+220 441 05 05-6 | au-banjul@africa-union.org

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights

157/96 Association pour la sauvegarde de la paix au Burundi / Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Tanzania, Zaire (DRC), Zambia

States Democratic Republic of the Congo Kenya Rwanda Tanzania Uganda Zambia
Date May 29 , 2003
Session 33rd Ordinary SessionMay 15 to May 29 , 2003

Decided on merits

Violated Articles:
Alleged violated articles : Articles: 4, 17.1, 22, 23.2b
Non violated articles : Articles: 4, 17.1, 22, 23.2b

African Charter on Human and People’s Rights (ACHPR) – embargo imposed on Burundi by Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Zaire (now Democratic Republic of Congo), Ethiopia, and Zambia following the overthrow of the democratically elected government of Burundi and the installation of a government led by Major Pierre Buyoya with the support of the military.

Whether the communication should be considered as a communication from a state and be examined under the provisions of articles 47 through 54 of the ACHPR.

Whether the respondent states are in violation of the following guaranteed rights under ACHPR: Right to Life; Right to Education; Right to Economic, Social and Cultural Development; Right to National and International Security and Peace.

Related Decisions