG des droits de I'homme du Botswana à demander le statut d'observateurs au sein de la Commission et propose que la Commission initie un programme de formation pour les ONG du Botswana sur les procédures de la CADHP relatives à la soumission des communications et à leur examen par la Commission.

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Botswana Botswana: Promotion Mission, 2001

Report is available in:
  French
Dates:2 - 7 April 2001
Session:29th Ordinary Session
23 April - 7 May 2001. Libya
Commissioner: Barney Pityana

The mission was undertaken by Commissioner B. Pityana from 2 to 7 April 2001. The objective of the visit of the mission were:

  • to encourage closer relations between Botswana and the Commission,
  • to initiate a dialogue on issues of concern to the Commission, particularly the submission of periodic reports under section 62 of the Charter and the progress made in the context of the ratification of the Protocol to the African Charter on the creation of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights.

Outcome of the mission

  1. The Government of the Republic of Botswana has undertaken the preparation of its initial report for submission to the African Commission. Government authorities appreciated the offer by the Commission to assist in the preparation of this report.
  2. The Government of the Republic of Botswana will accelerate the procedure for ratification of the OAU Protocol establishing the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights.
  3. The Government of the Republic of Botswana will work to improve its presence and participation in meetings and other activities of the Commission and urges the Commission to facilitate the participation of Botswana in seminars that it sponsors, including judicial training.
  4. The mission appreciates the commitment of the Government of the Republic of Botswana to consider the possibility to extend the powers of the Ombudsman so that it can monitor the evolution of the situation of human rights in the country instead of creating a national institution for human rights.
  5. The Government of the Republic of Botswana is ready to use the good offices of the Commission to participate in training programs, including those for police officers and the immigration service.
  6. The Commission welcomes the initiative of the University of Botswana to integrate education for human rights in the training programme for lawyers.
  7. The mission encourages the human rights NGOs of Botswana to seek observer status with the Commission and proposes that the Commission initiates a training programme for NGOs in Botswana on the procedures of the ACHPR for submitting communications and their consideration by the Commission.

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights