Nigéria Nigéria: Mission sur les droits des femmes, 2001

Dates:20 Février - 2 Mars 2001
Session:29ème Session ordinaire
23 Avril - 7 Mai 2001. Libye
Mécanisme spéciaux:Rapporteure Spécial sur les Droits des Femmes
Commissaire: Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga

La Rapporteure Speciale a effectue du 20 fevrier au 2 mars 2001 une mission d'information et de promotion des droits de la femme en Republique Federale de Nigéria, principalement a I'Etat de Lagos, d'Enugu, de Kano et d'Abuja la capitale federale.

Cette mission a ete effectuee par la Rapporteure Speciale des Droits de la Femme en Afrique et se situe dans le cadre des activites de promotion de la Commission Africaine. L'objectif principal est de recueillir ('information de premiere main, la plus fiable sur la situation de la femme au Nigeria afin de connaitre le statut juridique de la femme au Nigeria. Dans ce cadre la Rapporteure Speciale a eu des entretiens avec les autorites gouvernementales, la Commission Nationale des Droits de l'Homme et un nombre important  d'organisations non-gouvernementales.

La delegation etait composee de :
  • Madame Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga, Rapporteure Speciale des Droits de la Femme en Afrique et Membre de la Commission Africaine ;
  • Madame Annie Rashidi- Mulumba, Juriste au Secretariat de la Commission ;
  • Madame Charlotte M. Ndayisaba, Assistante de la Rapporteure Speciale.
Recommandations

Au Gouvernement Fédéral
  • Prendre des mesures nécessaires et appropriées pour protéger les femmes contre toutes les formes de violence à leur égard, les croyances et pratiques traditionnelles telles que l'enterrement vivante de la femme épouse avec son époux, les MGF, la spoliation de la veuve... ;
  • Informer, éduquer les femmes sur leurs droits fondamentaux en général, et ceux de la santé de la reproduction en particulier, afin de réduire le taux élevé de mortalité maternelle et infantile ;
  • Le Nigeria étant une République Fédérale laïque, il y a lieu d'interdire la prédominance de toute religion dans la vie du citoyen ou de la citoyenne Nigériane. A défaut, veiller à ce que l'application de la « SHARIA » ne constitue pas un frein à la promotion et à la protection des droits de la femme ;
  • Le Nigeria devrait veiller à ce que les lois des Etats fédérés ne soient pas contraires à la Constitution Fédérale ni aux normes sous-régionales, régionales et internationales que le pays a librement acceptées ;
  • Prendre des mesures appropriées pour donner effet dans le pays tout entier aux engagements pris par le Nigeria a la Conférence d'évaluation à mi-parcours sur la mise en œuvre de la plate-forme mondiale de Beijing.

A la CADHP

  • Programmer et effectuer au moins une mission par an au Nigeria pour mieux cerner les nombreux problèmes que connait ce pays, surtout la dualité juridique entre l‘Etat Fédéral et les Etats fédérés ;
  • Inviter les ONG a apporter les informations sur les situations des droits de la femme dans leurs Etats respectifs, spécialement entre le Nord et le Sud ;
  • Exhorter le Nigeria a présenter son rapport périodique régulièrement en réservant un chapitre du document sur la « SHARIA », sa conception, sa mise en œuvre et ses conséquences.


Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Nigeria Nigeria: Mission on Rights of Women, 2001

Dates:20 February - 2 March 2001
Session:29th Ordinary Session
23 April - 7 May 2001. Libya
Special Mechanism:Special Rapporteur on Rights of Women
Commissioner: Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga

The Special Rapporteur on Women's Rights conducted from 20 February to 2 March 2001 a promotional and information mission on women's rights in The Federal Republic of Nigeria, particularly in the States of Lagos, Enugu, Kano and Abuja, the Federal capital.

This mission was undertaken within the context of promotional activities of the African Commission. The main objective was to gather reliable, first-hand information about the situation of Nigerian women in order to define their legal status. Within this framework, the Special Rapporteur held discussions with government authorities, the National Commission of Human Rights as well as several non-governmental organizations. The delegation was composed of the following:
  • Mrs. Julienne Ondziel-Gnelenga, Special Rapporteur of Women's Rights in Africa and Member of the African Commission;
  • Mrs. Annie Rashdi-Mulumba, Legal Officer at the Commission Secretariat;
  • Mrs. Charlotte M. Ndayisaba, Personal Assistant to the Special Rapporteur.
Recommendations

To the Federal Government:
  • Take the necessary and appro priate measures to protect women against all forms of violence, as well as traditional beliefs and practices such as burying wives alive with their dead husbands, FGM, despoilment of widows;
  • Inform and educate women o n their fundamental rights in general, particularly in reproductive health, in order to reduce the high rate of maternal and infant mortality;
  • Given Nigeria's status as a  secular Federal Republic, there is need to stop the predominance of any religion in the lives of all Nigerian citizens whether male or female. The Government is also called upon to ensure that the application of « SHARIA » does not constitute an impediment to the promotion and protection of women's rights;
  • The Federal Government o f Nigeria should ensure that the laws of the States respect the Constitution of the Federation as well as the sub-regional, regional and international norms that the country had willfully accepted;
  • It is also called upon to  take the appropriate measures to ensure that commitments taken by Nigeria at the Conference on the Mid-Term Review of the Implementation of the Beijing Platform be respected throughout the country
To the ACHPR:
  • Organize and undertake at least one mission per year to Nigeria in order to assess the numerous problems encountered by this country, especially the legal duality between the Federal State and the federated states.
  • Call upon the NGOs to provi de information on the situation of women's rights in all the States, those in the North as well as in the South;
  • Urge the Nigerian Government to submit its periodic report on a regular basis and to devote a special chapter on « SHARIA » - its conception, status of implementation and impact on the populations.

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights