اجراء تقارير الدول

    تنص   المادة 62    من  الميثاق الأفريقي لحقوق   الإنسان والشعوب    على    ما يلي  " تتعهد كل دولة طرف بأن تقدم كل سنتين اعتبارا من تاريخ سريان مفعول هذا الميثاق تقريرا حول التدابير التشريعية أو التدابير الأخرى التي تم اتخاذها بهدف تحقيق الحقوق والحريات التي يعترف بها هذا الميثاق ويكفلها  "

    وفي  قراءة  موسعة لصلاحيتها، يطلب من اللجنة بموجب المواد 45 و 46 من الميثاق القيام بالمهمة . وبناء على ذلك، قررت لجنة منظمة الاتحاد الافريقي في دورتها العادية الثالثة في ابريل 1988 " أن تناط باختصاص النظر في التقارير وللاشارة الى شكلهم ومحتواهم " تم اعتماد هذه التوصية في الدورة العادية الرابعة والعشرون لمؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات لمنظمة الوحدة الأفريقية .  ومنذ ذلك الحين، قامت  اللجنة  باستلام ودراسة تقارير الدول المقدمة عملا بالمادة  62 من الميثاق  

    وتهدف   ورقة المعلومات هذه   الى   شرح الأهداف والغايات المبتغاة من   تقارير الدول والإجراءات المتبعة   من قبل اللجنة   خلال   النظر في   هذه التقارير .   وتبرز أيضا   بعض مساهمات المنظمات    غير الحكومية  والمجتمع المدني التي   يمكن أن تقوم بها    في تعزيز الاجراء

    و تحاول الوثيقة أيضا تبديد المخاوف التي أعربت عنها بعض الدول في أن  هذه الممارسة  تعرضهم لإحراج 

    يتم توزيعها مجانا في جميع أنحاء أفريقيا .  يمكن اعادة انتاجها  في لغات أخرى غير لغتها الأصلية شريطة أن لا يتم إجراء أية تغييرات على محتوياتها  وذكر اللجنة كمصدر

    المقدمة  
    يعتبر اجراء تقارير الدول من من أنجع الوسائل التي يمكن للجنة من خلاله ضمان تعزيز / ترويج  وحماية حقوق الإنسان والشعوب . تتعهد الدول الأطراف بموجب المادة الاولى من الميثاق  باتخاذ الإجراءات التشريعية وغيرها من أجل تطبيق الحقوق المكفولة في الميثاق .

    يطلب من الدول بموجب المادة 62 من  الميثاق بتقديم تقارير حول كيفية تطبيق المادة الاولى  اي التدابير  التشريعية وغيرها من التي تم اعتمادها لتطبيق الميثاق وتستخدم تقربيا كل  هيئات الرصد لهذا الاجراء لتقييم التقدم المحرز من قبل اعضائها في الوفاء بالتزاماتهم

    اعتمدت اللجنة المبادئ التوجيهية العامة المتعلقة بشكل ومضمون التقارير الدورية،  لتفصيل نوع المعلومات المطلوبة،  من قبل اللجنة في دورتها العادية الرابعة التي عقدت في تشرين الأول لعام   1988

    تجدر الإشارة إلى أن ثلاثون دولة  قدمت تقارير إلى اللجنة  من اصل واحد وخمسين دولة  من  التي صادقت على الميثاق حتى تاريخ أكتوبر 2001 ولم يكن اية منها بشكل منتظم 

    لدى معظم الدول اعتقاد خاطئ بأن نظام تقارير الدول هو منتدى لإحراجهم . ومع ذلك، فقد أدركت تلك الدول التي قدمت التقارير المعروضة على اللجنة أن هذا هو أفضل وسيلة للدول لبناء الثقة و عمل  شراكة قوية مع اللجنة . تحدد المبادئ التوجيهية المعتمدة في عام   1988 هدف تقارير الدول  ب " ...   الرغبة الملحة   ... لإنشاء قناة للحوار البناء "  وقد كُرر هذا من قبل رئيس اللجنة، الدكتور بدوي في الدورة العادية التاسعة للجنة عندما كان يجري النظر في تقرير ليبيا الاولي امام اللجنة، اذ صرح أن النقاش " لم يتم للمواجهة (...) ولكن بوصفه حوار في إطار التعاون . اذ لا يجب أن تُفهم الأسئلة التي وجهت  إلى ممثلي  الدول / ة  على أنها تحدي  للدول / ة ولكن على كونها  نقد أو حوار إيجابي بهدف تكملة الحقائق والتشريعات في الدول / ة "

      الغرض من تقديم  الدول  لتقاريرها

     ان  احدى الأهداف الأساسية لنظام  تقديم التقارير  للجنة هو وضع إطار للحوار البناء بين اللجنة والدول على النحو المذكور أعلاه . و مع ذلك  لا يعتبر هذا الحوار  الهدف النهائي للنظام، ولكن أداة لتحقيق أهداف أخرى

     يمكن استخدام قناة الحوار عند تأسيسها  في تعزيز الاليات لترويج وحماية حقوق الإنسان والشعوب  .  وكما أشارت اللجنة الى  انها والدول يشكلون "  الشريكين لهدف واحد ، الا  وهو تعزيز / ترويج و حماية الحقوق المنصوص عليها في الميثاق ".    و يصبح من السهل جدا على الدولة في ان تعمل مع اللجنة عندما تقوم الاولى بادراك هذا الهدف المشترك

    مزايا وفوائد التقارير المقدمة من الدول

    رصد تنقيذ الميثاق

    يزود هذا التقرير اللجنة بفهم أفضل حول المشاكل التي تواجهها الدول في تطبيق احكام الميثاق على ارض الواقع ويعطيها الفرصة لعمل التدابير اللازمة التي يمكن ان تُتخد لمعالجة المشاكل وتعزيز التطبيق الفعال . وبالتالي يمكن للجنة " توجيه الملاحظات العامة الى الدولة المعنية كما تراها مناسبا " ويمكن ان " تزود بملاحضات ونصائح و مساعدة حول الايفاء بمتطلبات الميثاق " اذا تبين للجنة من خلال النظر في التقرير بان الدولة لم تقوم بواجبتها . 

    يمكّن    نظام التقارير    الدول من   مراجعة    الجهاز الحكومي   كله بشكل مستمر،   اذ انه   يفرض على   المؤسسات الحكومية ذات الصلة   من جميع الدوائر   والوزارات   بتقييم   اللوائح القانونية   والإجراءات والممارسات   بالنسبة    الى الأحكام التي يضمنها الميثاق .    

     التعريف   بالصعوبات

    ودائما ما توصي اللجنة بان يتضمن تقرير الدولة التدابير المتخذة لتنفيذ أحكام   الميثاق و العوامل والصعوبات التي تعيق التنفيذ الفعال للميثاق   

    وتصرح اللجنة الى  "   انه من الضروري ان  تولي   الدولة المعنية   اهتماما خاصا بتسليط الضوء على    النواحي    الإيجابية  في تشريعاتها ... و ذكر    الصعوبات والعقبات " فستساعد مثل هذه الصراحة اللجنة   على فهم   الظروف الخاصة   بالدولة من ناحية   و   الدولة على  فهم اللجنة والإطار الذي   يتم فيه تطبيق   أحكام الميثاق 

    وبالتالي، ستعزز   الدولة   واللجنة    من  جهودهما في   التعاون   معا   لتشخيص المشاكل   وإيجاد   حلول ملائمة

      تبادل المعلومات بين الدول

    يسمح نظام تقارير الدول للجنة بجمع المعلومات عن التجارب المشتركة من الدول الأعضاء، سواء كانت جيدة او سيئة، حتى يتسنى للدول أن تتعلم من بعضها البعض

     الإجراءات  التي تم تبنيها  عند النظر في تقارير الدول

    تتطلب التوصية حول  طلب مؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات بتفويض اللجنة لدراسة تقارير الدول " الأمانة العامة لمؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات باستلام التقارير وارسالها الى اللجنة من دون تأخير " . ولكن تقوم معظم الدول بارسال التقارير مباشرة الى امانة اللجنة . و  تبعث تلك التقارير المرسلة الى الامانة العامة لمؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات الى امانة اللجنة . تتطلب التوصية حول  طلب مؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات بتفويض اللجنة لدراسة تقارير الدول " الأمانة العامة لمؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات باستلام التقارير وارسالها الى اللجنة من دون تأخير " . ولكن تقوم معظم الدول بارسال التقارير مباشرة الى امانة اللجنة . و  تبعث تلك التقارير المرسلة الى الامانة العامة لمؤتمر رؤساء الدول والحكومات الى امانة اللجنة .

    الاجراء في الأمانة العامة

    تدرس الأمانة التقرير لدى استلامه وتقوم بابلاغ المفوضين . وترسل نسخ من التقرير الى جميع  المفوضين . ويتم ابلاغ أو ارسال التقارير الى مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان البارزة مثل منظمة العفو الدولية ولجنة الحقوقيين الدولية والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية الموجودة في الدولة التي قدمت التقرير .  يتم توزيع تقرير الدولة وفقا لأحكام المادة 78 من قواعد اللجنة الاجرائية التي تنص على أنه : " يجب ان توزع التقارير الدورية (...) المقدمة من الدول الأطراف في الميثاق (...) كوثائق عامة (...)" ويطلب من مؤسسات حقوق الإنسان نفع اللجنة بتزويدها بمعلومات و / أو أسئلة عن وضع حقوق الإنسان في الدولة المعنية . وتقوم  الأمانة العامة، من خلال  كل المعلومات المتاحة لديها، بإعداد الأسئلة التي ستسأل إلى ممثل الدولة 

    لا تقتصر الاسئلة  بالضرورة على المعلومات الواردة في التقرير .  ويتم أحالة الأسئلة إلى الدولة المعنية وإلى المفوضين بقبل ستة أسابيع من موعد انعقاد دورة التقرير الذي سوف يتم فحصه على الأقل  .  يتم إرسال رسالة، تشمل على قائمة من الأسئلة التي أعدت من قبل  الأمانة إلى الدولة و تطلب منها ايفاد مسؤول أو اكثر رفيع المستوى  لعرض التقرير  في الدورة .  من المهم جدا أن تقوم الدول بارسال  ممثلين قادرين على الإجابة على الأسئلة التي طرحت عليهم على الفور .  وتتصل   الأمانة العامة بالمفوض المسؤول عن الأنشطة الترويجية في الدولة المعنية بشكل خاص، بحكم كونه المقرر الذي يقود عملية مناقشة التقرير في ظل الظروف العادية ، وتقوم بتزويده بأي معلومات اضافية  بشأن التقرير  

     الاجراء في الدورة

     يتم النظر في التقارير الدورية للدول  في جلسات علنية للجنة، اي امام  كل المشاركين، بما في ذلك المنظمات غير الحكومية ومؤسسات حقوق الإنسان الوطنية، وممثلي الدولة والمدعوين الآخرين . ومع ذلك، لا يمكن إلا للمفوضين القيام  بطرح الأسئلة على ممثلي الدولة

     ليس هناك مهلة زمنية محددة  لتقديم عرض ممثلي الدولة . و يقوم المقرر بطرح الأسئلة على ممثلي الدولة  بعد هذا العرض . وتستكمل أسئلة إضافية من المفوضين الآخرين . لا تقتصر خط التساؤلات على الأسئلة التي أعدتها الأمانة العامة

    في الماضي، توجهت اللجنة إلى عقد اجتماع مغلق لمناقشة التوصيات المحتملة  بعد حلقة الاسئلة والأجوبة . ووصف الدكتور بدوي هذه الممارسة بانها   " ميزة لخلق حوار، وفي الوقت نفسه تقوم باعطاء اللجنة بعض من الخصوصية للقايام ببعض التعليقات  فيما بين المفوضين ." ولكن الممارسة تغيرت، أذ  يلخص المقرر و يختم الرئيس المناقشة بعد حلقة الاسئلة والأجوبة 

      الدراسة من دون ممثلي الدولة

    عندما يتم تقديم تقرير ما  إلى الأمانة العامة، يتم إرسال رسالة إلى الدولة تبلغها فيها  بالدورة التي سيُدرس فيه التقرير وتدعو هذه الأخيرة إلى إرسال ممثل رفيع المستوى للدورة لعرض التقرير . لا تُلزم القواعد الاجرائية الدولة على  إيفاد ممثلين عنها قبل النظر في تقاريرها . تنص المادة 83 على أنه   "(...) يمكن لممثلي الدول الأطراف في هذا الميثاق المشاركة في جميع دورات اللجنة التي ستنظر فيها التقارير الخاصة بهم ". اعتمدت اللجنة في الماضي ممارسة تثمثل في عدم  النظر في تقرير إذا ما لم يكن أي أحد من الدولة متواجد  لعرضه .   ومع ذلك، قررت اللجنة  في دورتها العادية الثالثة والعشرون، أنه إذا لم تستجب الدولة  بعد ارسال  إخطارين إليها لطلب إرسال ممثل عنها  لعرض تقريرها ، فإنها سوف تمضي قدما في النظر في التقرير وإحالة تعليقاتها إلى الدولة المعنية 

    المتابعة 

    عادة ما تقرر اللجنة ارسال رسالة متابعة للدولة المعنية بعد النظر في تقرير الدول حيث تلخص فيه الدراسة و  تقوم بكتابة الأسئلة التي لم تعطى أجوبة مرضية عنها، إن وجدت .   نصت المادة 85 (3) على انه  "  يمكن للجنة توجيه الملاحظات العامة الى الدولة المعنية كما تراها مناسبا اذا تبين للجنة بعد النظر في التقرير بان الدولة لم تقوم بواجبتها بموجب الميثاق " وبعد ذلك يطلب من الدولة تقديم معلومات إضافية إلى الأمانة العامة للجنة و التي قد تحتاج إليها . يجوز للجنة تحديد مهلة زمنية لتقديم التعليقات من قبل الدول، عند الاقتضاء   

    تنص المادة 86 (2) على أنه " يجوز للجنة أن تحيل إلى المؤتمر، الملاحظات (...) مصحوبة بنسخ من التقارير التي تلقتها من الدول (...) فضلا عن التعليقات التي قدمتها هذا الأخيرة إذا كان ذلك ممكنا ". ليس هناك دقة فيما يتعلق بكيفية تقديم الدولة المعنية لمعلومات إضافية . فعلى سبيل المثال، في بعض الحالات، ُطلب منهم  بشمل المعلومات في التقرير المقبل، بينما في حالات أخرى، طلب منهم تقديم معلومات إضافية دون تأخير في رسالة منفصلة 

    عدم تقديم التقارير

    تنص المادة  84  على أن  "  يقوم الامين العام ، بإبلاغ اللجنة بجميع حالات عدم تقديم التقارير أو المعلومات الإضافية  في كل دورة،  ---  وفي مثل هذه الحالة، يجوز للجنة  ان ترسل عن طريق الأمين العام، إلى الدولة الطرف  (...) تقريرا أو تذكير يتعلق  بتقديم التقرير أو المعلومات الإضافية ".  و اذا  لم تقوم الدولة بتقديم التقرير أو المعلومات المطلوبة بعد ارسال  التذكير، تقوم اللجنة بالاشارة الى هذا في تقريرها السنوي لمؤتمر رؤساء دول وحكومات منظمة الوحدة الافريقية .   وترسل رسائل تذكيرية إلى الدول الأطراف كل ثلاثة أشهر  ( في الماضي كان مرة كل ستة أشهر ).   و  عادة ما ترفق اللجنة قائمة لتقرير الانشطة السنوي الذي يوضح حالة تقديم التقارير الدورية من الدول .  وتحتوي هذه القائمة على أسماء الدول التي قدمت تقاريرها، وعدد التقارير المقدمة، والتقارير الواجب تقديمها، وأسماء تلك الدول التي لم تقدم أي تقرير

    لا يزال نظام تقارير الدول للجنة الأفريقية في مراحله الأولى .   تفحص اللجنة الأفريقية تقارير قليلة جدا خلال كل دورة من دوراتها على عكس لجنة حقوق الإنسان التابعة للأمم المتحدة، . لتطوير هذا النظام بشكل اكبر، فإن اللجنة بحاجة إلى تعاون المنظمات غير الحكومية والدول والمجتمع المدني


     

    لمحة عن اجراء التقارير

    تقديم تقرير إلى الأمانة العامة للجنة الأفريقية
    تحميل الامانة العامة للتقرير على الموقع الإلكتروني للجنة و الاشارة الى التاريخ الذي سيتم النظر في التقرير
    توزيع نسخ من التقرير إلى المفوضين والمنظمات غير الحكومية ذات الصلة
     على أصحاب المصلحة المهتمين الذين يرغبون في المساهمة في النظر في التقرير تقديم مساهماتهم بما في ذلك تقديم  تقارير الظل الى الامين العام للجنة قبل 60 يوما على الأقل من التاريخ المحدد لبحث التقرير
    يجوز للأمين العام دعوة مؤسسات محددة لتقديم معلومات ذات صلة بالتقرير
    إعداد الأسئلة من قبل الأمانة العامة استنادا إلى التقرير
    ارسال الأسئلة لجميع المفوضين
    ارسال الاسئلة للدولة صاحبة  التقرير مصحوبة برسالة يطلب منها حضور ممثلي الدولة 
    النظر في تقرير الدولة في جلسة علنية، كما كان مقررا
    عرض التقرير من قبل ممثل الدولة
    طرح المفوضين للاسئلة
    (الايجابة عن الأسئلة  من قبل وفد الدولة (تستكمل بردود مكتوبة في بعض الأحيان
    الخلاصة والخاتمة من قبل رئيس اللجنة
    اعتماد ونشر الملاحظات الختامية
     ​

    Links


    ترجمة الصفحة

    اتصل بنا

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

State Reporting Procedure

    The African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights prescribes in Article 62 that: “(...)each State Party shall undertake to submit every two years, from the date the Charter comes into force (for that State), a report on the legislative or other measures taken with a view to giving effect to the rights and freedoms recognised and guaranteed by the present Charter.” The Charter does not however indicate the organ to which these reports should be submitted.

    The Commission then, in a broad reading of its powers, fully justified under Articles 45 and 46 of the Charter requested to be entrusted with the task. Consequently, in its 3rd Ordinary Session in April 1988, the Commission of the OAU decided to “specifically assign it with the mandate to consider the reports to indicate the general orientation as regards their form and substance”. This recommendation was adopted at the 24th Ordinary Session of the OAU Assembly of Heads of State and Government. Since then, therefore, the Commission has been receiving and examining States’ reports submitted pursuant to Article 62 of the Charter.

    This Information Sheet is aimed at explaining the aims and objectives of State reporting and the procedures used by the Commission during examination of these reports. It also highlights some of the contributions Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) and the civil society can play in enhancing the process.

    The document also tries to allay the fears expressed by some States that the exercise exposes them to embarrassment.

    It is distributed free of charge throughout Africa. It can be reproduced in other languages other than its original language provided no changes are made to its contents and the Commission is mentioned as the source.

    I. Introduction

    One of the most effective means by which the Commission can ensure the promotion and protection of human and peoples’ rights is through the State reporting procedure. Under article 1 of the Charter, State Parties thereto undertake to adopt legislative and other measures to give effect to the rights in the Charter.

    Under article 62, they are required to submit reports to indicate how they have implemented article 1, that is, the legislative and other measures they have adopted to give effect to the Charter. Almost all human rights monitoring bodies use this process to evaluate the progress made by its members in the fulfilment of their obligations.

    At its Fourth Ordinary Session held in October 1988, the Commission adopted the General Guidelines relating to the form and content of the periodic reports, detailing the type of information required by the Commission.

    It should be noted that of the 51 States which have ratified the Charter only 30 have submitted reports to the Commission as at October 2001, and none has been regular.

    Most States have the misconception that the state reporting system is a forum to embarrass them. However, those that have presented reports before the Commission have realised that it is the best way for States to building confidence in, and a strong partnership with, the Commission. The guidelines adopted in 1988 outline the aim of National State Reporting as “(…) the urgent desire (…) to create a channel for constructive dialogue”. This was reiterated by the Chairman of the Commission, Dr. I Badawi (at the 9th Ordinary Session of the commission when the report of Libya – the initial report submitted to the commission was being examined) that the discussion was “not going to take place as a confrontation (…) but as a dialogue in the framework of cooperation. The questions to be addressed to the representatives of the State (s) must not be understood as a challenge to the State (s) but as a positive criticism or a positive dialogue which aims at completion of the facts and the legislation in the State (s)".

    II. Purpose of State Reporting

    As mentioned, one of the primary objectives of the Commission's State Reporting system is to establish a framework for constructive dialogue between the Commission and the States. This dialogue however is not the final goal of the system, but a tool for achieving other goals.

    When the channel for dialogue has been established, it can be used in the enhancement of the mechanisms for promoting and protecting human and peoples’ rights. As pointed out by the Commission, the States and itself are “both partners of one objective, which is the promotion and protection of the rights provided in the Charter”. When a State realises this common goal, it becomes very easy for it to work with the Commission.

    III. Advantages and Benefits of State Reporting

    1. Monitoring implementation of the Charter

    The reports give the Commission a better understanding of the types of problems encountered by States in seeking to transform into reality the provisions of the Charter. This gives it an opportunity to work out measures which can be taken to address the problems and promote effective realisation. Thus, if in following the consideration of a report, the Commission feels that a State has not fully discharged its obligation, it “may address all general observations to the State concerned as it may deem necessary”. It can “furnish suggestions, advice and assistance on satisfying the requirement of the Charter.”

    The reporting system enables the States to constantly check the whole government machinery as it forces the relevant government institutions from all the departments and ministries to evaluate legal regulations, procedures and practices vis-à-vis the provisions guaranteed in the Charter.

    2. Identify difficulties

    The commission has always recommended that a State report should not only indicate the measures taken to implement the provisions of the Charter, but also the factors and difficulties impeding the effective implementation of the Charter.

    The Commission states that “it is important that the State concerned pays specific attention to highlight not only the positive aspects it has within its legislation (…) but it must also state difficulties and obstacles.” Such frankness will assist the Commission to understand the special circumstances of the State and will on the other hand assist the State to understand the Commission and the framework in which the provisions of the Charter are applied.

    Consequently, the State and the Commission will together promote cooperation to diagnose problems and to find adequate remedies.

    3. Share information among States

    The State reporting system also permits the Commission to collect information on common experiences, both good and bad, from member States, so that States can learn from one another.

    IV. Procedures adopted when examining State Reports

    The recommendation requesting the OAU Assembly of Heads of State and Government to mandate the Commission to examine State reports requires “ the General Secretariat of the OAU to receive the said reports and communicate them to the Commission without delay”. In practice however, most States send their reports directly to the Secretariat of the Commission. Those sent to the General Secretariat of the OAU are also communicated to the Secretariat of the Commission.

    1. Procedure at the Secretariat

    Upon receipt of a report, the Secretariat studies it and informs all the Commissioners. Copies of the report are sent to all the commissioners. Prominent human rights institutions, such as Amnesty International and the International Commission of Jurists, local NGOs from the State that has submitted the report, are either informed or sent copies of the report. This distribution of the State report is in conformity with Rule 78 of the Commission’s Rules of Procedure which provides that: “Periodical reports (…) submitted by State Parties to the Charter (…) shall be documents for general distribution (…)” These human rights institutions are requested to avail to the Commission, information and/or questions on the human rights institution of the State concerned. The Secretariat, with all the information at its disposal, prepares questions that would be asked to the representative of the State.

    The questions are not necessarily limited to information in the report. The questions are transmitted to the State concerned and to all Commissioners at least six weeks before the date of the session at which the report is going to be examined. A letter, together with a list of the questions prepared at the Secretariat, is sent to the State requesting it to send a highly qualified official (s) to the session to present the report. It is very important that States send representatives who will be able to answer questions posed to them on the spot. The Secretariat also specifically contacts the Commissioner responsible for promotional activities in the country concerned, who, under normal circumstances is going to be the rapporteur to lead discussion on the report, and provides him with any further information on the report.

    2. Procedure at the Session

    The examination of State periodic reports is done in open sessions of the Commission, that is, before all the participants, including NGOs, National Human Rights Institutions, State representatives and other invitees. However, only the Commissioners can pose questions to the State representatives.

    There is no fixed time limit for the state representatives to make the presentation. After the presentation, the rapporteur poses questions to the representatives. These are supplemented by additional questions from other Commissioners. The line of questioning is not limited to the questions prepared by the Secretariat.

    In the past, after the question and answer session, the Commission went into a close meeting to discuss possible recommendations. Dr. Badawi described this practice as having the “advantage of creating a dialogue and at the same time giving the Commission some privacy in making some comments among the Commissioners.” The practice however has changed, and presently, after the question and answer process, the rapporteur sums up and the Chairman concludes the discussion.

    3. Examination without State Representatives

    When a report is submitted to the Secretariat, a letter is sent to the State informing it of the session at which the report will be examined and inviting it to send a high level representative to the session to present the report. The Rules of Procedure does not make it compulsory for State to send representatives before their reports could be considered. Rule 83 provides that “(…) Representatives of the States Parties to the Charter may participate in all the sessions of the Commission at which their reports shall be considered.” In the past, the Commission adopted a practice whereby it will not consider a report if there is nobody from the State to present it. However, at its 23rd Ordinary Session, the Commission decided that if after two notifications to a State to send a representative to present its report there is no response, it will go ahead with examination of the report and forward its comments to the State concerned.

    4. Follow-up

    After the examination of a State report, the Commission usually decides that a follow-up letter be sent to the state concerned, summing up the examination and putting in writing the questions that were not given satisfactory answers, if any. Rule 85 (3) required that “if, following the consideration of the report, and the information submitted by the State (…) the Commission decides that the State has not discharged its obligations under the Charter, it may address all general observations of the State concerned as it deems necessary.” The State is then requested to submit to the Secretariat of the Commission any additional information that it may require. The Commission may, where necessary, fix a time limit for the submission of the comments by the States”.

    Rule 86 (2) states that “The Commission may also transmit to the Assembly, the observations (…) accompanied by copies of the reports it has received from the States (…) as well as the comments supplied by the latter if possible”. There is no precision as to how the State concerned should submit the additional information. For instance, in some cases, they were requested to include the information in the next report, while in other cases, they were asked to submit the additional information without delay in a separate letter.

    V. Non-submission of Reports

    Rule 84 states that “The Secretary shall, at each session, inform the Commission of all cases of non-submission of reports or of additional information --- In such a case, the commission may send through the Secretary, to the State Party (...) a report or reminder relating to the submission of the report or additional information.” If after the reminder, the State Party still does not submit the report or the information requested, the Commission shall indicate this in its annual report to the Assembly of Heads of State and Government of the OAU. Reminders are sent to State Parties every three months (in the past it was once every six months). The Commission usually attaches a list to the annual activity report which illustrates the status of submission of State periodic reports. This list contains the names of those States that have submitted their reports, the number of reports submitted, the reports due, and the names of those States which have not submitted any report.

    The State reporting system of the African Commission is still in its infancy. Unlike the UN Human Rights Committee, the African Commission examines very few reports during each of its sessions. To develop this system further, the Commission would need the cooperation of States, NGOs and civil society.

     

    Reporting Procedure Snapshot

    • Submission of report to the Secretariat of the African Commission
    • Secretariat uploads the report on the Commission's website, indicating when the report will be considered
    • Circulation of copies of report to Commissioners and relevant NGOs
    • Interested stakeholders wishing to contribute to the examination of the report submit their contributions including shadow reports to the Commission's Secretary at least 60 days prior to the date fixed for the examination of the report
    • The Secretary may invite specific institutions to submit information relating to the Report
    • Preparation of questions by the Secretariat based on report
    • Communication of questions to all Commissioners
    • Communication of questions to the reporting state (accompanied by a letter requesting the attendance of state's representatives)
    • Examination of state report in open session, as scheduled
    • Presentation of report by state representative
    • Questioning by Commissioners
    • Answers to questions by State delegation (sometimes supplemented by subsequent written responses)
    • Summation and conclusion by the chairperson of the Commission
    • Adoption and dissemination of concluding observations

    Links


    Translate page

    Contact Us

    • 31 Bijilo Annex Layout, Kombo North District
    • Western Region P.O. Box 673 Banjul
    • The Gambia
    • Tel: (220) 441 05 05, 441 05 06
    • Fax: (220) 441 05 04
    • E-mail: au-banjul@africa-union.org

    ACHPR Newsletter

    Subscribe to receive news about activities, sessions and events.
    © 2014 African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights