Burkina Faso Burkina Faso: 2ème Rapport Périodique, 2004-2006

Periodic Report

Période couverte:2003 - 2009
Date de soumission: 14 Octobre 2010
Session examinée:49ème Session ordinaire
28 Avril - 12 Mai 2011. Gambie

Concluding Observations

Adopté à 49ème Session ordinaire, 28 Avril - 12 Mai 2011, Gambie.


    Le rapport couvre la période allant de 2003 à 2009. La première partie contient des informations générales sur le cadre juridique et institutionnel. La deuxième partie contient un aperçu des mesures prises pour appliquer la Charte, couvrant les droits civils et politiques; les droits économiques, sociaux et culturels; des droits spécifiques; les droits des peuples et les devoirs stipulées dans la Charte. Avec Annexes: Constitution et les décrets pertinents.

    Conclusion:

    "199. La volonté de l’Etat de prendre en compte la dimension « droits humains » dans ses actions politiques se traduit par des évolutions normatives et institutionnelles assez remarquables. A cet effet, un cadre normatif et institutionnel protecteur des droits humains a été mis en place.

    200. Les droits humains ont connu un progrès important au Burkina Faso entre 2003 et 2009. Le cadre juridique de promotion et de protection des droits humains est constitué par les conventions internationales ratifiées par le Burkina Faso ainsi que les droits reconnus et garantis par la Constitution du 11 juin 1991. L’Etat burkinabè œuvre à assurer une meilleure protection des droits humains. Cela a été davantage stimulé par l’éveil des consciences sur les valeurs fondamentales des droits humains et des revendications citoyennes en faveur du respect de ces droits.

    201. En dépit des efforts entrepris par l’Etat pour la protection et la promotion des droits humains, la faiblesse des ressources constitue des obstacles objectifs à la réalisation effective de ces droits. Des défis restent à relever notamment en matière d’éducation et de santé. Conscient de ces défis, le Burkina Faso s’est engagé avec l’appui de ses partenaires, à développer des initiatives concrètes pour résoudre les problèmes identifiés. Celles-ci participeront sans nul doute au renforcement de l’effectivité des droits humains. Il est à noter que la situation globale des droits humains s’est améliorée positivement de 2003-2009 spécifiquement certains droits civils et politiques.

    203. Convaincu qu’une réelle effectivité des droits humains dans un pays constitue un gage de paix, de développement durable, le Burkina Faso travaille et continuera à travailler davantage dans ce sens pour l’ancrage des droits humains. Cela passe nécessairement par la lutte contre la pauvreté qui constitue une contrainte majeure surtout pour la réalisation de nombreux droits."


    Links


    Traduire la page

    Contactez-nous

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Burkina Faso Burkina Faso: 2nd Periodic Report, 2004-2006

Periodic Report

Period Covered:2003 - 2009
Date Submitted: 14 October 2010
Session Considered:49th Ordinary Session
28 April - 12 May 2011. Banjul, Gambia

Concluding Observations

Adopted at 49th Ordinary Session, 28 April - 12 May 2011, Banjul, Gambia.


    The report covers the period from 2003 to 2009. The first part contains general information on the legal and institutional framework. The second part contains an overview of measures taken to implement the Charter, covering civil and political rights; economic, social and cultural rights; specific rights; peoples' rights; and the responsibilities stipulated in the Charter. With Appendices: Constitution and relevant decrees.

    From the Conclusion:

    "199. The will of the State to take into account the « human rights » dimension in its political activities is translated by rather remarkable normative and institutional developments. Towards this end a normative and institutional human rights protector framework has been put in place.

    200. Burkina Faso has made considerable progress in Human Rights between 2003 and 2009. The legal framework for the promotion and protection of human rights is constituted by the International Conventions ratified by Burkina Faso as well as the rights recognized and guaranteed by the Constitution of 11 June 1991. The Burkinabè State endeavours to ensure a better protection of human rights. This has been stimulated even more by the awakening of consciousness to the fundamental values of human rights and citizens’ demands for the respect of these rights.

    201. Despite the efforts being deployed by the State for the protection and promotion of human rights, the paucity of resources constitutes an objective barrier to the effective realization of these rights. Several challenges remain to be addressed, notably in the areas of Education and Health. Conscious of these challenges, Burkina Faso has undertaken, with the support of its partners, to develop concrete initiatives to solve the identified problems. These will undoubtedly contribute to strengthening the effectiveness of human rights. It should be noted that the global situation of human rights has improved positively from 2003-2009 with specific regard to some civil and political rights.

    202. Convinced that the genuine effectiveness of human rights in a country constitutes security for peace and for lasting development, Burkina Faso is working and will continue to work more in this regard to firmly establish human rights. This can be achieved necessarily through the combat against poverty which constitutes a major obstacle especially with regard to the realization of numerous rights."

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights