Namibie Namibie: Mission de promotion, 2001

Rapport est disponible en:
  Anglais
Dates:2 - 6 Juillet 2001
Session:30ème Session ordinaire
13 - 27 Octobre 2001. Gambie
Commissaire: Andrew Ranganayi Chigovera

La mission a été menée par le commissaire Andrew Chigovera Ranganayi, qui est le commissaire responsable des activités de promotion dans la République de Namibie. Mme Fiona Adolu assisté Commissaire Chigovera sur cette mission. M. Daniel Utoni Nujoma, le président de la commission inter-ministérielle sur les droits de l'homme en Namibie et M. Simataa Limbo, un officier juridique avec le Comité inter-ministériel a reçu la délégation, assisté et les a accompagnés à la plupart des rendez-vous.

Les objectifs de la mission étaient:
  1. Afin de promouvoir la Charte africaine, échanger de vues et d'informations sur sa importance et sa mise en œuvre
  2. Sensibiliser le public et la visibilité de la Commission africaine et de ses fonctions en particulier parmi les ministères et institutions compétentes et la société civile;
  3. Discuter de trois questions importantes: la communication contre la Namibie apporté par José Domingos Sikunda, le processus de ratification du Protocole à la Charte africaine portant sur la création de la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples et la Charte africaine des droits et du bien-être de l'enfant;
  4. Demander des éclaircissements et le suivi des rapports et des informations devant la Commission africaine sur le pays;
  5. Afin, encourager une relation plus étroite entre la Commission africaine et la République de Namibie.
Résultats / Recommandations
  1. Le Gouvernement de la République de Namibie a entrepris d'accélérer les procédures pour la ratification du Protocole sur l'établissement de la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples et de finaliser le processus de ratification de la Charte africaine des droits et du bien-être de l'enfant qui était déjà en cours.
  2. Le Gouvernement de la République de Namibie a entrepris de résoudre les problèmes qui ont été soulevées dans les observations finales et de faire rapport sur les mesures prises dans son prochain rapport périodique.
  3. Le Gouvernement de la République de Namibie a entrepris de prendre des mesures pour la création d'une institution nationale des droits de l'homme.
  4. La mission recommande à la Commission africaine d'évaluer les ONG bénéficiant du statut d'observateur périodiquement pour vérifier si ces organismes continuent à remplir les critères prescrits dans la "Résolution sur la Revision des Critéres d'Octroi et de Jouissance du Statut d'Observateur aux Organisations Non-Gouvernementales s'Occupant des Droits de l'Homme auprès de la Commission Africaine des Droits de l'Homme et des Peuples".
  5. La mission recommande que la Commission élabore un programme pour la formation des ONG des droits de l'homme en Namibie sur les procédures de la CADHP pour la soumission des communications et le traitement des communications par la Commission.
  6. La mission recommande que la Commission africaine développe et établit des relations de travail avec les institutions sous-régionales en Afrique comme la Southern African Development Community (SADC) et les bureaux de l'Ombudsman.
  7. La Mission invite également la Commission africaine à établir et maintenir des liens avec le pouvoir judiciaire en Afrique et les impliquer dans les activités de la Commission africaine, par exemple à travers l'échange de rapports et de décisions.

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Namibia Namibia: Promotion Mission, 2001

Dates:2 - 6 July 2001
Session:30th Ordinary Session
13 - 27 October 2001. Banjul, Gambia
Commissioner: Andrew Ranganayi Chigovera

The Mission was conducted by Commissioner Andrew Ranganayi Chigovera, who is the Commissioner responsible for promotional activities in the Republic of Namibia. Ms. Fiona Adolu assisted Commissioner Chigovera on this mission. Mr. Daniel Utoni Nujoma, the Chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Human Rights in Namibia and Mr. Simataa Limbo, a legal officer with the Inter- Ministerial Committee received the delegation, assisted and accompanied them to most of the appointments.

The objectives of the mission were :
  1. To promote the African Charter, exchange views and information on import and implementation of the Africa Charter;
  2. To raise awareness of and visibility of the African Commission and its functions especially among the relevant government departments and institutions and in civil society;
  3. To discuss three important issues: the Communication against Namibia brought by Jose Domingos Sikunda, the process for the ratification of the Protocol to the African Charter on the Establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights and the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child;
  4. Seek clarification and follow up on reports and information before the African Commission about the country;
  5. To encourage a closer relationship between the African Commission and the Republic of Namibia.
Outcomes/Recommendations
  1. The Government of the Republic of Namibia undertook to accelerate procedures towards the ratification of the Protocol on the Establishment of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights and finalise the process of ratifying the African Charter on the Rights and Welfare of the Child which was already underway.
  2. The Government of the Republic of Namibia has undertaken to address issues that were raised in the Concluding Observations and report on action taken in its next periodic report.
  3. The Government of the Republic of Namibia has undertaken to take steps towards the establishment of a National Human Rights Institution.
  4. The Mission recommends that the African Commission evaluate NGOs enjoying observer status periodically to verify whether those organisations continue to fulfil the criteria prescribed in the 'Resolution on the Criteria for Granting and Enjoying Observer Status to Non-Governmental Organisations working in the field of Human and Peoples' Rights with the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights".
  5. The Mission recommends that the Commission develops a programme for training human rights NGOs in Namibia on the ACHPR procedures for the submission of communications and the handling of communications by the Commission.
  6. The Mission recommends that the African Commission develops and establishes working relationships with Sub Regional institutions in Africa like the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and offices of the Ombudsman.
  7. The Mission also urges the African Commission to establish and maintain links with the Judiciary in Africa and involve them in the activities of the African Commission, for instance through the exchange of reports and decisions.

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights