Nigéria Nigéria: 1er Rapport Périodique, 1990-1992

Periodic Report

Période couverte:1990 - 1992
Date de soumission: 1 Avril 1993
Session examinée:11ème Session ordinaire
2 - 9 Mars 1992. Tunisie

Le rapport contient une Introduicgtion et les chapitres traitant de:
  • L'historique
  • La période de l'Indépendance à 1979
  • Le pouvoir judiciaire
  • Droits de l'homme et l'administration de la justice
  • Droits de l'homme et l'administration actuelle (qui traite des mesures actives visant à améliorer la situation des droits humains, la réforme de la loi, programmes de formation aux droits de l'homme, l'Unité de surveillance des droits de l'homme relevant du Ministère fédéral de la justice, la mobilisation de masse, la transition vers un régime civil, la promotion et la protection des droits des femmes)
Conclusion:
"Gouvernements successifs du Nigeria ont réaffirmé que les droits de l'homme sont une politique fondamentale de leurs administrations. Le rôle actif du Nigeria dans la Charte africaine est un engagement fort pour cette politique. Les indications sont que les droits de l'homme ont un bel avenir dans le pays.
Enfin, le gouvernement du Nigeria a toujours reste attachée à la reconnaissance et le respect des principes des droits de l'homme et va continuer à poursuivre ses objectifs fondamentaux en matière de politique étrangère qui est de promouvoir l'unité africaine ainsi que la liberation politique, économique, sociale et culturelle de l'Afrique et toutes les autres formes de coopération internationale pour la consolidation de la paix universelle."

Links


Traduire la page

Contactez-nous

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

Nigeria Nigeria: 1st Periodic Report, 1990-1992

Periodic Report

Period Covered:1990 - 1992
Date Submitted: 1 April 1993
Session Considered:11th Ordinary Session
2 - 9 March 1992. Tunis, Tunisia

The report contains an Introduction and Chapters dealing with
  • Historical background
  • Independence period to 1979
  • The judiciary
  • Human rights and the administration of justice
  • Human rights and the present administration (dealing with Active measures towards improving the human rights situation, Law reform, Human rights training programmes, the Human Rights Monitoring Unit under the Federal Ministry of Justice, mass mobilisation, transition to civil rule, promotion and protection of women's rights)
Conclusion:
"Consecutive governments of Nigeria has reaffirmed that human rights are a fundamental policy of their administrations. The active role of Nigeria in the African Charter is a strong commitment to the policy. The indications are that human rights have a bright future in the country.
Finally, the Government of Nigeria has always remain[ed] committed to the recognition and respect of the principles of human rights and shall continue to pursue its fundamental objectives on foreign policy which is to promote African Unity as well as total political, economic, social and cultural liberation of Africa and all other forms of International co-operation for the consolidation of universal peace."

Links


Translate page

Contact Us

  • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
  • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
  • The Gambia
  • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
  • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
  • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

ACHPR Newsletter

Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
© 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights