Botswana Botswana: Mission de promotion, 2005

Rapport est disponible en:
  Anglais
Dates:14 - 18 Février 2005
Session:38ème Session ordinaire
21 Novembre - 5 Décembre 2005. Gambie
Commissaire: Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga

Les missions de promotion ont donné à la Commission une opportunité de tenir des dialogues avec les États africains et les autres intervenants impliqués dans la promotion et la protection des droits de l'homme en Afrique. C'est dans cette optique que le Commissaire Bahame Tom Nyanduga, membre de la Commission africaine et le Commissaire chargé de la promotion des droits de l'homme au Botswana a visité ce pays du 14 au 18 février 2005. Commissaire Nyanduga a été accompagnée par Robert Eno, membre du Secrétariat de la Commission africaine.

Recommandations

Sur la police
Le gouvernement devrait introduire des droits de l'homme comme un module dans la formation de la police

Les populations indigènes - la communauté Basarwa
Le gouvernement devrait engager les communautés autochtones Basarwa dans la poursuite du dialogue et explorer les façons de communiquer avec eux. L'assistance fournie à ces personnes devrait être accompagnées de mécanismes de formation et de soutien et de soulèvement de leur bien-être social, sans préjudice de leur culture et leurs traditions.

Sur la peine de mort
Le gouvernement devrait adopter un moratoire sur la question de la peine de mort et entreprendre des études approfondies sur les implications de la peine de mort sur les droits de l'homme. Soumettre la question de la peine de mort à l'opinion publique, surtout si le public n'a pas été sensibilisés sur les implications aux droits de l'homme, ne produira pas un résultat équitable.

Sur les châtiments corporels

Le gouvernement devrait explorer une alternative aux châtiments corporels qui sont une punition inhumaine et dégradante. Dans le cas du Botswana, il peut aussi être dit comme discriminatoire car elle est administrée seulement aux hommes, et seulement à des hommes d'une tranche d'âge donnée. Alternatives telles que le service communautaire pourraient être adoptés.

Sur le Médiateur
Le gouvernement devrait étudier la possibilité d'établir une Commission nationale des droits de l'homme en conformité avec les Principes de Paris ou d'élever le médiateur à ce statut. Pour apaiser les critiques concernant l'indépendance du médiateur, son budget doit être voté par le Parlement et le médiateur devrait être nommé par le Parlement et confirmé par l'exécutif.

Rapports d'Etat
La Commission africaine salue les efforts déployés par le gouvernement de soumettre ses rapports Etat en retard. Le gouvernement devrait redoubler ses efforts afin de respecter ses obligations de rapportage selon l'article 62 de la Charte africaine.

Ratification des protocoles
Le Gouvernement de la République du Botswana devrait prendre les mesures nécessaires pour ratifier le Protocole sur l'établissement de la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples et le Protocole sur les droits des femmes en Afrique. Compte tenu du fait que l'Union africaine a décidé de fusionner la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des Peuples et la Cour africaine de justice, le Gouvernement de la République du Botswana devrait également prendre les mesures nécessaires pour ratifier le protocole sur la Cour africaine de la Justice.

ONG
La Commission africaine aimerait voir plus d'ONG au Botswana demander le statut d'observateur et participer à des sessions de la Commission africaine.

La Présidence
Le Botswana est l'un des états démocratique les plus stables en Afrique qui repose sur une longue tradition de pluralisme politique et sur une économie dynamique et prudemment géré. Le Botswana a depuis 1969 régulièrement organisées des élections générales populaires pour ses membres du parlement, au cours de laquelle le Président de la République est élu. Gardant à l'esprit que le Chef de l'Etat du Botswana est un président exécutif, avec pouvoirs étendus, la Commission africaine recommande au gouvernement du Botswana d'étudier la possibilité des réformes constitutionnelles afin de permettre l'élection du président au suffrage universel des adultes, conformément à l'article 13 de la Charte africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples.


 


    



Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Botswana Botswana: Promotion Mission, 2005

Dates:14 - 18 February 2005
Session:38th Ordinary Session
21 November - 5 December 2005. Banjul, Gambia
Commissioner: Bahame Tom Mukirya Nyanduga

The promotional missions have given the Commission, an opportunity to initiate dialogue with African States and other stakeholders involved with the promotion and protection of human rights in Africa. It is in this light that Commissioner Bahame Tom Nyanduga, Member of the African Commission and Commissioner responsible for human rights promotion in Botswana visited the Republic of Botswana from 14 – 18 February 2005. Commissioner Nyanduga was accompanied to the mission by Robert Eno from the African Commission’s Secretariat.

Recommendations

On the Police
The Government should introduce human rights as a module in the training of the police.

Indigenous populations – the Basarwa community
The Government should engage the indigenous Basarwa communities in further dialogue and explore ways of communicating with them. Assistance given to them should be accompanied with training and support mechanisms, uplift their social wellbeing without prejudicing their culture and traditions.

On the Death penalty
The Government should adopt a moratorium on the question of the death penalty and undertake extensive studies on the human rights implications of the death penalty. Subjecting the question of the death penalty to public opinion, especially if the public has not been sensitized on the human rights implications, will not produce a fair result.

On Corporal punishment
The Government should explore an alternative to corporal punishment because it has been found to be a degrading and inhuman punishment. In the case of Botswana, it can also be said to be discriminatory as it is administered only to men, and only to men of a certain age bracket. Alternatives such as community service could be adopted.

On the Ombudsman
The Government should explore the possibility of establishing a National Human Rights Commission in conformity with the Paris Principles or elevate the Ombudsman to that status. To allay criticisms regarding the independence of the Ombudsman, its budget should be voted by Parliament and the Ombudsman should be appointed by Parliament and confirmed by the Executive.

State Reporting
The African Commission welcomes the efforts by the Government to submit its overdue state reports. The Government should redouble its efforts towards meeting its State Reporting obligations as contained in Article 62 of the African Charter.

Ratification of Protocols
The Government of the Republic of Botswana should take the necessary steps to ratify the Protocol on the establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights and the Protocol on the Rights of Women in Africa. In view of the fact that the African Union has decided to merge the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights and the African Court of Justice, the Government of the Republic of Botswana should also take the necessary steps to ratify the protocol on the African Court of Justice.

NGOs
The African Commission would like to see more Botswana NGOs apply for observer status and take part in the sessions of the African Commission.

The Presidency
Botswana is one of the most stable democratic states in Africa based on a long tradition of multiparty politics and a vibrant and prudentially managed economy. Botswana has since 1969 regularly held popular general elections for its members of parliament, during which time the President of the Republic is elected. Bearing in mind that the Head of State of Botswana is an executive President, with wide ranging powers, the African Commission recommends that Botswana Government explore the possibility of constitutional reforms to allow for the election of the President by adult universal suffrage, in accordance with Article 13 of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights.




Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights